HardwareZone.com on Facebook

Post your food photo here (local)

Like Tree399Likes

Old 24-06-2011, 07:12 PM   #4021

still yet to find the perfect durian pengat. tried brizo, bleah. the durian buffet lagi worst.

rmb merchant court last time damn nice. heard standards dropped also.

how was straits cafe? you went lunch or dinner?

wah...I feel the heat! PPP my age somemore
Erm, because there is no such thing as perfect durian pengat...hahah

I think once you know how this durian dessert came about, you will understand why...

My guess (as with many other desserts) is that pengat was invented as a means to recycle those unripe durians (or those not very nice durians) where they add gula melaka (palm sugar) to sweeten it and make it more palatable...

At least that was how my nonya grandma did to unripe or inferior durians - it was turned into desserts (puffs) or ice cream...

Recently been to Merchant Court for lunch - nothing to shout about

Straits Cafe - 2 dinners and 1 lunch over the last 2 months - the pengat quality still quite consistent...but can't say for the other durian desserts cos I never eat them

Hmm...one day I must see you and PPP in action...clash of the teen titans
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2011, 10:29 PM   #4022
Sen

Sin Kee Famous Chicken Rice @ Mei Ling FC. $3 portion. 5/6 score for Makansutra 2011. Rice not fragrant enough, chicken doesn't have the oomph factor. A plate of average chicken rice for me.

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/sh...php?p=55005045
Sen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2011, 01:24 AM   #4023

when was your last time at merchant court? 1 or 2 years back i went the durian pengat was solid but i think sometime late last year or early this year i went to eat, standard has indeed dropped.
yeah same. went 1-2 years back also. quite sure merchant court also the original creator of it? don't think places like brizo/straits cafe etc all got the durian pengat before.
Erwinlow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2011, 01:26 AM   #4024

Erm, because there is no such thing as perfect durian pengat...hahah

I think once you know how this durian dessert came about, you will understand why...

My guess (as with many other desserts) is that pengat was invented as a means to recycle those unripe durians (or those not very nice durians) where they add gula melaka (palm sugar) to sweeten it and make it more palatable...

At least that was how my nonya grandma did to unripe or inferior durians - it was turned into desserts (puffs) or ice cream...

Recently been to Merchant Court for lunch - nothing to shout about

Straits Cafe - 2 dinners and 1 lunch over the last 2 months - the pengat quality still quite consistent...but can't say for the other durian desserts cos I never eat them

Hmm...one day I must see you and PPP in action...clash of the teen titans
last visit to merchant court atleast 1-2 years back then lol. last time still darn good.

yeah i see before at the durian store I frequent. always see the worker peeling out durian meat put in 1 BIGGGG bucket. then pack and sell. last time I ask, think is $15/pack. can't rly rmb.

sure lose one last time when I fatter I eat much more. now thin=eat lesser. dono why
Erwinlow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2011, 08:37 AM   #4025

Hidden Peasant Gem Amist Elite....

Siglap ish home to many elites and therefore to find good and affordable peasant food in Siglap ish as good as tio 4D or ToTo. Even our EMM Mr Lee Kuan Yew's ancestry stayed there, I for sure can breath the elite air and think at his level when I reach the place. Ok not sure if I wunna think at his level lah... But my level of thinking ish when I'm craving for some food, I will just go without much thinking loo... Especially when the food is decently priced.

Kopitham located beside Siglap Centre

源味(Original) Ampang Yong Tau Fu...

Dunno how original is it... Rivalry been brewing along this stretch of shophouses.
With another bigger and much expensive Ampang Yong Tau Fu further down.

Total Damage ish $5.50 wooohoooo very affordable.
The minced meat beehoon cost $1 each.
While Moi Ampang Yong Tau Fu of 02xYu Cha Guei, 01xCuttlefish ball, 01xfishball,
01xchilli, 01xbeancurd, 01xMushroom, 01xeggplant, 01x Di Wang Vege.
All items stuffs with fish paste goodiness... Cost $4.50 nia....
I'm sure this kind of quality can sell 5 times in restaurant loo....
Eat till song song Gao jurong...

The noodles ish juicy and succulent..... Lol.... And the meat sauce ish
Perfect. Not too saltish or too watery. The Braised minced meat
However imo is tag hard. I prefer Bak chok mee type of
Fresh mince meat over this type. Rating 7.5
Is perfect if not for the mince meat

The Yong Tau Fu really I gotch nothing to pick at becos of the price.
I like the yu cha Guei so I always order 2. The mushroom ish very nice too...
Rating 8.5

Best part ish notch a lot ppl come here to feed.
So waiting time ish kept minimum
OrLengJuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2011, 10:23 AM   #4026

oh.... that yong tau fu very famous one... very nice de... last time with my colleagues we specially went there for lunch.... all the way from our office at AMK....

regards,
wacky
wackykid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2011, 10:39 AM   #4027

yeah same. went 1-2 years back also. quite sure merchant court also the original creator of it? don't think places like brizo/straits cafe etc all got the durian pengat before.
yah you are right, long time ago i only know of merchant court having durian pengat for their buffet. then all the sudden other places also have.

kim su-han-mu ....
Kahlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2011, 10:36 PM   #4028

Tanjong pagar hawker ctr, taste nicer than whapoa or bukit timah ones~

mosmos is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2011, 10:55 PM   #4029
Sen

Wah, seems good.

Siglap ish home to many elites and therefore to find good and affordable peasant food in Siglap ish as good as tio 4D or ToTo. Even our EMM Mr Lee Kuan Yew's ancestry stayed there, I for sure can breath the elite air and think at his level when I reach the place. Ok not sure if I wunna think at his level lah... But my level of thinking ish when I'm craving for some food, I will just go without much thinking loo... Especially when the food is decently priced.

Kopitham located beside Siglap Centre
The Yong Tau Fu really I gotch nothing to pick at becos of the price.
I like the yu cha Guei so I always order 2. The mushroom ish very nice too...
Rating 8.5

Best part ish notch a lot ppl come here to feed.
So waiting time ish kept minimum
whampoa & bukit timah is failed big time.

Tanjong pagar hawker ctr, taste nicer than whapoa or bukit timah ones~
Sen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2011, 11:36 PM   #4030

last visit to merchant court atleast 1-2 years back then lol. last time still darn good.

yeah i see before at the durian store I frequent. always see the worker peeling out durian meat put in 1 BIGGGG bucket. then pack and sell. last time I ask, think is $15/pack. can't rly rmb.

sure lose one last time when I fatter I eat much more. now thin=eat lesser. dono why
Yup, their standards have dropped a lot...or maybe it's also because other places have caught up

Erm don't you know that some of the biggest eaters are slim guys? hahah

Maybe it's conditioning pah - you subconsciously restrict yourself now
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2011, 11:48 PM   #4031

the kuay chap also very soft...... but very exp with those intestines.

oh.... that yong tau fu very famous one... very nice de... last time with my colleagues we specially went there for lunch.... all the way from our office at AMK....

regards,
wacky
its one of my fav breakfast.... yummmm
lovejade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2011, 11:52 PM   #4032

same same go there will order kway chup with da intestine plus a plate of ytf....damn nice....

[COLOR="Red"][SIZE="4"][FONT="Century Gothic"][FONT="Impact"][SIZE="5"]Quote of the year :[/SIZE][/FONT][/FONT][/SIZE][/COLOR]

[B][I][U][COLOR="Red"][SIZE="4"][FONT="Century Gothic"][FONT="Impact"][SIZE="5"]"Godamnit don't waste my bloody time if you are not interested."[/SIZE][/FONT][/FONT][/SIZE][/COLOR][/U][/I][/B]
evilduxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2011, 11:59 PM   #4033

same same go there will order kway chup with da intestine plus a plate of ytf....damn nice....
walaoooooooooo... u all make me feel like eating kway chup liao... especially with fen chang..!! think quite some time haven had good kway chup le...

regards,
wacky
Old 26-06-2011, 01:07 AM   #4034

Dennyz's Wagyu burger.

Click to join >> HWZ's Makan Session
<<
twtan14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2011, 01:16 AM   #4035

every branch de burger all diff de...

bigmonkey (jurong pt):

mosmos burger (clementi):

mine (bedok point):

toa payoh:
Dennyz's Wagyu burger.

regards,
wacky
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.