Newbie stock market qns

teehee93

Reaction score
hi guys, I am new to stock market investing, still doing much online research and reading. However I have these few qns that I would like to clarify in order to help me understand the stock market. Some of these qns may sound stupid and lame, please understand I am an absolute beginner. thank you

1) When I sell my shares on sgx, who exactly am I selling to? For eg, I have 10 lots of shares with company X and I decide to sell all of them, who am I selling it to? And what if there are no buyers?

2) What does bVol and sVol mean?

3) What affects the total number of shares a company has? For eg, if company X initially issues out 100,000 shares through an IPO, but after a few years the company is growing and expanding rapidly, can company X increases the amount of shares it has? and if so how does it do it? Won't the current share prices be affected?

Shiny Things

Supremacy Member
Reaction score
Some of these qns may sound stupid and lame, please understand I am an absolute beginner. thank you
In the words of Mr Garrison: "there are no stupid questions, just stupid people".

1) When I sell my shares on sgx, who exactly am I selling to? And what if there are no buyers?
You're selling to another trader. They might be a bank; they might be a high-frequency algorithm sitting on a server somewhere; or they might be Joe Bloggs sitting in his underwear in front of his POEMS screen. Either way, that person (or that algorithm) has posted a bid - they've said "I want to buy 100 shares of Pear Computers at $500" - and when you sell, you're saying "OK, I sell you those 100 shares at $500".

If there's no bids - that is, there's no buyers - then you can't sell your shares, and you are, as they say, fuçked.

2) What does bVol and sVol mean?
"Buy Volume" and "Sell Volume" - the number of shares that people want to buy or sell at a given price level.