Wholelife vs BTIR

wts2013

hahaha, u can get some pointers how others are fairing in their DCA investments, be it as part of BTIR or purely investments, here

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/96713852-post2431.html

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/96712286-post2428.html

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/96709286-post2427.html

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/96747171-post2447.html

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/96727065-post2436.html

Our case study here uses mthly DCA, so u can vary it and see whether results will be better, hahaha, but u have to be consistent hor

Pls make u sure understand the principles behind DCA method of investing. U shld not try to time the market, unless u know how. People can talk very smart on hindsight, how would u know a crash is coming, the market had bottom, a long term downtrend is ahead or a big long term bull run is ahead. Because they already know what happened, they tell u shld dump a lump sum instead of periodic DCA at that time, hahaha. I already shared with u how Adam Khoo do it, so unless u learn how to time the market, and u want to practice DCA, pls practice it correctly, dun regret later hor, hahaha

(disclaimer: moi dun buy DCA)

wts2013

Moi know of many experts in the world who claim they have methods or formula to forecast the market.

Most have methods which can forecast the market tops/bottoms of the past with 99% accuracy, but come to forecasting the future, most fail, hahaha

If most experts in the world cannot forecast the future, do u think u can? With DCA, hahaha, read my signature, hahaha

Food for thought, hahaha

MikeDirnt78

U guys still havnt put wts on ignore list? Lol.

let him do all the blabberings. :s13::s13::s13:

i just did a dca exercise into S&P500 without taking into account of Exchange Rates (ER). coincidentally the ER are about the same at the start and end of period.

for WL,
monthly premiums = $131.50
surrender value = $43,390
rate of policy = 3.42% pa

for BTITR (STI ETF),
monthly insurance + investment cost = $10 + $121.50 = $131.50
future value of STI ETF = $38,273 (excluding dividends)
rate of BTITR = 2.22% pa (excluding dividends)

for BTITR (S&P500),
future value of S&P500 = $47,279 (excluding dividends)
rate of BTITR = 4.21% pa (excluding dividends)

All are from apr 1996 to aug 2015

wts2013

hahaha, if u have attended Adam Khoo's talk 10 years ago, u would have known that investing in the S&P500 etf gives u higher returns than STI etf.

Now that u have learnt my method of simulating investments into STI eft and how to evaluate/caculate returns of BTIR, u can play around with it lor, with various alternatives, hahaha

goodluck playing lor, hahaha

MikeDirnt78

hahaha, if u have attended Adam Khoo's talk 10 years ago, u would have known that investing in the S&P500 etf gives u higher returns than STI etf.

Now that u have learnt my method of simulating investments into STI eft and how to evaluate/caculate returns of BTIR, u can play around with it lor, with various alternatives, hahaha

excuse me. dont sound like a ...

your method? :s13: :s13: :s13:

i have gone through these exercises many many years ago in some other forum.

only now, im reviewing this strategy here again.

Lewis.T

To shake things up a bit, how about we bring in a discussion from a year earlier? :s13:

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/money-mind-210/term-till-99-a-4710717-4.html

However buying term till age 100 etc will not benefit you directly. It instead will only benefit your beneficiaries as there is no surrender value to 'cash out' from.

This will be useful for legacy planning.

Also I see the same posters in that thread as here haha.

You gotta be joking. usd have made around 2% loss against sgd over the last 10 years. S&P ten year annualised return including divided is Only 7% in USD while sti is at ard 6% in SGD terms. What makes you think s&P outperform sti in SGD term over the last decade?

Adam khoo is a great story teller, I'll give him that. Whoever listen to his trading strategy using plan shallow TA as a market timing model, goodluck.

I don't have anything against WL policy. I thought you would have something to illustrate about the benefit of having WL. Do you?

wts2013

You gotta be joking. usd have made around 2% loss against sgd over the last 10 years. S&P ten year annualised return including divided is Only 7% in USD while sti is at ard 6% in SGD terms. What makes you think s&P outperform sti in SGD term over the last decade?

Adam khoo is a great story teller, I'll give him that. Whoever listen to his trading strategy using plan shallow TA as a market timing model, goodluck.

I don't have anything against WL policy. I thought you would have something to illustrate about the benefit of having WL. Do you?

hahaha, moi about to koon, u woke me up, someone just posted the performance of S&P500 for past 20 years is better than STI read this http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/96771305-post124.html

when I quote Adam, he is talking in % terms, which u agree with your posting of 7% vs 6%, we never talk about conversion to sgd or usd, u are spot on, hahaha

U must have just arrived to this thread, u read thru the whole thread lor, I have shared in various posts some of the WL benefits, with links to another thread cos the discussion invaded into other people's thread, hahaha

U care to share your views here, hahaha, people dun want to hear my views leh, hahaha

ok moi want to koon liao, see u tomorrow, hahaha

MikeDirnt78

To shake things up a bit, how about we bring in a discussion from a year earlier? :s13:

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/money-mind-210/term-till-99-a-4710717-4.html

However buying term till age 100 etc will not benefit you directly. It instead will only benefit your beneficiaries as there is no surrender value to 'cash out' from.

This will be useful for legacy planning.

Also I see the same posters in that thread as here haha.

such policy is generally viewed as a "waste" because people don't get their cash paid over the years.

but i do agree it is a good consideration if you have bigger income and extra wealth to spare.

MikeZhang

hi there. thanks for raising this. i believe most are savings focus insurance plans here.

I would say no point comparing. Whole life invest more portion (2/3) in fixed income asset while sti invest in equities. Both investment strategies are different. We can't expect an instrument which invest largely in fixed income asset to give as high possible return like equities asset.

For those who wanna btir should look at core-satellite approach. Whereas those wanna have a little more coverage for CI after age 65 or 70 etc, may look into whole life limited pay. For those who wanna create Legacy plan you may look into term plan till 99.

Cheers

Perisher

I would say no point comparing. Whole life invest more portion (2/3) in fixed income asset while sti invest in equities. Both investment strategies are different. We can't expect an instrument which invest largely in fixed income asset to give as high possible return like equities asset.

For those who wanna btir should look at core-satellite approach. Whereas those wanna have a little more coverage for CI after age 65 or 70 etc, may look into whole life limited pay. For those who wanna create Legacy plan you may look into term plan till 99.

Cheers

There is a point in comparing when the reason to buy is the same even if the plan invest in different things.

MikeZhang

There is a point in comparing when the reason to buy is the same even if the plan invest in different things.

Well I would say that is up to individual on how they view it. It's just like sgs bond and sti both invest in different asset class, but some believe in sgs bond but not sti.

That is why my previous post I gave my opinion that whole life plan should not be used as an investment tool rather on coverage for CI even after age 70 or 80 or 90 for certain purpose.

Cheers.

MikeZhang

I do believe in btir concept. But when we apply dca strategy, it is never about the entry point, it is always about the exit point. We can always apply core-satellite strategy.

Of course we can always apply dca and interim lump sum investment. Lump sum investment can come in when the market crash or recession or the market on discount.

Cheers.

wts2013

excuse me. dont sound like a ...

your method? :s13: :s13: :s13:

i have gone through these exercises many many years ago in some other forum.

only now, im reviewing this strategy here again.

quote for record

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/96741245-post85.html

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/96712952-post32.html

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/96715147-post37.html

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/96713677-post35.html

Mod Perisher, can u pls do something for the last post35, hahaha, I found the evidence of nasty remarks, let u know when I find more

and Windboi got blog links in his signature

hahaha lucky I dun know how to do multi quotes, hahaha

wts2013

let him do all the blabberings. :s13::s13::s13:

i just did a dca exercise into S&P500 without taking into account of Exchange Rates (ER). coincidentally the ER are about the same at the start and end of period.

for WL,
monthly premiums = $131.50
surrender value = $43,390
rate of policy = 3.42% pa

for BTITR (STI ETF),
future value of STI ETF = $38,273 (excluding dividends)
rate of BTITR = 2.22% pa (excluding dividends)

for BTITR (S&P500),
future value of S&P500 = $47,279 (excluding dividends)
rate of BTITR = 4.21% pa (excluding dividends)

All are from apr 1996 to aug 2015

Quote for record and

The Accountant, would u care to comment on above with reference to your post here http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/money-mind-210/wholelife-vs-btir-5179681.html#post96772697

hahaha

Perisher

quote for record

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/96741245-post85.html

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/96712952-post32.html

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/96715147-post37.html

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/96713677-post35.html

Mod Perisher, can u pls do something for the last post35, hahaha, I found the evidence of nasty remarks, let u know when I find more

and Windboi got blog links in his signature

hahaha lucky I dun know how to do multi quotes, hahaha

This is not the correct channel to air your grievances because I might miss it.
Either pm me with the links or click the report post button or post in this link below.
http://deluxeforums.hardwarezone.com.sg/online-services-basic-membership-support-feedback-46/

On another note, I have already given a last warning on post #85.
It applies to all.

Don't start digging things up now, I didn't give you or anyone with regards to this any infraction points so don't stir.

Multi-quote button, just click it once to on/off it for all the quotes you want to quote before finally pressing the quote button.

Shion

Senior Mentor
BTIR I guess will be suitable for those with some stock investment knowledge. For the rest, Whole Life will still be a safer option ?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.