Thomson Medical vs KK vs Mt Alvernia vs Gleneagles.. go where give birth best?

NatST107

Hi sorry for my late reply,my experience was ok, not good not bad, during delivery was good, they were very attentive cos my wife had a long labour but after that they were less attentive.. haha, A ward was very private and we could rest well, the ward itself was nice and food was ok. Our baby was not with us during the time cos she was in special care but could see that they took good care of her whn we went down to visit..

How was the experience? I booked the A1 ward for my wife too.. due in next 2 weeks.

aceventura27

We had a gynae that was recommended to us by a friend. He is affiliated with Thomson, so naturally, we went with Thomson.

Everything was quite normal until the 36th week, when my wife says that she has been getting BH at regular intervals for the last few hours. (Sign of labor)

- Got admitted into observation room
- Nurse checked for dilation by stuffing her fingers up the vagina
- Minutes later after checking, the water burst
- Delayed the childbirth by 24 hours, for baby lungs to mature

- Planned natural, but end up caesarean as baby vitals weakened during labor.

- Baby born at 36 weeks, premature, 3 days in NICU

After the whole ordeal, my wife said that the water wouldn't have burst, if the nurse hasn't been so rough during the dilation checking. She was rather incompetent also during the extraction of blood apparently.

We're having our second child now, going to SGH instead of Thomson. Never going to recommend Thomson again. It cost us 13k cash for a 6 bedder room.

Both my kids were born in SGH class A ward. Really superb. Look for Prof Tan, he is really fantastic.

ricflairdripp

subsidised kkh gynae appt

how to find out the doctors name when you went in for consultation. i went under subsidised specialist clinic C - kkh so there was no doctors name on the room. plus i saw two different docs under same clinic. is this the case for subsidised clinics? because i liked my last doc and i dont want to be seeing a diff doc the next follow up... but the doc told me he would see me again...lol y am i panicking :s13:

Archnemo

Mine was born at KKH. Class B2 ward.
I very happy with class B2. Only 4 bed in the room and sometimes there will be nobody so it's essentially like a class A.

If i remembered correctly I only paid less than 1.5k...or even less than 1k for 3 days stay (C-sect, singaporean)

The only bad thing is that my wife needs to take care of the few days old child in the 3 days....initially we thought the nurse will take care and push baby back to nursing room but really all they did was left the baby beside the bed and only come to help when the button is pressed (change diapers, feeding, keep crying).

Glad that I didn't splurge on a class A...

Kkh is lidat. I kanna the previous time and my wife can't get good rest for whole day and night cos first child is very needy and breast milk supply still not producing enough. Until we buay tahan and complained to get them to bring the baby away. Must insist that they bring the baby to care to nursery or they just leave there.

invigo79

My 2 kids were born in Thompson medical. No complaint.

Sent from HUAWEI ELE-L29 using GAGT

ash like snow

Anyone got the total bill for natural delivery at Mount Alvernia for reference?

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 4 using GAGT

sunshinemou

Come in here to update abit and hope it might help one:

Wifey did external cephalic version (ecv) at nuh cos d baby not turning down.

Cost for the evc procedure is $200 (excl. gst)

Manage to turn d baby down and dont have to go thru c-sect.

XGZ1503

Come in here to update abit and hope it might help one:

Wifey did external cephalic version (ecv) at nuh cos d baby not turning down.

Cost for the evc procedure is $200 (excl. gst)

Manage to turn d baby down and dont have to go thru c-sect.

Can describe the procedure? How was it done?

sunshinemou

Can describe the procedure? How was it done?

Looks like they press down to limit baby range of motion then start applying pressure externally to make the baby move.

The procedure quite fast, perhaps 10mins.

deodorant

The only bad thing is that my wife needs to take care of the few days old child in the 3 days....initially we thought the nurse will take care and push baby back to nursing room but really all they did was left the baby beside the bed and only come to help when the button is pressed (change diapers, feeding, keep crying).

Glad that I didn't splurge on a class A...
Nowadays is like that liao. Even private hospitals the nurses encourage baby to be in the room and for you to take care as much as possible from the start, they only come and help if you call them to help.

urban_closet

We will be delivering at Gleneagles soon and will share review where possible!!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.