N7105 Root and custom rom flashing tutorial (R&D stage)

davi502

still awaiting for more custom roms to be available.. still trying to resist the temptation to root.

sucks to only have the LTE variant here

Lol, you can root for other purposes not just for the sake of flashing roms.

gibson7

now multi window i dont know how to mod sia..

anyone know how... i root liao, done some theme and others.

[THEME][18-OCT] 15 Toggle Buttons ☆ NEW Center Clock ☆ Transparent statusbar ☆ & more - xda-developers

above ,flash the multi window but cannot, any idea.

you flashing the whole ROM?

i'm trying to just stay with root and multiwindow mod only.
i'm trying out the instruction here.
paulobrien made a tool for easy compiling/recompiling framework APKs.

try to read lenny's instruction as well.

LennyUK » Lennyuk’s Multi-Screen Extend Mod for N7100

Note 2 Multi Window Tool - Samsung Galaxy Note II - Note2.MoDaCo.com - MoDaCo

you flashing the whole ROM?

i'm trying to just stay with root and multiwindow mod only.
i'm trying out the instruction here.
paulobrien made a tool for easy compiling/recompiling framework APKs.

try to read lenny's instruction as well.

LennyUK » Lennyuk’s Multi-Screen Extend Mod for N7100

Note 2 Multi Window Tool - Samsung Galaxy Note II - Note2.MoDaCo.com - MoDaCo

U can post a tutorial on this!

rooted last night.

later see if got time...try to figure out the multiwindow app tool which xda guys made. then post here.

by the way, those talking about signal...
i can't help much, coz i don't get LTE signals as I'm using suckhub :(

When rooting Custom rom, you dun just forfeit your LTE capabilities, you also forfeit your modem which technically makes your phone into a galaxy tab 5.5! :s13::s13:

still awaiting for more custom roms to be available.. still trying to resist the temptation to root.

sucks to only have the LTE variant here

Right now there are no custom roms for N7105. Pray that those developers will come up with a solution.

anyone just root only? you guys have any issues with your LTE signal?

See above reply to gibson7! :s8:

Edited my first post and deleted everything on custom roms in case someone go and use the instructions to flash and bricks their phone. Will update once some1 comes up with a custom rom for N7105.. I officially throw in white towel to port modem capabilities from a N7100 rom to an N7105. Hahaha. Just impossible without developer knowledge.

fabianlau

gibson7

When rooting Custom rom, you dun just forfeit your LTE capabilities, you also forfeit your modem which technically makes your phone into a galaxy tab 5.5! :s13::s13:

Right now there are no custom roms for N7105. Pray that those developers will come up with a solution.

currently the tool is for LJ1 and LJ3.
not sure if it works on our version or not...
if the tool (which is the easier way to do this) doesn't work.
Have to try the long way.

Chevalier

I rooted only but didnt flash a custom rom. Xant seem to get an lte signal

SWQ1621

When i use this method to root, is CWM recovery install too? Or i need another step?

Vulpix

Just confirmed the root does not affect 4G. I say ROOT only hor. Stole a 4G card from a friend and tested it on my rooted phone. Seems like root zero effect. Think need to figure out the radio part only for ROMs.

gibson7

tried using paulobrien's "lazy" method (multiwindow tool)...
didn't work as he had said it's meant to work on LJ1 and LJ3.

i've posted a request, see if he wants to help to add LIJ into it.

At the same time...I've started learning to use APKTool.
figured out decompiling.

found and edited the values to add to the arrays.xml file (framework-res\res\values\arrays.xml)

but LOL, stuck at recompiling it back.
will continue tomorrow.

theory_87

root and cwm recovery is safe. will not be touching custom rom or kernel till one develop specifically for N7105 is out...

badbad2000

anyone try this? XXALJ3 Jellybean 4.1.1 based Android Revolution Firmware

Here

Is this suitable for SG set?

Features of XXALJ3 Jellybean 4.1.1 based Android Revolution Firmware:
Removed software (CPU) rendering – full Exynos 4 Quad (GPU) rendering
Fully optimized and tweaked
ROOT (su + SuperSu Permissions – Thanks to chainfire)
Unsecured boot.img
Newest BusyBox
RAM optimizations
System signatures check enabled for system security and safety
Improved virtual memory management
Speed optimizations
Enabled GPU UI rendering
Data, cache and system partitions mounting tweaks
Bloatware applications removed
All /system applications updated to latest available
All /data applications updated to latest available
Improved camera performance
Improved CPU governors performance
Most optimal system scheduler
Disabled kernel debugging for better performance
Zipaligned (Improved RAM management)
Zipalign on boot (for user applications on data

anyone try this? XXALJ3 Jellybean 4.1.1 based Android Revolution Firmware

Here

Is this suitable for SG set?

Features of XXALJ3 Jellybean 4.1.1 based Android Revolution Firmware:
Removed software (CPU) rendering – full Exynos 4 Quad (GPU) rendering
Fully optimized and tweaked
ROOT (su + SuperSu Permissions – Thanks to chainfire)
Unsecured boot.img
Newest BusyBox
RAM optimizations
System signatures check enabled for system security and safety
Improved virtual memory management
Speed optimizations
Enabled GPU UI rendering
Data, cache and system partitions mounting tweaks
Bloatware applications removed
All /system applications updated to latest available
All /data applications updated to latest available
Improved camera performance
Improved CPU governors performance
Most optimal system scheduler
Disabled kernel debugging for better performance
Zipaligned (Improved RAM management)
Zipalign on boot (for user applications on data

Any XDA rom unless specifically stated otherwise is for N7100. So if u flash that u will straight away lose your phone signals i. e. Cannot call, message, or use data. Which is stated clearly in my 1st post. Therefore do not flash that custom rom.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.