Food at Johor

mosmos

Nice to eat or not, i dun know yet but from the jb forum i visits, it is listed as one of the best in jb. From the skill lvl he cook, i will not be surprised if it is the best. I am definately going back to try it another time.

Anyway if you are going there, there are quite a few other very good stalls around. Just round the corner from this Flying noodle is a Bak kut teh stall. Name is Shun Li Shu Xia Rou Gu Cha. The soup is very nice (their bak kut teh has mushrooom, pig kidney and intestine ingredients and thus taste very different from what we have in singapore). They also have curry chicken thou i only find the curry very nice but not the chicken since the flavour have not gotten much into the chicken.

how to go Jalan Bakawali? :s11:

genie47

BTW, the Black Canyon Coffee branches are actually good if you like Thai Food.They will beat every Thai food joint in SG.

I compared the Black Canyon Coffee Thai food in JB/MY to the Black Canyon in BKK and Phuket. No difference. Standard is there.

The Black Canyon Coffee branch in SG close shop already. Damn sad. It was at Serene Centre and from the good Thai food to become local zhichar dishes. After that gone already.

genie47

mosmos, can use Google maps to find Jalan Bakawali.

I found it and full address here:

Jalan Bakawali
Taman Johor Jaya, 81100 Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia

mosmos

BTW, the Black Canyon Coffee branches are actually good if you like Thai Food.They will beat every Thai food joint in SG.

I compared the Black Canyon Coffee Thai food in JB/MY to the Black Canyon in BKK and Phuket. No difference. Standard is there.

The Black Canyon Coffee branch in SG close shop already. Damn sad. It was at Serene Centre and from the good Thai food to become local zhichar dishes. After that gone already.

:eek: it's waste i go eat their chicken chop.

What thai dishes are nice there, many inside menu leh. :s22:

mosmos

mosmos, can use Google maps to find Jalan Bakawali.

I found it and full address here:

Jalan Bakawali
Taman Johor Jaya, 81100 Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia

Thanks. I was just asking whether can walk from tebrau city jusco. :crazy:

I usually take teksi there, so need excat location lor, not sure how to tell teksi driver. :s22:

FireEmblem

Thanks. I was just asking whether can walk from tebrau city jusco. :crazy:

I usually take teksi there, so need excat location lor, not sure how to tell teksi driver. :s22:

yes certainly walkable. well at least that is what i did from the jusco bus stop. But it is like a 700-800 meters walk only.

mosmos

yes certainly walkable. well at least that is what i did from the jusco bus stop. But it is like a 700-800 meters walk only.

:s11: walk which direction? across the road or behind tebrau jusco?

FireEmblem

:s11: walk which direction? across the road or behind tebrau jusco?

across the road.

This will be very helpful to you. It is at the T Junction between Jalan Bakawali and Jalan Bakawali 13. search for jalan bakawali then from the resulting map drag to the top right, you will see Tebrau Jusco there.

http://mapdoo.com/

genie47

Nearly every Thai dish at Black Canyon is very good. However, wife said that Thailand Black Canyon hotter in chilli.

BossQ

from UO supermarket, milo + city sq chicken bak kwa~

CIMG2171.jpg

I dont think can bring bak kwa to Singapore...

btw how u go from bukit indah jusco to city sq and how much? Thanks!

No more "Escapade of mosmos & frenz"?

mosmos

I dont think can bring bak kwa to Singapore...

btw how u go from bukit indah jusco to city sq and how much? Thanks!

No more "Escapade of mosmos & frenz"?

pics link here. :o

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2224093

http://www.onestash.com/forums/showthread.php?t=918

from bukit indah by flag teksi is rm$15, takes abt 30mins to reach

from teksi stand be prepared to pay rm$22. :crazy:

or can take bas 221 from CW3 bas terminal, not sure of the price, hear will take 2hrs? :s11:

FireEmblem

hmm anyone got recommendation on good video hosting site, tried youtube and after wasting a few hours said uploading failed due to dunno what error :s22:

anyway pic of the stall first

FireEmblem

ok finally found a site to host it. haha why i call this Ip Man, just a play on the stall name (枼记),same 枼 as the surname of Ip Man. Notice how fluid his movements are, think have at least 10-20 years experience doing this.

http://blip.tv/file/1638086/

Sen

wah, his flying mee kungfu is v gd indeed... :look:

FireEmblem

well actually the flying part is only partially what impressed me. More so is all the fluid movements involved. He make it look like it is as natural as water flowing smoothly downstream. That is 2 bowls of noodles that you are watching him cook, it looks seamless and if you were there, this is how he cook each bowl of wanton mee.

Ok time for other food.

Here is another great recommendation.

Gui Yuan 点心

Location is at Taman Johor Jaya. Jalan Depah 8. I will say it is better than the 2 famous 点心 most of you will know in Geylang, ie wan tou sek and the other near lorong 10. This is listed as one of the best in JB and from what i read, people actually have to queue up every weekend morning just to eat the dim sum there since it opens from 9 pm to 12 noon the next day thus there will be people there even early in the morning. Well it is also much better than the one I went to at the Plaza Pelangi Area the other day.

Basically the dim sum here are semi prepared in the small containers. You go up, choose the ones that you want, then they will freshly steam it for you and serve it to your table. Now this is what i call a good way to serve dim sum.

But well for this place, if you are not driving or taking a taxi, it maybe abit unaccessible unless you are willing to walk like me. I walked all the way from Tebrau Jusco to here, about 1.5 to 2 km away. No bus to this place, nearest bus stop is outside Tebrau Jusco. Also why i say it is not that accessible is that since it is inside a very residenial area, there are very few taxi going in, so even if you want to get a taxi out, it is not easy. For me, i walked out to the tebrau bus stop again.

First off proper tea, something a decent dim sum place must have.

Tie Guan Yin

Har Gow

排骨 (only find this not really nice)

The must have but haha i dun know what it is called, just that it is some shellfish meat on top of a base of pork.

FireEmblem

dunno if there is any proper name for this.

Luo Mi Ji

Char Siew Bau

Less than half an hour upon opening and the place is pretty filled up (the tables outside too)

random shot

Some of the other choices

FireEmblem

the dark dark road I walked alone back to the bus stop since not one single taxi was in sight all the way from the dim sum place to here. A stetch of road about 500-700 meters. So well if you want to go to this place and you are not driving, better dun go at night. :s16:

FireEmblem

ok time for some Hua Mui goodie.

The various dishes i ordered over a few days

Butter chicken. Wah must try, the flavour really like edmw lingo explode in your mouth. Extraordinary compared to their already good chicken chop. Paiseh ah, my almost non existant photography skill does not do justice to this dish, it certainly looks much nicer than it is in this photo.

Mongolia chicken, also a good one.

Black pepper chicken chop.

Certificate by some council to praise the good food at Hua mui

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.