waa seems like a very not hassle-free post purchase maintenance...
but guess can't complain also since it's free...
If you really want hassle free, pay US$20 for the Jerome Wee's maps loh.. Those comes with pre-compiled and once you've managed to get it up and running with Jerome Wee sending you the unlock key, you can update the map pretty frequently...
I just updated mine 1 month ago and now we already have a new release (3.78D vs 3.79)
An impassionate plea to help a little girl. A poor little girl fighting for her life. She needs your support. Please click on her ads. this isn't a scam. Her Docs' letter is here. Have you click already?
Yes. Mapking has details of the inside road leading to HDB carparks..Haven tried any ulu estate which Mapking does have the details.
The speed limit of each street is fairly accurate. Every time will have this warning "pls slow down, pls slow down". Can be a bit nuisance especially driving @ nite
I'm using Garmin and so far all the inside roads I've been all have leh. The only one which don't have is a protected commerical location.. Besides that, OK leh
An impassionate plea to help a little girl. A poor little girl fighting for her life. She needs your support. Please click on her ads. this isn't a scam. Her Docs' letter is here. Have you click already?
waa seems like a very not hassle-free post purchase maintenance...
but guess can't complain also since it's free...
wells, it's how the maps get updated - people contribute POIs to tell of changes in the roads, new restaurants, etc.
Of course, if you are inclined, you can also ask google the right questions and you will find compiled maps, etc, as mentioned by Inix.
I personally like to use Mapsource to plan my route beforehand because I try to avoid certain roads (e.g. CTE) but the GPS tends to like to make me go by CTE cuz it's a shorter direct route. It does not factor in the almost constant slow traffic there and calculate on the basis of speed limit. So playing with the map on my comp first helps cuz I have an idea of the alternative routes to take.
i suppose the 205w and 255w should be using the same map and s/w? here's my brief afterthoughts on my 255w as a 1st time gps user:
1. map is quite obiang looking and lacking in detail. those HDB estates those "inside" roads around the blocks leading to carparks are not captured. so once u turn into any estates off the main road, the gps blur liao... unknown territory
2. intelligence is still lacking. eg my destination is just on the opposite side, but instead of asking me to u-turn, it prompted me to turn left, left n left to make a big round. this is despite i've unchecked the u-turn avoidance option.
btw, i just talked to one of my friends yesterday and found out he's a gps siao! he has 4 different gps and he even go and switch on all 4 at the same time in his trips to test. can't remember what brands he's using but maps wise, his conclusion is mapking is the best as it's very detailed, unlike malsing (garmin is using) which is rather poor on details. is that really so? esp my point #1 about the hdb estate inside roads? does mapking have all those data?
I find out the solution to the problem we are facing - the lack of in-road details.
In map details, select 'High'. You should be able to see now. The map looks so much better now, at least now i know where i am navigating within HDB blocks.
Was thinking to upgrade my 1.5yr old asus a696 gps pda(Using Mapking 2007) pd to Holux 62. Anyone using it now ? Any review. Saw the preview of Mapking Virtual. Looks good. Not sure we can use it with Holux 62.
I find out the solution to the problem we are facing - the lack of in-road details.
In map details, select 'High'. You should be able to see now. The map looks so much better now, at least now i know where i am navigating within HDB blocks.
Cheers,
x
I thought the GPS could not track the location within the HDB blocks or carparks for Garmin GPS.. Care to share on this..
Just want to check.. whether the GPS signal will be badly affected if the car is installed with V-Cool solar films. And if so, is there any way to get around it? thanks.
My car uses Vkool Mystique (the most kia su version) and weakens the GPS signal .. Take damm long to do a cold lock. Tried in car park with the GPS inside the car and outside the car, alot of difference. In the end I bought a re-radiating antenna with the external antenna outside, which transmits the GPS signal inside the car, bypassing Vkool. After that very much better .. signal strength at least 25-40% better and lock on much faster.
hmmmz
im using garmin 205...
find it quite ok leh...
although the re-calculation takes quite awhile...
gps is preloaded with jerome maps...
dunno how to go abt updating it though...
went malsingmaps and it was pretty confusing...
can i upload the malsing map into my gps?
haha
guess wont be updating the maps now...
hmmmz
im using garmin 205...
find it quite ok leh...
although the re-calculation takes quite awhile...
gps is preloaded with jerome maps...
dunno how to go abt updating it though...
went malsingmaps and it was pretty confusing...
can i upload the malsing map into my gps?
haha
guess wont be updating the maps now...
malsing has maps for both mapking and garmin for free. yes you can update, provided the malsing version is up-to-date compared to the preloaded jerome map. in fact, the singapore tile in malsing is provided by jerome.
and recently malsing has a new map format for supported local garmin gps which supports junction view.