News and Media - IT Media
Computer & Internet - Net Communities & Chat

Go Back   www.hardwarezone.com.sg > InfoTech Clinics > Optical Storage Clinic
Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Old 05-09-2009, 03:14 PM   #1
Nakedtoes

LG DVD Writer (worst of the worst)

Build a few systems with the LG writer as a drive and guess after about less then 1 year later all the drive unable to read disc anymore... LG is the worst lousiest brand i come across.. Anyone got better brand to recommend?

If i not wrong only those LG drive that has LS can last longer.. cause i have one Anyone got anything regarding LG DVD writer to shares thanks
Old 05-09-2009, 03:31 PM   #2
MarineX

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nakedtoes
Build a few systems with the LG writer as a drive and guess after about less then 1 year later all the drive unable to read disc anymore... LG is the worst lousiest brand i come across.. Anyone got better brand to recommend?

If i not wrong only those LG drive that has LS can last longer.. cause i have one Anyone got anything regarding LG DVD writer to shares thanks
eh.. i got 2 1 with LS 1 without... both still working fine since 2007 the one w/o ls was in 2006. still going strong.
oh both is internal dvd-rw drives. e DVD-RAM thingy.
MarineX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 03:49 PM   #3
Kiwi8

Quote:

Dunno leh... my 4 year old GSA-4120B is still writing correctly leh.

Need just a single screw from LGA775 Bolt-Thru-Kit with Screws & Springs.

I wish to borrow your spare PCI-E graphics card that has a native HDMI port for a few days. Send me a PM.
Kiwi8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 03:55 PM   #4
anqiang

mine working fine too ..
Old 05-09-2009, 05:17 PM   #5
wwenze

You just need to come across something worse, then you wun complain anymore.
Old 05-09-2009, 05:19 PM   #6
pitchaxistheory

Sounds like you got a bad batch. LG sources from a couple of OEM manufacturers for all their products so the quality really varies.

My Netbook Collection: MSI Wind U100Plus | Asus EeePC 901 | Acer Aspire One D250 | HP Mini 1000

pitchaxistheory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 06:25 PM   #7
cscs3

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarineX
eh.. i got 2 1 with LS 1 without... both still working fine since 2007 the one w/o ls was in 2006. still going strong.
oh both is internal dvd-rw drives. e DVD-RAM thingy.
Same for me.
cscs3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 06:54 PM   #8
Nakedtoes

Hiaz but can i be so sway?? Anyway i got them from PCthemes those OEM pack in a period span 2 months. Total drive spoilt =6.. 5 wo LS 1 with LS. Hiaz.. i got LG phobia now!!! The problem is disc cannot be read..the green light blink but cannot read the disc.. and window show no disc...

Mine ownself one is the lightscribe version.. got once i play MJ DVD play halfway can pause by itself. My BenQ 1620 is still going strong..

Last edited by Nakedtoes : 05-09-2009 at 06:59 PM.
Nakedtoes is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 07:25 PM   #9
JuveZzZ

mine LG LS one still working fine, since 2007 ............
JuveZzZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 11:09 PM   #10
ahtea

So far for my DVD Writer, I only chose LG. All 6 drives worked fine for me.

On the other hand, the Samsung DVD Writer which came with my branded desktop, failed within 1 year (cannot read DVDs). That is the worst drive I have came across so far especially I seldom use the system.
ahtea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 11:12 PM   #11
ahtea

Quote:
Hiaz but can i be so sway?? Anyway i got them from PCthemes those OEM pack in a period span 2 months. Total drive spoilt =6.. 5 wo LS 1 with LS. Hiaz.. i got LG phobia now!!! The problem is disc cannot be read..the green light blink but cannot read the disc.. and window show no disc...

Mine ownself one is the lightscribe version.. got once i play MJ DVD play halfway can pause by itself. My BenQ 1620 is still going strong..
I think it might be a batch problem.

Those I bought are with box (always buy during the show). My oldest LG DVD drive is dated 2004. Still going strong.
ahtea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 12:36 AM   #12
erwinrommel

I am using two right now. One is 18X, the other is 22X.

Other than being noisy, I have no other comments to make.
Old 06-09-2009, 08:49 AM   #13
cscs3

Quote:

Never get a OEM pack.
cscs3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 09:28 AM   #14
hello8985

Quote:
Originally Posted by cscs3
Never get a OEM pack.
agree on this...

the ones i bought all retail boxed version no problem... got from 2001, 2004, 2007

all working fine... the best is last time TDK 12X flashed to Liteon 1653 still working and Benq 1620 budden last time pricing easily can buy 10 of current drives liao
Old 06-09-2009, 09:48 AM   #15
wwenze

OEM packzzz...

LG noisy? I think Samsung best lor. Press eject the disc still spinning on the tray.