News and Media - IT Media
Computer & Internet - Net Communities & Chat

Go Back   www.hardwarezone.com.sg > InfoTech Clinics > Notebook Clinic
Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Old 08-06-2004, 12:46 AM   #1
Iandao

Asus Laptop Users Thread

Umm Moderator, can i make this a sticky thread for Asus Lappy Users here??
Old 08-06-2004, 10:07 PM   #2
Junta

hav an asus lappy too
solid sia
damn old liaoz still going strong
Junta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2004, 10:39 PM   #3
antitrust

HI! i'm a asus laptop user too! what model you all have?

i'm using an asus s5 bought it at microware. nice design and light. 1.35kgs!
antitrust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2004, 12:15 AM   #4
HiStOrY MaKeR

Quote:
Originally posted by antitrust
HI! i'm a asus laptop user too! what model you all have?

i'm using an asus s5 bought it at microware. nice design and light. 1.35kgs!
how much u bought ur S5?

Sorrie that I couldn't reply ya in time.

Me also using S5 as u know...

anyway, I was given a gd price....

pm me for more insight...

microware? erm... newstead prices are better.
1TB (1x1TB) D-Link DNS323
320GB Seagate 3.5" FreeAgent (FW800 converted)
HP Photosmart C6280 All-in-One Printer (Ethernet)
HiStOrY MaKeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2004, 12:19 AM   #5
antitrust

Quote:
Originally posted by HiStOrY MaKeR

how much u bought ur S5?

Sorrie that I couldn't reply ya in time.

Me also using S5 as u know...

anyway, I was given a gd price....

pm me for more insight...

microware? erm... newstead prices are better.
hey bro. no need to say sorry la. i should thank you instead. think you went thru much trouble yet i didn't get it from you. sending you a pm now.
Old 09-06-2004, 12:47 AM   #6
Junta

u guys hav the new ones eh?
hai~
mine is so old
but it works so fine in word processing tat i couldnt bear to trash it and buy a new one
Junta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2004, 02:50 AM   #7
Iandao

i got one recently at the PC Show..Asus M6000N
Pentium M 1.5Ghz
512Mb(after 256mb upgrade)
ati radeon mobility 9600 64mb
60gb hitachi 5400rpm
toshiba cd-rw/dvd-rom
15.4" wxga screen
Bought for SGD$3200.

Well..i love this laptop alot..great features(e.g Power Gear4/Hot Keys/Stylish Keyboard/Cool exterior) & many many more..

too bad i no $$ to buy the Asus W1 which is launching probably anywhere after august..i heard..
Old 09-06-2004, 11:36 AM   #8
ShAwNz

Quote:
Originally posted by Iandao
i got one recently at the PC Show..Asus M6000N
Pentium M 1.5Ghz
512Mb(after 256mb upgrade)
ati radeon mobility 9600 64mb
60gb hitachi 5400rpm
toshiba cd-rw/dvd-rom
15.4" wxga screen
Bought for SGD$3200.

Well..i love this laptop alot..great features(e.g Power Gear4/Hot Keys/Stylish Keyboard/Cool exterior) & many many more..

too bad i no $$ to buy the Asus W1 which is launching probably anywhere after august..i heard..
Is $3200 the standard selling price around ? Cause i checked asia.cnet.com it showed $4000+

And what significant features will W1 have ?
ShAwNz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2004, 03:09 PM   #9
rongzngo

how is the after sale services of asus laptop?
is there a local service centre here for asus laptop?
how reliable is asus laptop as compared to acer laptop since both of them are from taiwanese maker?

any asus laptop user can comment on this?
Old 10-06-2004, 01:06 AM   #10
Iandao

their service centre is located in SLS..level 3..
2 yrs int'l warranty..
my laptop have yet to break down..so dun see a need for their after sales services..
Quote:
Originally posted by rongzngo
how is the after sale services of asus laptop?
is there a local service centre here for asus laptop?
how reliable is asus laptop as compared to acer laptop since both of them are from taiwanese maker?

any asus laptop user can comment on this?
Old 10-06-2004, 01:26 AM   #11
Iandao

Quote:
Originally posted by ShAwNz

Is $3200 the standard selling price around ? Cause i checked asia.cnet.com it showed $4000+

And what significant features will W1 have ?
Asus W1000N..
Old 10-06-2004, 02:31 AM   #12
yorkduck

their after sales service is not bad. the people who work there are friendly and do their best to help although they run a pretty tight ship. it's quite a trek to the service centre too.

am using an M2400 bought 2 years ago. works great. excellent keyboard but get the odd electric shock now and then. think my set is poorly insulated for some strange reason.

will not part with it if not for fact that i am going overseas and need a new machine (am considering either NC4010 or T41) with good international warranty (which ASUS also has)
yorkduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2004, 02:43 AM   #13
yamashita

Re: Asus Laptop Users

Quote:
Umm Moderator, can i make this a sticky thread for Asus Lappy Users here??
Not a problem, since there's quite a few Asus laptop users here.

yamashita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2004, 05:35 PM   #14
antitrust

Quote:
Asus W1000N..
wow. it sure looks good. i've seen some pictures of the appearance of the laptop. its brushed metal surface right? it just turns me on lah.

if only my S5 was encased in a brushed metal surface... THAT WOULD BE TRIPLE WOW! haha.

anyways, asus laptops are not bad. solid build. i loooooove my asus!
Old 10-06-2004, 08:21 PM   #15
Iandao

Re: Re: Asus Laptop Users

thank you mod..
Quote:
Originally posted by yama****a

Not a problem, since there's quite a few Asus laptop users here.