Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Old 05-04-2009, 10:03 PM   #79891
Propanone

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mango_ice
nbs got a lot also lor.
me lor.

class participation is 20% of overall grade for business law and IT module. 10% for finance and accounting modules. must try to farm more marks la!

and when the class is sooo quiet and nobody answers the tutor's qn, the lesson is quite painful so i help answer qns lor
Old 05-04-2009, 10:30 PM   #79892
Mango_ice

Quote:
Originally Posted by Propanone
me lor.

class participation is 20% of overall grade for business law and IT module. 10% for finance and accounting modules. must try to farm more marks la!

and when the class is sooo quiet and nobody answers the tutor's qn, the lesson is quite painful so i help answer qns lor

113 is 20%?! so high meh?
Last time blaw is only 10% also.
Old 05-04-2009, 11:15 PM   #79893
vbhelper

Quote:
my fren, jeremy!!
actuarial and economics major!!

yeah really happy for them man, bring alot of glory to NTU siah!!
luckily Yale is one of the finalists, otherwise we don't know if NTU win due to weak competitor or not
vbhelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 11:22 PM   #79894
Sonic_85

Quote:
Originally Posted by vbhelper
how about this? 
i see his FYP oso scared.
Sonic_85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 01:15 AM   #79895
Propanone

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mango_ice
113 is 20%?! so high meh?
Last time blaw is only 10% also.
yes lor... 113 is 20 class participation 10 quiz 20 project 50 exam

b. law is 20 class part 20 assignment 60 exams....

welly worried.. lucky all my tutors know my name hehe
Old 06-04-2009, 01:53 AM   #79896
direbmem

Quote:
luckily Yale is one of the finalists, otherwise we don't know if NTU win due to weak competitor or not
to me personally i think its a disgrace for yale, because their the caliber of their students meeting yale's entry requirements is likely to be like at least 10 times higher than the top calibre student entering nbs??? even if finance is not yale's strong suit (finance isnt nbs strong suit either)
well or perhaps its just yale's tough luck this time round...hahah even underdog has its days..
也许爱越单纯越着迷

你是窗外另外一片风景
在你眼里我是什么关系
你的呼吸藏在我的爱情里
何时能诚实面对自己

我们从不开口那个言语
那一句我爱你
永远像少了勇气
别人都说
我和你之间的关系
没有人相信只有关心

我们从不正视那个问题
那一些[color=#e10900]是非题[/color]
总让人伤透脑筋
我会期待
爱情盛开那一个黎明
一定会有美丽的爱情

Last edited by direbmem : 06-04-2009 at 02:28 AM.
direbmem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 02:18 AM   #79897
Propanone

Quote:
Originally Posted by direbmem
to me personally i think its a disgrace for yale, because their the caliber of their students meeting yale's entry requirements is likely to be like at least 10 times higher than the top calibre student entering nbs??? even if finance is not yale's strong suit (finance isnt nbs strong suit either)
well or perhaps its just yale's tough luck this time round...
i disagree, you're using exaggeration. where got likely to be 10 times higher than nbs. and 'calibre' - how to measure sia.
yale's entry requirements aren't that high, these ivy league unis only need you to write a nice personal essay and do a short interview niah.

while u admire angmohs who can get into Yale, pls do not look down on and put down your fellow singaporeans. doesn't mean that all the top minds in singapore are in medicine, or have gone on overseas scholarships.

Yes Yale didn't win, but getting into the finals doesn't constitute a disgrace.

Last edited by Propanone : 06-04-2009 at 02:21 AM.
Propanone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 02:40 AM   #79898
direbmem

Quote:
i disagree, you're using exaggeration. where got likely to be 10 times higher than nbs. and 'calibre' - how to measure sia.
yale's entry requirements aren't that high, these ivy league unis only need you to write a nice personal essay and do a short interview niah.

while u admire angmohs who can get into Yale, pls do not look down on and put down your fellow singaporeans. doesn't mean that all the top minds in singapore are in medicine, or have gone on overseas scholarships.

Yes Yale didn't win, but getting into the finals doesn't constitute a disgrace.
ya calibre is unmeasurable, but if i really want to compare which is higher calibre, and i would really like to quantify it, thats why i say ten times, of course that is not absolute and its just my own sense..

well, if its really that easy, pple wouldnt consider ivy leagues as being selective already right and almost everybody would have been offered admission.

Its not looking down, its being realistic, and its not country specific. there can be singaporeans in yale too. you cant deny that the typical chaps in harvard or MIT is most probably much brighter than the typical chaps in ntu/nbs...you can perpetrate how good nbs is, but at least in the near future, the likes of hedge funds or private equity wont come to nbs to hold recruitment events recruiting nanyang mba grads because nbs is just not there yet or not perceived to be there. Its just the current reality.

well, to me it is, considering their selectivity of students and how highly regarded it is by most pple..maybe i exageratted a bit, but i am also really glad that ntu won yale and put spore on the world map. you can go on imagining how gd nbs is better than yale or insead, but its likely the rest of the world wont even bother. nbs is indeed an underdog here compared to yale.
也许爱越单纯越着迷

你是窗外另外一片风景
在你眼里我是什么关系
你的呼吸藏在我的爱情里
何时能诚实面对自己

我们从不开口那个言语
那一句我爱你
永远像少了勇气
别人都说
我和你之间的关系
没有人相信只有关心

我们从不正视那个问题
那一些[color=#e10900]是非题[/color]
总让人伤透脑筋
我会期待
爱情盛开那一个黎明
一定会有美丽的爱情

Last edited by direbmem : 06-04-2009 at 02:52 AM.
direbmem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 11:27 AM   #79899
naruto5th

Quote:
Originally Posted by gohweihan
Not much of a point asking this question, I would say.

The nature of work would be different for PhD holders and non-PhD holders. Better ask yourself if you would enjoy doing research as a career.

actually i was thinking of working in research field for a few yrs before jumping over to industry with the phd if possible.. is tis a gd idea? anyone same pattern as me?
naruto5th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 11:43 AM   #79900
vbhelper

Quote:
Originally Posted by naruto5th
actually i was thinking of working in research field for a few yrs before jumping over to industry with the phd if possible.. is tis a gd idea? anyone same pattern as me?
I am hoping to do a business phd from a 3rd tier uni , then pple can called me Dr vbhelper for life . I'm not really into research. I'm serious hor
Old 06-04-2009, 11:49 AM   #79901
Propanone

well the top jcs give so much help to its students in their application to ivy leagues: tutors write you nice recommendations, teach you how to write good personal statements, and how to prepare for interviews etc etc. I'd would say that getting accepted is not as hard as you think.

regarding the 'typical Yale student being much brighter than singaporean students', i wouldnt make such sweeping statements because i cannot justify it.

i think it shows that with the right training, teams from non-ivy leagues can still outperform them. wait a minute, Yale isnt even strong at business/finance; it's renowed for law and arts and sciences.
Old 06-04-2009, 02:41 PM   #79902
naruto5th

Quote:
I am hoping to do a business phd from a 3rd tier uni , then pple can called me Dr vbhelper for life . I'm not really into research. I'm serious hor
ya the title Dr is veri attractive lor.. cuz when u fill in form can write Dr and nt Mr le..

i am half half into research onli but would like to venture into industry.. meet more interesting ppl.. tok more..
Old 06-04-2009, 04:01 PM   #79903
gohweihan

Quote:
ya the title Dr is veri attractive lor.. cuz when u fill in form can write Dr and nt Mr le..

i am half half into research onli but would like to venture into industry.. meet more interesting ppl.. tok more..
When you write papers, you don't put your title anyway :-p

When you mean venture into industry, you mean doing industrial kind of research instead of those academic kind, or what?
Old 06-04-2009, 04:21 PM   #79904
naruto5th

Quote:
Originally Posted by gohweihan
When you write papers, you don't put your title anyway :-p

When you mean venture into industry, you mean doing industrial kind of research instead of those academic kind, or what?
i think industrial research also sama sama as academic kind but ultimate aim different bah hahhaa

papers different leh.. everyone almost the same title put also no use.. is when filling form put Dr veri nice haha
Old 06-04-2009, 04:48 PM   #79905
vbhelper

Quote:
i think industrial research also sama sama as academic kind but ultimate aim different bah hahhaa

papers different leh.. everyone almost the same title put also no use.. is when filling form put Dr veri nice haha
hanor hanor, if u are aiming Dr title, then don't find a phd so difficult to take one rah.