Computer & Internet - Net Communities & Chat

Go Back   www.hardwarezone.com.sg > Lifestyle > Cars & Cars
Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Old 06-03-2009, 07:59 PM   #46
tk

Quote:
Originally Posted by cloolio
Recently, after much thought and discussion with parents, my option of a 2nd hand car was this:
http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/i...=36387&DL=1035 Reason being that its low budget and seems to serve its purpose well (won the best hatchback car in m'sia last year IIRC).
The paper value for this Savvy is now 14k.. u shd be able to bargain down a bit from 20k..

I just helped my friend buy a 2nd hand 08 Savvy OPC 2 weeks back.. it's actually quite spacious and seems decent enuf.. just hope it will last without much headaches..
tk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 08:09 PM   #47
cloolio

Quote:
Originally Posted by tk
The paper value for this Savvy is now 14k.. u shd be able to bargain down a bit from 20k..

I just helped my friend buy a 2nd hand 08 Savvy OPC 2 weeks back.. it's actually quite spacious and seems decent enuf.. just hope it will last without much headaches..
Thanks for that tip. Will try to bargain if I do go get this car then.

Anyone can answer my other questions? esp the loan issue. Thanks.

Quote:
Sorry to bring up this thread, but need some advice again.

Recently, after much thought and discussion with parents, my option of a 2nd hand car was this:
http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/i...=36387&DL=1035 Reason being that its low budget and seems to serve its purpose well (won the best hatchback car in m'sia last year IIRC).

However, as my mom is a housewife, and my dad works overseas doing his own business with several partners, I dont think he has an income proof as he hasnt been contributing to CPF ever since he went over. As such, my question is, am i still able to take up a car loan? If so, how?

My other questions with with regards to the car above would be:
1) Is this a good choice for a 2nd hand car?
2) Will it still be under warranty since its a may 06 savvy.
3) Anything to take note of?

Thanks once again! The posts I had previously really did help alot, so really appreciate it.
cloolio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 10:05 PM   #48
cloolio

up. anyone?
Old 07-03-2009, 12:38 AM   #49
rainyjerk

Quote:
Originally Posted by weng
the coe corolla looks more uncle but the ride quality is very good.

for civics, u really can't tell from the pics. gotta go down and see the car personally and preferably with someone who noes how a stock car should be like, else the dealer may smoke u say this one stock, that one stock where all actually 3rd party stuff.

i do agree with ethan on the hearsay part. sometimes things do get out of proportion. i drove the g7 corolla for ~1.5ys couple of years ago. ride quality was superb for a 14yr old car. but can't say so for the components health. it was a nightmare in fact. we were total noobs when we bought the car, only trusting a relative's advice (he was the one who helped us look for cars). soon after we bought the car, 1 by 1 the components broke down. inside the engine bay... u name it, we've changed it lol... some not once, but twice. so over the 1.5yrs we've spent more than 5k on repairs. almost every month got downtime. servicing was done diligently every 5k as i was using mineral oil. and unfortunately the mechanic was also not very honest... every servicing jio me change spark plugs and filter. very easily to smoke cos the spark plugs sure will look blurry and filter sure will be black. as i didn't know how then is considered still-ok, i foolishly change. every 5k damn it!

my colleagues have better luck. 2 of them also driving the g7 corollas... 1 MT 1 AT. minimal problems. and they are actually not as diligent as me in terms of maintenance! kns...

so there u go... all sorts of possibilities. just gotta take due care if u were to go into coe cars...
bro,

tats explain why you r so time research on cars now? seen quite a few of your comparison of jazz n fits on the forum. nice work!
rainyjerk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2009, 01:19 AM   #50
weng

Quote:
Originally Posted by rainyjerk
bro,

tats explain why you r so time research on cars now? seen quite a few of your comparison of jazz n fits on the forum. nice work!
haha it's the corolla that got my hands dirty a bit... became more interested so the vios that we changed to was molested more. but now the jazz... i only pop the bonnet when wash car... not really into any mods liao
weng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 01:15 AM   #51
cloolio

up.
up.

Quote:
Sorry to bring up this thread, but need some advice again.

However, as my mom is a housewife, and my dad works overseas doing his own business with several partners, I dont think he has an income proof as he hasnt been contributing to CPF ever since he went over. As such, my question is, am i still able to take up a car loan? If so, how?

My other questions with with regards to the car above would be:
1) Is this a good choice for a 2nd hand car?
2) Will it still be under warranty since its a may 06 savvy.
3) Anything to take note of?

Thanks once again! The posts I had previously really did help alot, so really appreciate it.
Old 09-03-2009, 10:29 AM   #52
tk

Best to call bank and ask.. generally u have to be able to show some proof of income so that banks have some assurances than u can repay the loan. Assuming u have no income, it should be for your dad to show some proof of profit from his business so that he can take up the loan.
Old 09-03-2009, 02:16 PM   #53
bl_eye

haha
ts sounds like me...
i was looking at COE ESI then savvy...
juz went to proton showroom
was told that they are not bringing in savvy anymore...
maybe we shd go look for a car together...
buy in bulk cheaper
haha
bl_eye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 02:21 PM   #54
tk

Quote:
Originally Posted by bl_eye
haha
ts sounds like me...
buy in bulk cheaper
haha
Proton SE told me Savvy not phased out.. just that currently no stock.. dunno when then will receive stocks from MY..
Old 09-03-2009, 02:35 PM   #55
bl_eye

eh...
wat the proton guy told me was tat singapore not bringing it in anymore leh...
still in production but not bringing it in...
did he smoke me?
haha
Old 10-03-2009, 03:20 AM   #56
cloolio

Quote:
Originally Posted by bl_eye
haha
ts sounds like me...
buy in bulk cheaper
haha
Haha. Got to admit about my fickle mindedness. Also partially due to gaining new knowledge in 2nd hand cars.

Anyway, the proton savvy I'm considering is a 2nd hand one (link posted in previous post). But at the moment, due to lack of income or CPF proof as I've mentioned earlier, I'm considering buying from a company that doesn't require income proof or guarantor.

Anyone has any opinion on that? I've heard that for such a case, the interest rate would be higher. But if it's only slightly, i would much prefer it to all the hassle of trying to get my dad to show his business profits (way too troublesome).
Old 10-03-2009, 08:44 AM   #57
bl_eye

eh
i think given the current economy downturn...
may be difficult to get such loans...
Old 10-03-2009, 01:35 PM   #58
cloolio

Old 10-03-2009, 01:46 PM   #59
tk

Matrix ah.. be prepared for 9-10km/l type of FC..
Old 11-03-2009, 04:20 AM   #60
cloolio

Quote:
Originally Posted by tk
Matrix ah.. be prepared for 9-10km/l type of FC..
sounds really bad. Maybe a 1.1M getz then. Don't really need power if I'm going for a budget A-B car.