|
|
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Zephon
wow clickade the pro!
Alright, but read some info about i7Core from wiki, but what's the advantage of i7Core over the older one? :S
|
Nah, I'm no pro. I just recently parked myself here.
For the Core i7, there is really not much performance gain for games, as the Core i7 is like the new version of the Quad Core (but take note they run on radically different architectures), so current gen games only take up to 2 Cores max. However, if you intend to future-proof your machine, you might wish to wait awhile longer.
Quote:
|
Beside, allow me to ask a dumb question: Is 7200rpm harddisk kfar different than 5400rpm one? Because np5797 only offer 320GB if choose 7200rpm, which is 'not so' sufficient to me. (I current using 320 GB one)
|
Yes. Especially if you're playing games, the load times will be faster with the faster rpm drive. Considering you're not really using the notebook as a workstation, the 320GB will be quite enough as most current-gen games require less than 10GB each to install.
Last edited by clickade : 03-04-2009 at 02:26 PM.
Reason: Core i7 clearing-up
|
|
|
|
03-04-2009, 05:49 PM
|
|
|
|
hm... ... if the choice is np5797, I don't think it's a good idea for toom uch future proving, since the GPU is only single GTX 280m, it will be out date in 2 years time... ... so if duo core is good enough for current game, I rather go for higher clock duo core... hm... ...
hahah but I am a dude who love to keep all the completed game in my computer, just to see those nice nice icon in the game explorer (vista lor) wahaha (just kidding)
|
|
|
|
03-04-2009, 06:00 PM
|
|
|
|
Quote:
|
hm... ... if the choice is np5797, I don't think it's a good idea for toom uch future proving, since the GPU is only single GTX 280m, it will be out date in 2 years time... ... so if duo core is good enough for current game, I rather go for higher clock duo core... hm... ...
hahah but I am a dude who love to keep all the completed game in my computer, just to see those nice nice icon in the game explorer (vista lor) wahaha (just kidding)
|
Well, good luck with your purchase! Don't forget to inform us of how well the payment got through, because I ordered my NP9262 through a US reseller, and I have not dealt with cubehub... yet.
Last edited by clickade : 03-04-2009 at 06:01 PM.
Reason: Grammar and syntax
|
|
|
|
03-04-2009, 06:07 PM
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
03-04-2009, 09:32 PM
|
|
|
|
I tot upgrading the lappy GPU is limited by the motherboard model? hm....
|
|
|
|
03-04-2009, 09:44 PM
|
|
|
|
Quote:
|
wow clickade the pro!
Alright, but read some info about i7Core from wiki, but what's the advantage of i7Core over the older one? :S
Beside, allow me to ask a dumb question: Is 7200rpm harddisk kfar different than 5400rpm one? Because np5797 only offer 320GB if choose 7200rpm, which is 'not so' sufficient to me. (I current using 320 GB one)
|
Core i7 are released by Intel only for the X58 chipset at the moment.
The new X58 chipset replaces the FSB (Front Side Bus) with QuickPath instead.
The faster HDD will only increase startup time and game loading time, or just essentially anything that relys on the HDD.
|
|
03-04-2009, 10:05 PM
|
|
|
|
Quote:
|
I tot upgrading the lappy GPU is limited by the motherboard model? hm....
|
Yes, but it's just to give insight on what you will really be dealing with if you want to upgrade your graphics card. For instance, many ppl commented that the GTX 200 series is essentially overclocked versions of the 9800 GTX, so it produces more heat by consuming more power, yet its layout is still (almost?) the same.
I guess this is the reason why two GTX 280ms are not allowed in the new Clevo model.
Last edited by clickade : 03-04-2009 at 10:07 PM.
Reason: More insight
|
|
|
|
03-04-2009, 10:23 PM
|
|
|
|
You're right clickade, GTX280m use the same core as 9800GTX, the different is the core speed, memory speed and it's 55nm instead of 65nm like 9800m gtx. So since the core are not the real gtx280m, it's not wrong to say gtx280m is nothing but a overclocked 9800gtx.
|
|
|
|
04-04-2009, 07:52 AM
|
|
|
|
Oh, I've just been updated and there is a planned Clevo notebook model with dual GTX 280m (Yes, in SLi). This will be the Clevo M980NU. However, this DTRN is an 18.4"er BUT it has no support for the Core i7. I guess you might very well have to choose between Core i7(D90xF) or Dual GTX 280m(M980NU).
Last edited by clickade : 04-04-2009 at 07:53 AM.
Reason: make things clearer
|
|
|
|
04-04-2009, 08:18 AM
|
|
|
|
LMAO!! now then you're just been informed ah? M980NU is alreadi old news. and our dear forumer SFOH already mentioned that model earlier in this thread.
and not true, 55nm runs more cooler tahn 65nm becuase of smaller manufacturing composites and thus also use less power.
to TS, and at the same time u need to also ask yurself - do i really need that kind of power? rmb, dun spend more than wht u need. tech can only go so far; aft 6 months - oh!! new upgrade new model come up liao.
|
|
10-04-2009, 06:21 AM
|
|
|
|
did all the prices just went up by a few hundreds of dollars??
I checked the sager website, they never up the prices leh....
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Cubehub
Hi All
15.4" Sager NP8662 with GeForce GTX 260M w/ 1GB GDDR3 now in stocks.
17" Sager NP5797 with Geforce GTX 280M w/ 1 GB GDDR3 now in stocks.
Cubehub
Upgradable graphics & processors options in future, Sager Gaming Notebook, your ideal option.
|
|
|
|
|
10-04-2009, 07:56 AM
|
|
|
|
I was wondering about the same thing.
The 8862 is US$1499 (SGD$2271) but it's going for SGD$2799 here.. Quite a big diff.
|
|
|
|
10-04-2009, 12:12 PM
|
|
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Tremonti
I was wondering about the same thing.
The 8862 is US$1499 (SGD$2271) but it's going for SGD$2799 here.. Quite a big diff. 
|
Of cos, there a diff.
You have not add in 7% GST on the $2271 and the shipment cost etc.
After you add all in and will see the diff.
Thanks
Cubehub
www.sgcubehubs.com
|
|
|
|
10-04-2009, 12:21 PM
|
|
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by wind30
did all the prices just went up by a few hundreds of dollars??
I checked the sager website, they never up the prices leh....
|
Yap, only two model went up but some went down like NP5797. Last time was $3598, now $3398.
But if you check the Sager prices in US and add in all the costs then compare the prices, you will see that our prices are still ok .
Cubehub
www.sgcubehubs.com
|
|
|
|