GRAPHICS
NOTEBOOK
OPTICAL STORAGE
STORAGE
MOBILE PHONE
NOKIA ZONE
Members Services

Latest Articles

The Ultra Battle: 7 Intel CULV Notebooks Fight it Out!

The Budget P55 - Jetway Kuroshio BI-700
 > HWM+HardwareZone.com Tech Awards 2010 & Reader's Choice Results
 > A VAIO to Lust For: Sony VAIO Spring Launch!
 > Olympus' New E-PL1 Micro Four Thirds and Tough Cameras
 > 22-inch 3D Vision LCD Monitor Showdown - Samsung vs. Viewsonic
  More Articles >>      

My HardwareZone

Set as My Homepage
Add to My Favorites

Hardware Zone Networks

www.hardwarezone.com®
   HardwareZone Singapore
   HardwareZone Malaysia
   HardwareZone Philippines
   HardwareZone Thailand
   HardwareZone Australia
HardwareMAG®
   Singapore
   Malaysia
   Thailand
   Philippines
   Indonesia
GameAxis® Online
Carma Online

RHEL4
Click to see hardwarezone.com Alexa Rating

Computers and Internet - Hardware
News and Media - IT Media
Computer & Internet - Net Communities & Chat

Go Back   www.hardwarezone.com.sg > InfoTech Clinics > Hardware Clinic > Case Mod Clinic
Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Old 11-04-2009, 02:15 AM   #16
KleoZy

Quote:
Originally Posted by joelkoo
Lol, bro, your DIY guide might just put gary from uvnium out of buisness.. lol.. your method is simple and yet very effective.
I don't think so... lol they will end up purchasing stuff from Gary due to the hole without decoration lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by huat86
can this be done on acrylic?
it can be done if you skillful enough, but is better to have a jigsaw to cut plexi, as burning.. I never done that before as what cloudbp mentioned.
Old 11-04-2009, 06:51 PM   #17
cloudbp

Quote:
Originally Posted by KleoZy
I don't think so... lol they will end up purchasing stuff from Gary due to the hole without decoration lol

it can be done if you skillful enough, but is better to have a jigsaw to cut plexi, as burning.. I never done that before as what cloudbp mentioned.
I tried before. The edges of the new hole actually melted when i used holesaw.
cloudbp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 10:09 PM   #18
huat86

Quote:
Originally Posted by cloudbp
I tried before. The edges of the new hole actually melted when i used holesaw.
maybe the speed is too fast? btw, can attach hole saw to dremel 300 series?
huat86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 08:06 AM   #19
LxIxVxE

cannot find manual hand drill leh~
and my casing abt 1mm thick steel, might be hard to use manual one~

....人生短短几十年 我不想白白地活着
LxIxVxE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 02:59 PM   #20
bradputt

Quote:
maybe the speed is too fast? btw, can attach hole saw to dremel 300 series?
noway you can fit that into a dremel.

the max dia of dremel is 1/8" or 3.2 mm only
bradputt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 03:00 PM   #21
bradputt

Quote:
Originally Posted by LxIxVxE

have lah... HW shop in kelantan lane have.
Old 12-04-2009, 04:15 PM   #22
KleoZy

Quote:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...4/ffec2dca.jpg
I have use hand drill on 2mm steel thick to do slots not blow hole slot like this before

see picture no.1

therefore no issue on 1mm thick SECC
Old 13-04-2009, 07:41 AM   #23
LxIxVxE

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradputt
have lah... HW shop in kelantan lane have.
oh, thanks~
will walk there if cannot find at SLT~
....人生短短几十年 我不想白白地活着
Old 13-04-2009, 08:33 AM   #24
LxIxVxE

Quote:
Originally Posted by KleoZy
I have use hand drill on 2mm steel thick to do slots not blow hole slot like this before

therefore no issue on 1mm thick SECC
dun know wanna buy or not~
hand drill maybe abt $20 to $30~
still need to buy drill bit, metal cutter and hand file~

am considering the $30++ Wolf brand cordless 12V drill~
at least can bring outside to do, dun need to dirty the house~
but not sure powerful enough for drilling steel or not~

saw one set of Wolf brand power drill with accessories for $29.90 only, looks not bad~

or pay pple to do the cutting~
cheap and nice cutting~

still deciding which way best for me~
....人生短短几十年 我不想白白地活着
Old 13-04-2009, 12:35 PM   #25
bradputt

Quote:
dun know wanna buy or not~
hand drill maybe abt $20 to $30~
still need to buy drill bit, metal cutter and hand file~

am considering the $30++ Wolf brand cordless 12V drill~
at least can bring outside to do, dun need to dirty the house~
but not sure powerful enough for drilling steel or not~

saw one set of Wolf brand power drill with accessories for $29.90 only, looks not bad~

or pay pple to do the cutting~
cheap and nice cutting~

still deciding which way best for me~
what you wanna do ??
Old 13-04-2009, 02:06 PM   #26
LxIxVxE

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradputt
what you wanna do ??
make a window on side panel lor~

feels like trying myself~
....人生短短几十年 我不想白白地活着
Old 13-04-2009, 04:50 PM   #27
huat86

Quote:
make a window on side panel lor~

feels like trying myself~
may be you can buy this from carrefour
http://forums.vr-zone.com/case-moddi...ry-tool-2.html

and cut ? i am trying this after the exam

http://www.mnpctech.com/Dremel.html <--- good guide on cutting
huat86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2009, 07:34 PM   #28
LxIxVxE

Quote:
may be you can buy this from carrefour
http://forums.vr-zone.com/case-moddi...ry-tool-2.html

and cut ? i am trying this after the exam

http://www.mnpctech.com/Dremel.html <--- good guide on cutting
thanks for the guide~
have watched many video from youtube too~

....人生短短几十年 我不想白白地活着
Old 14-04-2009, 06:18 AM   #29
Langer

My process for Dremel cuts is as follows:

1- Tape the entire surface with painters tape [1]

2- Carefully and ACCURATELY draw your cuts out onto the tape in with a black pen. [2]

3- Carefully draw a second series of cuts slightly smaller than your first in blue pen. Trying to stay about 1/16"-1/8" of an inch away from the first lines.

4- Get yourself these cut-off wheels. The reinforced cutters are my personal favorite for aluminum (#426). [3]

5- Get a "flexishaft" for your Dremel - this makes everything much easier.[4]

6- Start cutting, following your BLUE LINES! ignore the black ones entirely. This way you'll be guaranteed to be leaving yourself 1/16"-1/8" extra material.

7- Get yourself a cheap set of metal files (~$15-$50)

8- Slowly file away the excess material using a rough file - file up until a fraction of an inch away from your black lines.[5]

9- Step up to a finer metal file, clean the last bit of your edge down to the black line.

10- Get some 400 grit sandpaper and sand the edge - leaving a smooth finish.

10.5- *optional* Do any final bending, if your part requires bending. Also drill your holes now (do this last because, if you mess up the part during cutting, drilling is one less step to have to repeat).

11- Test fit

12- Make any necessary changes

13- Test fit again

14- Don't remove the tape until you're absolutely certain the part is done.[6]

NOTES:
[1]-I like to use 2-layers of tape, I find that if the Dremel slips 1-layer wont save your surface while 2-layers usually will. Also it will be more durable to clamping if you need to bend your part.

[1]-I like to use 3M's blue painters tape - it leaves very little residue and the glue reacts very well to the extreme heat created with the Dremel grinding the metal - the cheap stuff leaves residue where the glue got hot.

[2]-When drawing your cuts make sure to clearly identify erroneous markings, and scribble them out. I can't tell you how many times I've prepared a part and still ended up cutting the wrong line.

[3]-If you press lightly but firmly you'll make your Dremel disks last longer - forcing the cuts will burn them off like butter.

[4]-The biggest reason I like to use a flexishaft is that if Dremel slips and jumps across the surface of the panel -scratching it while it goes- it's very had to stop abruptly (see: inertia). The flexishaft makes a quick reflex recovery easier, and it makes tight details more manageable.

[5]-Be careful using a half-round file in the corners because you'll be prone to removing too much material there. To prevent having small bumps in your corners make sure you have a SQUARE file for use there, and having a couple different triangular files is good for odd angle corners.

[5]-For long perfectly straight edges clamp the panel in a vice between two straight edges - file all the was until your flush against these edges, then sand.

[6]-I don't usually remove the tape until my mod is complete, there's nothing worse than a new project covered in surface scratches.

==================
For an example of fine hand-crafted aluminum please see project: CygnusX1 - by oldnewby. In his log he takes you though some very good protocol for hand forming aluminum panels; he also offer a lot of great advice with fantastic pictures. I'm positive seeing his work (following a very similar method to my guide above) will inspire a new level of precision in your metal fabrication.
==================

That's all for now. Until next time - Happy Modding.

-Jesse
Langer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2009, 09:43 AM   #30
lloop9

dudes, why not ask metal shops if they will laser cut for you? AMK ind park has a couple of metal shops wif laser cutting service, just a suggestion...