Computers and Internet - Hardware
News and Media - IT Media
Computer & Internet - Net Communities & Chat

Go Back   www.hardwarezone.com.sg > Lifestyle > The "Makan" Zone
Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Old 05-04-2009, 09:51 AM   #1
maximmaxim

Exclamation what constitutes authentic Thai food

I've recently chanced upon a Thai restaurant just opposite tiong bahru market next to 7-11 that serves what i regard as authentic tom yam soup.

tom yam soup is pretty much a family affair prepared with fresh herbs/spices together with any available meat.

it's truly different from any tom yam i've tried, each bowl is painstakingly prepared and not your usual scoop from a big pot of 'tom yam'

so what does authentic Thai food means to you?
maximmaxim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 03:02 PM   #2
Theatre_of_Dreams

the colour of the tom yum soup shud be clear and not red..

and it is more towards sour than spicy

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?p=43208435
Theatre_of_Dreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 06:11 PM   #3
Your email is indicated as inactive.
Pls update your email now.
Click here for solution.
travmufc

cheap and good...with lots of lemon grass, bean sprouts, ginger etc...

do you rec that thai restaurant? whats the name?
travmufc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 06:39 PM   #4
Beta_Tester

there one at central square.. dunno move to where liao.. they have their own brand of spice,and such.. very homely boss.. i eat until can otang one week pay once..lol..

whole kitchen run by thais.. the curry they dun premake it.. everything or almost everything on the spot make.

Celestina
Beta_Tester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 08:26 PM   #5
maximmaxim

Thumbs up Sabaaidee Thai cuisine

The tom yam they serve is really authentic, the soup is not the usual RED stuff you get but rather very light milky coloured soup, the common ingredients like lemon grass, red chilli padi are freshly added to prepare each bowl of tom yam. AND yes! the taste is slightly more sourish than spicy at first taste , but the longer you let the soup sit, the hotter it gets.

it's call Sabaaidee Thai cuisine, it's a family restaurant with Thai chef

layout: simple 'ikea' furnishing, full air-conditioned, ideal for meal with some good friends & family

tele: 62244992 (evening dinner can get really crowded between 630-830pm

price: regular eatery price between $4(eg. Thai fish cake) - $18(eg. steamed fish-sea bass)

other good stuff: green curry, olive fried rice, steam fish(value for money)

add: blk58 seng poh road, its opp tiong bahru market where the escalator is..its located next to 7-11

the link to the location
http://www.streetdirectory.com/asia_...el_site_11763/
Old 05-04-2009, 09:25 PM   #6
bigbadber

thanks for sharing!
bigbadber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 12:06 AM   #7
pinko_dinko

if thai cooks cook it, it means authentic thai food..... ?
Old 06-04-2009, 12:08 AM   #8
ceecookie

What about pineapple fried rice(literally served on half-pineapple)?

ceecookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 04:00 PM   #9
Theatre_of_Dreams

Quote:
Originally Posted by ceecookie
What about pineapple fried rice(literally served on half-pineapple)?
haha a lot of pineapple rice also serve in the half cut pineapple..

Old 06-04-2009, 08:20 PM   #10
maximmaxim

the halfcut pineapple is like a prop that the stall will reuse over & again~ sometime i rather not see my pineapple rice in that..imagine how many days have they been reusing this
Old 07-04-2009, 09:47 AM   #11
Theatre_of_Dreams

Quote:
Originally Posted by maximmaxim
the halfcut pineapple is like a prop that the stall will reuse over & again~ sometime i rather not see my pineapple rice in that..imagine how many days have they been reusing this
yup agree.. dunno they got wash the pineapple and reuse or not..

Old 07-04-2009, 07:32 PM   #12
maximmaxim

where do you usually go for good thai food n why

Quote:
Originally Posted by Theatre_of_Dreams
yup agree.. dunno they got wash the pineapple and reuse or not..
Old 07-04-2009, 08:17 PM   #13
Theatre_of_Dreams

Quote:
where do you usually go for good thai food n why
if i were to go for thai food in SG, i usually goes to Thai Express or Lemongrass..

but i frequent BKK, and the nearest that SG restaurants can match the authentic thai food is the above 2.

Old 07-04-2009, 11:22 PM   #14
bigbadber

Quote:
The tom yam they serve is really authentic, the soup is not the usual RED stuff you get but rather very light milky coloured soup, the common ingredients like lemon grass, red chilli padi are freshly added to prepare each bowl of tom yam. AND yes! the taste is slightly more sourish than spicy at first taste , but the longer you let the soup sit, the hotter it gets.

it's call Sabaaidee Thai cuisine, it's a family restaurant with Thai chef

layout: simple 'ikea' furnishing, full air-conditioned, ideal for meal with some good friends & family

tele: 62244992 (evening dinner can get really crowded between 630-830pm

price: regular eatery price between $4(eg. Thai fish cake) - $18(eg. steamed fish-sea bass)

other good stuff: green curry, olive fried rice, steam fish(value for money)

add: blk58 seng poh road, its opp tiong bahru market where the escalator is..its located next to 7-11

the link to the location
http://www.streetdirectory.com/asia_...el_site_11763/

quite bad reviews leh
2 bad reviews:

http://www.hungrygowhere.com/singapo..._thai_cuisine/

no wonder it looked pretty empty from outside
bigbadber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 12:30 AM   #15
idiort

i like lemon grass.. but partly because i got 20% discount card also.. lol..

always patronise the heeren outlet bloody long ago.. now its at southg buona vista and the east there..
idiort is offline   Reply With Quote