Computers and Internet - Hardware
News and Media - IT Media
Computer & Internet - Net Communities & Chat

Go Back   www.hardwarezone.com.sg > InfoTech Clinics > Optical Storage Clinic
Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Old 07-09-2005, 11:08 AM   #46
Parka

Thanks. No wonder mine scanned so slowly.

Here's the ones scanned at 8x. The first(below) is still the same disc as the first one on my previous post (that one with 69 points). Now at 8x, it has 90 points! Don't know what that means.

The one below is burnt on 4th Sep 04. Quality score of 49 points.

And this one here whose media code is Philips C16 has a score of 93. Managed to burn at 16x around 3 minutes. (This DVD was packaged with the burner as a freebie)

Parka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2005, 01:12 PM   #47
Soon__

Finally my turn... so fast... 6 months liao...

Here is the info:
Brand: Sigma 8X DVD+R
Code: CMC Mag E01
Speed: 2.4X, 4X, 8X
Date bought: At march expo...PC Show I think
Shop: ATF Multimedia
Price: $18 for 25 spindle
Storage: Place back to the CakeBox after burning. Might left disc in DVD Drive for 1 or more days.
Score:

Soon__ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2005, 09:43 PM   #48
MacClipper

wah, Sigma media durability seems sibeh tok kong also. I still won't buy it though... lol

Pls PM me at VRZ, unsolicited HWZ PM may not be replied.
MacClipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2005, 01:40 PM   #49
MacClipper

2004 burn, can't remember which month now - Evermedia 4x -R media, amazingly passed transfer test still so data is intact somehow.

Old 08-09-2005, 02:22 PM   #50
AS1

Will you be doing a test on Sony DVD-R 16x?

My 1643B cant do the tests above.
Old 08-09-2005, 04:50 PM   #51
MacClipper

Don't have any Sony 16x -R and not intending to get any so unless you can spare me a few pieces for testing... lol.

Reason - ATM, I don't think 16x media is worth the money over 8x@16x media. MCC004, RicohR03 have both been disappointments when compared to their 8x brothers in terms of quality and bang per buck.

Old 08-09-2005, 05:06 PM   #52
MacClipper

March 2005 but bought 2004 (the early pink batch, not red), Pinkie Mit MCC003 +R 8x@16x no WOPC - just found this interesting disc cos it was burned beyond spec at 16x (2x specs) and without WOPC, still surviving. Thought I scan this today instead of trying to locate it again till it is exactly past 6 months old.

Old 08-09-2005, 05:21 PM   #53
MacClipper

March 2005, burned same period as disc above while doing overspeed no WOPC burn testing for the DW1620 firmware. A survivor but QS loses out to the Pinkie MCC003.

Old 08-09-2005, 07:26 PM   #54
Soon__

LOL... Me poor... dare not risk on high-end DVD disc... at most Ricoh nia. BTW, what the real meaning of "Tok Kong"?

Meanwhile, let me brainwash you somemore, MacClipper.

Quite a lot of PI Failures but none shoot over 10.

Man... this guy's PI Failure is so far the least of all my these 6month scans...

Ok lah... 1 more week and they will be 6 months old...

Last edited by Soon__ : 08-09-2005 at 07:33 PM.
Old 09-09-2005, 12:21 AM   #55
MacClipper

Heheh, how's the label surface of those Sigmas? Those I have seen really CMI. Since you are into CMC media, here's an Imation CMC burned ~6 months back.

March 2005, Imation CMC MAG AE1 8x +R,

Old 09-09-2005, 12:59 PM   #56
AS1

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacClipper
Don't have any Sony 16x -R and not intending to get any so unless you can spare me a few pieces for testing... lol.

Reason - ATM, I don't think 16x media is worth the money over 8x@16x media. MCC004, RicohR03 have both been disappointments when compared to their 8x brothers in terms of quality and bang per buck.
How many Sony 16x DVD-R you need?

How you prefer it sent?
Old 09-09-2005, 01:02 PM   #57
MacClipper

Let me ask instead, why Sony 16x media? IMO, not worth the cost unless you can get it cheap.

Old 10-09-2005, 06:58 AM   #58
karangguni

Quote:
Let me ask instead, why Sony 16x media? IMO, not worth the cost unless you can get it cheap.
Last I looked, Sony 16x DVD+/-R discs were going at 5 for $6 with jewel cases at Fonny. This is the MIJ stuff with Accucore. That seemed to be pretty cheap to me so I bought the +R version to try.
karangguni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2005, 11:31 AM   #59
Soon__

Quote:
Heheh, how's the label surface of those Sigmas? Those I have seen really CMI. Since you are into CMC media, here's an Imation CMC burned ~6 months back.

March 2005, Imation CMC MAG AE1 8x +R,
Imation ones doesn't seem to be very premuim as they projected to...

Yet, Just sort out some Oldies CDRs... most of them made in japan, including Imation, Ricoh... etc...

Refering to those 8X CDRs, not DVDs...

Old 17-09-2005, 06:11 PM   #60
LiangZzZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by karangguni
Last I looked, Sony 16x DVD+/-R discs were going at 5 for $6 with jewel cases at Fonny. This is the MIJ stuff with Accucore. That seemed to be pretty cheap to me so I bought the +R version to try.
Hey that's quite cheap though, for the fact that Sony 8X discs are going at $1 per disc in cakeboxes. BTW what actually is Accucore? I have Sony CD-Rs and DVD+Rs and they all have these abstract names like Accucore and Supremas thing...
LiangZzZ is offline   Reply With Quote