Indonesia
GameAxis® Online
Carma Online

RHEL4
Click to see hardwarezone.com Alexa Rating

Computers and Internet - Hardware
News and Media - IT Media
Computer & Internet - Net Communities & Chat

Go Back   www.hardwarezone.com.sg > InfoTech Clinics > Internet Bandwidth & Networking Clinic
Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Old 27-09-2005, 09:24 PM   #1
richneo

Thumbs up D-Link Gaming Router DGL-4300 Impressive!

After some considerations and saving up, i decided to give D-Link's Gaming Router DGL-4300 a shot.

I do massive file transfers between my laptop, desktop and my brother's laptop.
All of which are running on Gigabit port except my brother's laptop which is running on DWL-G650 Super G card.

package comes with 5dBi antenna!

Last edited by richneo : 27-09-2005 at 10:01 PM.
richneo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2005, 09:24 PM   #2
richneo

I started off with NETIQ's benchmark.

1 Laptop is running G650 connected to 108Mbps to the router at a distance 5 meters away from router in my room. 1 Desktop is connected to wired LAN with a 20 meters lan cable at the living room.

Having a gigabit port on my new fujitsu s7020 laptop and my ASUS P4P800SE mobo, im very eager to test out the gigabit throuhput. Below is the test result.

Old 27-09-2005, 09:25 PM   #3
richneo

Like uncle trichard, i tried some bit torrenting. I am running MOL 6500. Below is the screen shot. Hope im not as boasting.

I decided to try out if D-Link's Gamefuel works. I turned on gamefuel in the settings and continued doing torrenting. I launched VOIP test from http://www.testyourvoip.com
I can say, the results is pretty impressive.

Last edited by richneo : 27-09-2005 at 09:49 PM.
Old 27-09-2005, 09:25 PM   #4
richneo

Darn Chio!!

I'm very very impressed with this monster!!!

Picture speaks a thousand words....
Old 27-09-2005, 09:59 PM   #5
VodkaDevil

wahhh laooooo power xiaaaaa, 5dbi Ant ar?? i think my world of warcraft need this man!!! wonder how much is this? if its below 200SG will go and get one!! my router now......... X brand really cannot make it... ohh yah i think the blue LED and black casing is cool match my PC and of coz my PS2 hahahhahahahahahahahhaha
VodkaDevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2005, 10:01 PM   #6
hangyong

Quote:
Originally Posted by VodkaDevil
wahhh laooooo power xiaaaaa, 5dbi Ant ar?? i think my world of warcraft need this man!!! wonder how much is this? if its below 200SG will go and get one!! my router now......... X brand really cannot make it... ohh yah i think the blue LED and black casing is cool match my PC and of coz my PS2 hahahhahahahahahahahhaha
you can forget it then... its selling at $279 ah! damn expensive man....
Old 27-09-2005, 10:16 PM   #7
richneo

Quote:
Originally Posted by hangyong
you can forget it then... its selling at $279 ah! damn expensive man....
hahaha u rich lar.. can afford cisco... i envy...
Old 27-09-2005, 10:18 PM   #8
ooops

You tested everything except playing online games thru it lei!

Can u test the online gaming part, wired n wireless, concurrently with the rest of your tests?..
ooops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2005, 10:24 PM   #9
richneo

Quote:
Originally Posted by ooops
You tested everything except playing online games thru it lei!

Can u test the online gaming part, wired n wireless, concurrently with the rest of your tests?..
i dun play wow leh.. i oni play Maple.. but maple traffic not heavy wor...

maybe i ask my neighbour to access my gaming router and test gaming.
Old 27-09-2005, 10:33 PM   #10
SamuelGoh21

Quote:
Originally Posted by richneo
i dun play wow leh.. i oni play Maple.. but maple traffic not heavy wor...

maybe i ask my neighbour to access my gaming router and test gaming.
Hmm... WCG is here maybe you can supply for the gaming using wireless..
Maybe your are right to get my neighbour to join me for a game..
Old 27-09-2005, 10:55 PM   #11
DOMHO7

Talking

Looks impressive
Old 28-09-2005, 09:46 AM   #12
hell_master

I got play WOW but i never take screenshot yet lol.
I also using this router.
Wow i never realise the thru put so power lol.
Everyday pa game la bo eng do BT or limewire etc somemore dunno wat to download also.
But seriously speaking i play two online games before and both need to pay one is RYL2 and now is WOW.
RYL2 when i play with ordinary router hor will lag lo.Tamade change back to gaming router bo lag at all.In that malaysian game www.ryl2.com.my alot of ppl in there complaining abt lag n lag.I never complain before cos i can see that if it start to lag mostly is due to the server side.Once everyone in the game start to shout lag i will know its not my router problem anymore and its the game server lag.Even when i start to lag like hell i will change to using pure modem to test whether my router got problem or game server got problem.
In WOW the same thing.I got one time i got 16000ms of latency and i thought my router got problem change to pure modem den realise is the server that is lagging.I seriously never know wat is lag using this gaming router its worth my money.My sister using wireless doing downloading all these i never experience abit of nuisance also cos most routers when you do downloading and playing game online you will experience bad latency.I using Pacific net by the way so maybe later i go home and play get a screenshot.
hell_master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2005, 09:54 AM   #13
richneo

Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuelGoh21
Hmm... WCG is here maybe you can supply for the gaming using wireless..
Maybe your are right to get my neighbour to join me for a game..
u kidding la...

i poor student where got like u earn big bucks...

took me so long to saved enuff just to buy this impressive gaming router not to mentioned still have the repay my uni school fees and the study loans i've taken....

where got money to supply to WCG?
Old 28-09-2005, 03:11 PM   #14
PaLmEr

Quote:
Originally Posted by richneo
Darn Chio!!

I'm very very impressed with this monster!!!

Picture speaks a thousand words....
It'd better be considering the price compared to the other routers on the market.
PaLmEr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2005, 04:21 PM   #15
hell_master

By the way this one got lifetime warranty bo.
D Link imply that wireless router is lifetime warranty.
If its lifetime warranty my money is worth a lifetime too leh
MANA BO HUA LEH LOL
hell_master is offline   Reply With Quote