Indonesia
GameAxis® Online
Carma Online

RHEL4
Click to see hardwarezone.com Alexa Rating

Computers and Internet - Hardware
News and Media - IT Media
Computer & Internet - Net Communities & Chat

Go Back   www.hardwarezone.com.sg > Special Interest Groups > Design & Visual Art Gallery SiG
Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Old 09-11-2007, 08:05 PM   #1
zilicon

Designers on strike

After tolerating for many weaks the poor work conditions and unworthy rewards, things got to a point where us designers even have to work over Deepavali, us designer and freelancers have decided to unleash a monster strike. Having to deal daily with calls to do peanut projects, even have to lift that busy fingers to do the wasteful task of rejecting jobs that are ridiculously low or ridiculous deadlines, it was just too much....

Just warning to all you out there. Next weeks on, the jobs coming your way are going to pile high, heavy and as long as it takes until you break. So do not blame us strikers. Those who will suffer are agencies and of course the peanut workers. good luck.
zilicon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 12:22 AM   #2
popdod

Forget take medicine ah?

popdod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 02:03 AM   #3
Mars Ranger

another poor designer bite the dust (go nut). I think my turn not far behind.
Old 10-11-2007, 04:55 AM   #4
Adelhette

Quote:
Originally Posted by zilicon
After tolerating for many weaks the poor work conditions and unworthy rewards, things got to a point where us designers even have to work over Deepavali, us designer and freelancers have decided to unleash a monster strike. Having to deal daily with calls to do peanut projects, even have to lift that busy fingers to do the wasteful task of rejecting jobs that are ridiculously low or ridiculous deadlines, it was just too much....

Just warning to all you out there. Next weeks on, the jobs coming your way are going to pile high, heavy and as long as it takes until you break. So do not blame us strikers. Those who will suffer are agencies and of course the peanut workers. good luck.
hearing all these i guess it's yet another sweat shop neh .. . find another place nah
Adelhette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 02:40 PM   #5
rayzong

change a new enviroment
rayzong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 02:47 PM   #6
SlimShadee

Quote:
... So do not blame us strikers....
So which football team you guys from?

Mai bo liao lah.
Not happy just quit lor.
Find another agency.
Strike for what? Your point will never get across.
3 things are always certain in life. Death, Taxes, and designers who work for peanuts.
SlimShadee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 05:34 PM   #7
popdod

Life is oledi very tough, don't make your job any tougher.

popdod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 08:03 PM   #8
flyer_king

Hi, the ideal rate for flyers both side should be minimum $50-$100 depending on complexity.

How much do you charge?

Quote:

Old 10-11-2007, 10:08 PM   #9
IS5IVE

If your unhappy with your work then as mention by others, change company and/or speak to your company's HR and management in regards of this issue.

It's not like 70s or 80s, going on strike is useless and it'll look bad in your resume as, if the potential employer gives your ex employer a call.. I doubt it'll be bad. Otherwise you can't state your current job into your resume which will be a lost and time wasted.

Designers who complain about working for peanuts is like buying a knife and slit his own throat then ask why is he bleeding. No one can force you to work for peanuts, if you choose to take on a project with a limited budget, then don't complain.

Either way good luck to you and your idea of striking will just show how unprofessional you are.
IS5IVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 12:05 AM   #10
ItWasntMe

i thought its just a humour post on a make-believe situation news report?
Old 11-11-2007, 04:00 AM   #11
Your email is indicated as inactive.
Pls update your email now.
Click here for solution.
moveyon

Quote:

welcome to sillypore!
moveyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 07:15 PM   #12
GreenTeaIsNice

hmmm i was wondering do designers in other countries earn more than singapore designers then?
Old 12-11-2007, 12:46 AM   #13
Mars Ranger

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreenTeaIsNice
hmmm i was wondering do designers in other countries earn more than singapore designers then?
not necessary more than us but every country situations is different. With the govt trying to market spore as a regional media hub, its unthinkable that singapore designers aren't earning what a usual white collar worker in singapore should be earning. Not saying that everyone is underpaid, alot of us are drawing rather decent paycheck but then as with every other industry, the only motivation for ppl to stay on the industry and produce better work is $$$, and with so many bosses having the mindset that designers will work to death for the same pay that their office boy is drawing just in the name of passion, very few ppl can really stay on the industry without wavering since switching line can get them better pay and more free time.
Old 12-11-2007, 03:32 PM   #14
b0h3mian_summer

Friend sent me this..supposedly dated nov 5th 2007, ST Classifieds

"GRAPHIC DESIGNER 2 - 3 yrs experience. $1.6K PR/S'porean only. Ubi Techpark. 6XXXXXXX."

2 - 3 years experience for $1.6K?!

PS: Lets go bang the wall!!~

Last edited by b0h3mian_summer : 12-11-2007 at 03:36 PM.
b0h3mian_summer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2007, 12:07 AM   #15
ItWasntMe

Quote:
Originally Posted by b0h3mian_summer
Friend sent me this..supposedly dated nov 5th 2007, ST Classifieds

"GRAPHIC DESIGNER 2 - 3 yrs experience. $1.6K PR/S'porean only. Ubi Techpark. 6XXXXXXX."

2 - 3 years experience for $1.6K?!

PS: Lets go bang the wall!!~
after >2 years of working as a grpahic designer, my pay was less that.
but i did learn a lot during my time at my prev company.
but in the end it all depends on how the company is doing and which direction they are heading.