Indonesia
GameAxis® Online
Carma Online

RHEL4
Click to see hardwarezone.com Alexa Rating

Computers and Internet - Hardware
News and Media - IT Media
Computer & Internet - Net Communities & Chat

Go Back   www.hardwarezone.com.sg > InfoTech Clinics > Internet Bandwidth & Networking Clinic
Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Old 08-01-2008, 10:49 PM   #1
ac3knight

Lightbulb [GPGT] StarHub Consolidated Complaints Thread [SCCT]

18th Jan Update:-
The intermittent, unable to surf the web problem seems to have improved.
However internet access is still very slow during peak hours.
Latency and ping response seem to be fine, but downstream speeds are slow.

-

I am creating this thread to consolidate complaints and negative feedback regarding StarHub's poor speeds.

The latest problem which has been going on for the past 2 or 3 months from October/November 2007 to January 2008, is an unpredictable and intermittent lag which does not allow you to surf the internet at all but yet, still enables you to use MSN Messenger or game online.

This 'lag-spike' is unpredictable and can occur at anytime such as in the afternoon, evening, and even at odd hours such as 2-3am which I have personally experienced before. The most common occurrence is from 7pm-10pm.

StarHub should stop offering free-gifts to lure consumers, and instead save all that money buying better equipment.

I have consolidated several of the more outstanding complaints below which have attracted more replies, some of which date back to May 2007. If you have any major complaints, start a separate thread and if it garners sufficient attention, I will link to it from here.

Problematic throughputs:-

***MaxOnline Premium (12Mbps):-***

Note the throughput towards the end is forced into a converging and decreasing single line. This is the sign of a bottleneck.
Too many suscribers? Insufficient bandwidth? Your guess is as good as mine.

- VS -

SingNet (10000kbps Unlimited Plan):-

Throughput without bottleneck, the San Jose and Texas lines are separate, distinct, and are not converging.

***MaxOnline Express (6Mbps):-***

- VS -

SingNet (6000kbps Unlimited Plan):-

Didn't bother to put Starhub 30mbps, SingNet 10000kbps beats it easily..
In fact it looks even WORSE than the Starhub 12mbps plan!

Complaints (Newest First)
  1. Is this causing the STARHUB MOL "intermittent unable to surf webpages" problem?
  2. Starhub internet problem
  3. Anyone having website problem with MOL?
  4. SH slowing to a crawl?
  5. Gamers upset about sluggish broadband speed
  6. After fugshub upgrade... can u feel the speed?
  7. stupid ass starfug rag again..
  8. HELP!!! My MaxOnline Premium Very Slow Leh?!
  9. Starhub MaxOnline Express Connection Intermittent
  10. Why starhub so wols
  11. Starhub speed issue
  12. Starhub Got Problem?
  13. WAHH...Starhub very lagg...
  14. felt CHEATED by Starhub & BAD Customer Services & They CAN'T do anything about it
  15. STARHUB = MASS PORT BLOCKER !!!
  16. Starhub maxonline in crawling state from 1930 to 2330
  17. Why IDA not doing anything about the slow broadband speed?
  18. starfug loadin slow like fug
  19. Starhub replied my angry email
  20. LAGHUB IS ACTIVATED!!!!!
  21. wah buey tahan liaoz... starhub users plz help speedtest
  22. WHAT IS WRONG WITH STARHUB???
  23. Slow Starhub BB
  24. Is Starhub misleading customers with its fat green pipe ?
  25. Starhub speed
  26. Starhub internet speed ridiculously slow

Comparisons from users who have switched over to SingNet
  1. My results: StarHub vs Singnet
  2. Good bye Starhub. Paying you cash to continue contract
  3. Very Happy convert from SH MAXONLINE to Singnet

The permanent JOKE OF THE DAY!
  1. StarHub MaxOnline has improved after complaining to IDA

Last edited by ac3knight : 18-01-2008 at 09:34 AM.
ac3knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2008, 11:08 PM   #2
Bardiel

moi ish sappork chiu.

farm man. i premium user. 12k speed? BULL ****.

surf net also lag
download patch also lag
game. don mention anymore. i got dc 8 times a day in battlefield 2 singapore frag server

knn. can go CASE n complain anot? i feel like terminate my line. THEY NV GIVE THE CUSTOMER WAD THEY STATED. CHEATING OUR MONEY OR WAD.
Old 08-01-2008, 11:35 PM   #3
ac3knight

its the congestion... they are not doing anything about it and they think its our problem..

maybe they should really go and do proper maintenance for once and troubleshoot all their problems.
Old 09-01-2008, 12:06 AM   #4
mikeeeey

MOL Premium

it feels like dial up sometimes. and the speed they promised were never delivered.
mikeeeey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 12:12 AM   #5
mikeeeey

but then again, what can you do with this consolidation?

do u think they will come and read, and lastly, even care?
mikeeeey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 12:43 AM   #6
avanade

i seriously wonder is it because they allow hubstation user to surf internet using their set top.

because seems like eversince the hubstation was used, the problems started to surface.
avanade is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 12:52 AM   #7
deadsoul79

ultimate user here.....yet i am using singtel's bbom to post this. dunno why suddenly down at t.pagar area.
deadsoul79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 06:38 AM   #8
reson90

Nice 1 TS! ... Ultimate user here too i have no idea what starhub doing, always tell me no problem end up after awhile having problem and tell me when have the problem do a traceroute and bandwidth test and send them, while im behind a router >.> so user unfriendly
reson90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 09:10 AM   #9
ac3knight

if u are experiencing the new problems, like randomly not being able to surf but still being able to use msn and play online games, traceroute won't help u detect anything cos it still works.. the browser does make connection to the websites, it just refuses to load after that, and it is happening to everyone else!

i heard problems in early november were caused by maintenance on a spoilt underground-cable but don't know it its true..
Old 09-01-2008, 12:44 PM   #10
carey

Quote:
Originally Posted by ac3knight
if u are experiencing the new problems, like randomly not being able to surf but still being able to use msn and play online games, traceroute won't help u detect anything cos it still works.. the browser does make connection to the websites, it just refuses to load after that, and it is happening to everyone else!

i heard problems in early november were caused by maintenance on a spoilt underground-cable but don't know it its true..
Yes, more likely it is a timeout...

Traceroute is not affected cos we can still connect but the loading is taking so long that sometimes the browser returns with the error "page not found"...

Downloading of stuff like patches take forever - very often it is 12k or less

And don't even get me started on streaming video...watching them on youtube is akin to watching old fashion start-stop animation...
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 01:01 PM   #11
Zhi

Zhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 02:30 PM   #12
ricko_tee

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zhi
I post rock!

Ultimate user here. I doubt it will work but i guess i will give it a try as i have absolutly no other choice.

Ultimate user here.
LOADS of problem at peak hour.
Old 09-01-2008, 02:54 PM   #13
keiiii

Encounter problem surfing from 8pm-1am every night since Nov. It's like using a 33.6k modem. Pages never get to load be it local or international. Calling Customer Service is like talking to the wall cause you get the same explanation every time, do some tracert, find no problem then point it to the user's problem instead of the infastructure.

If Starhub is not gonna solve our connectivity problem, who IS?

Premium User - Jurong East

Last edited by keiiii : 09-01-2008 at 04:59 PM.
keiiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 04:25 PM   #14
hackson

Come to think about it,
It seem avanade is right,
Traffics starts to congest eversince they intro topbox surf.

Btw can those users experiences problem state the area you live?

Premium User - Woodland Ave 3
hackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 07:43 PM   #15
bloke2529

Express User - Jurong West Ave 1
bloke2529 is offline   Reply With Quote