NOTEBOOK
OPTICAL STORAGE
STORAGE
MOBILE PHONE
NOKIA ZONE
Members Services

Latest Articles

NVIDIA's Optimus Technology - Best of Both Worlds

The Ultra Battle: 7 Intel CULV Notebooks Fight it Out!
 > The Budget P55 - Jetway Kuroshio BI-700
 > HWM+HardwareZone.com Tech Awards 2010 & Reader's Choice Results
 > A VAIO to Lust For: Sony VAIO Spring Launch!
 > Olympus' New E-PL1 Micro Four Thirds and Tough Cameras
  More Articles >>      

My HardwareZone

Set as My Homepage
Add to My Favorites

Hardware Zone Networks

www.hardwarezone.com®
   HardwareZone Singapore
   HardwareZone Malaysia
   HardwareZone Philippines
   HardwareZone Thailand
   HardwareZone Australia
HardwareMAG®
   Singapore
   Malaysia
   Thailand
   Philippines
   Indonesia
GameAxis® Online
Carma Online

RHEL4
Click to see hardwarezone.com Alexa Rating

Computers and Internet - Hardware
News and Media - IT Media
Computer & Internet - Net Communities & Chat

Go Back   www.hardwarezone.com.sg > InfoTech Clinics > Internet Bandwidth & Networking Clinic
Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Old 08-07-2008, 04:31 PM   #1
AT

Wiring up a HDB for wall LAN pts

Hi Guys,

Could forumers here perhaps give me some insights into wiring up a 5 rm flat with wall mounted LAN points. Looking at wiring up 1 LAN point each in each room and maybe 2 points in the living room, 1 in kitchen, 1 in store room. Likely to use CAT 5e or 6 (recommended?) Any hardware specifics I should be aware off? My home network will probabkly go along these lines:
1. Cable Modem->WAN port of Gigabit router (wireless N with 4 RJ45 ports)
2. Gigabit router port 1->Gigabit switch (16 port Gb switch)
3. All the wall points lay CAT 5e (or 6??) cables to the Gb switch, do I need a patch panel here or direct connect to switch?

I have heard that to get true gigabit speeds, all my components should be 'matched' not too sure what that means, but I am thinking wall points, cables, patch panels, terminations must be of the same standard.... what standard need advice here

Also perhaps recommendations on contractors that is knowledgble in wiring up these things, don't want those part-time electricians this can that can type anyhow hantam one... hehe

TIA.
AT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 01:30 AM   #2
albertchng

Gigabit(gb) speed only in home network, the bottlenexk still your cable modem, provided all your network cards are gigabit(gb) enabled.
albertchng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 01:39 AM   #3
liangtam

u ish lich~ 16p gb switch is sexpensive!!!

My WTS Thread [Indoor TV Antenna] *click*
liangtam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 01:47 AM   #4
albertchng

Quote:
Originally Posted by liangtam
u ish lich~ 16p gb switch is sexpensive!!!
yeah & all the over-the-shelve routers come with 4 ports of 10/100mb, his cable modem maxed at 25mb(ultimate plan).
albertchng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 07:27 AM   #5
AT

Thanks for the inputs.

I am aware that I can only achieve gb speed in the LAN and not with the WAN (cable modem/internet), provided that my PC all have gb NICs.

For 16 port gb switch, can it be gotten for $100+ ?

What the cabling part, what are the things I need to look out for? should I go CAT 5E or 6

thanks
Old 09-07-2008, 07:35 AM   #6
quekky

since you are rewiring, can i suggest to put 2 or more wall plugs in each room, each of which u can plug in either RJ45 or RJ11. the wires runs to a breakout box in the storeroom. That way you can choose which wall you want to have telephone or lan. i know some condos are doing that

Sometimes in furture you may want to have a network printer in your room, if you only got 1 plug then u need another switch
quekky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 08:59 AM   #7
megaweb

I think 8-port switch is good enough.

8-port Gigabit Switch
||||||||
|||||||+-- Living Room LAN 1
||||||+--- Living Room LAN 2
|||||+---- Masterbed room LAN
||||+----- Room 1 LAN
|||+------ Room 2 LAN
||+------- Kitchen LAN
|+-------- Storeroom LAN
+--------- Spare

Where do you intend to deploy this switch ? Ensure there is a power socket nearby as the switch need power source.
megaweb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 09:25 AM   #8
Your email is indicated as inactive.
Pls update your email now.
Click here for solution.
Ashuras_AO

I did something like this for my place. 1 Point in each room to my store, 2 points from masterbedroom to store.

You don't need a patch panel.

I used the normal faceplates even in the storeroom, so if u intend to put 2 points in each room, it can get quite 'big', keke (even for those 4 point square faceplates).

The problem with this setup is that I cannot use wireless router switches as the storeroom (which is also bomb shelter) blocks all the signals. Have to drag one access point outside. But since u're using a Gb Switch, then it should be fine.

BTW, if u want to achieve Gb speed, then all your components need to be Gb level, from the cable, to patching, to network cards. Anything along the way not up to standard = drop in speed.

It's quite fun, and the Renovation contractor's electrician was quite intrigued with what I wanted him to do. (i.e. lay the cables parallel and leave the points at the faceplates for me to punch myself). I think normal electrical wires dun run this way
Ashuras_AO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 10:19 AM   #9
AT

Once again many thanks for the insights.

Excellent idea on the network printer part, so better put in 2 x LAN on each room, heard that telephone lines can run on RJ45? instead of RJ11? is that true?

Also, would really appreciate if got good electrician (CISCO certified ... hahaha joking) to recommend too, who know their stuff...

CAT%e of 6.... too ex for go CAT 6?

tia.
Old 09-07-2008, 10:34 AM   #10
queks

no need cat6. Use cat5e cable.

I wired up all my room and all point terminate in my study room (where my router, cable modem, printer, phone point all located at the same place.

Instead of patch panel, i am using normal faceplate.

rj45 can take rj11 jack. (Thats what i am using now).

I am only using a 4 port gb router cos not all rooms need to be connected. I only patch them up when necessary. (in fact, so far never need to patch them up unless got equipment need to be relocate).

I only ask contractor to lay cable and did my own terminate, cos he charge $70-$90 for a rj45 point where laying of cable only cos me $20 (my own cable).

Last edited by queks : 09-07-2008 at 10:38 AM.
queks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 11:08 AM   #11
liangtam

Quote:
Originally Posted by AT
Thanks for the inputs.

I am aware that I can only achieve gb speed in the LAN and not with the WAN (cable modem/internet), provided that my PC all have gb NICs.

For 16 port gb switch, can it be gotten for $100+ ?

What the cabling part, what are the things I need to look out for? should I go CAT 5E or 6

thanks
u know hor, 16p gb switch is really fugging sexpensive n cost $400 leh...

My WTS Thread [Indoor TV Antenna] *click*
liangtam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 11:27 AM   #12
leinad

Quote:
Originally Posted by liangtam
u know hor, 16p gb switch is really fugging sexpensive n cost $400 leh...
@liangtam, Depends on where you buy it la.

Hi AT... Didn't know you were wiring up your house. I did mine recently (myself, with dad) and have a rough idea. I didn't use Cat 6, though - was sure some of my existing home trunking would not fit the thicker Cat6 cables and I didn't want to have to redo trunking, which limited my cable choice.

For true GBE and for future-proofing, consider using Cat 6 cables instead of Cat 5e and buy proper GBE-capable equipment - your ports, your other stuff. Specifically request for it from the retailer - they know what to give you. As for the switch, I think you can get a 16 port for less than the $400 stated, but I think an 8 port (or daisy chaining 2 GBE 8 ports) will do fine - don't forget that your router would probably have GBE ports that you can also use.

/Dan
leinad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 11:35 AM   #13
megaweb

Ensure the switch support spanning tree and VLAN
Old 09-07-2008, 11:50 AM   #14
AT

Thanks queks for the tips, will take note.

liangtam, thanks for the heads up on the 16 port pricing, yeah you are right a little expensive for me, perhaps hooking up 2 x 8 port would be easier on the pocket as suggested by leinad (thanks).

Dang! Spanning tree and VLAN.... my networking very rusty! megaweb can help refresh why that's important in my setup TIA.
Old 09-07-2008, 01:17 PM   #15
megaweb

Quote:
Originally Posted by AT
Dang! Spanning tree and VLAN.... my networking very rusty! megaweb can help refresh why that's important in my setup TIA.
Most switches support spanning tree . As for VLAN, if you intend to use up all the ports for 1 network, you do not need it.