HardwareZone.com will be unavailable on 31st July (4am to 5am) and 2nd August (12mn to 10am) for scheduled maintenance.
(OK, don't show me again)
| Login | Register | FAQ | Mark Forums Read |
Is SMRT Citibank Visa "da CARD" now?
![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
#1 |
|
|
4.7~5% rebate for
Cold Storage, Carrefour, Giant, selected NTUC outlets and other leading supermarkets/hypermarkets Coffee Club, Dome Cafe, Olio Restaurant & Cafe, the coffee connoisseur (tcc), Starbucks Coffee, The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf, Gloria Jean's Coffees 1.7%~2% rebate for ez-link Auto Top-up transactions..... Seems a good replacement for POSB everyday card deneh........ ![]() This is currently my 3rd card after ONE card max out the $800 monthly expenses and when it make sense not to use HSBC card..... and FYI, the EZlink can be used to pay for HSBC CC bill hoh..... ![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
|
no........... dun like cards with rebates. prefer points.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
|
no........... dun like cards with rebates. prefer points. if you do aware, $10 f&b vouchers requires you to accumulate points with purchases up to $2K!!! with ONE card, it only cost me $300 to get back $10 lor.... ![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
|
Depends on whether you drive or take MRT.
You are not awarded cash rebates for the SMRT card. You are awarded SMRT$ that you convert to SMRT vouchers, which can only be used in a limited number of outlets plus EZ-link card itself. So good value for people who use Ez-link card everyday or like to patronise the limited number of outlets that accept smrt$. But note that NO REBATE for PETROL (as it's an SMRT card). For those that drive and prefer to pump ESSO, Citibank dividend would be preferable. Last edited by limster : 09-10-2008 at 10:41 AM. |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
|
4.7~5% rebate for just dun like the fact it isn't cash rebates, i have no use for vouchers |
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
|
points are worthless to me (and to most people).....cash rebate is practical and usually higher than your 0.5% points worth of "points"..... My DBS Black elite card give me 3pts for every 5 bucks spent.. so abt $0.83/air miles.. |
|
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
|
Depends on whether you drive or take MRT. Why wouldn't I be awarded for cash rebates? It's quite easy to spend $600 on EZlink what? pay HSBC bill already can hit that ![]() reddevil0728, MOST people dun fly......so the "points to fly" is quite worthless to us who dun travel so much via air lor....anyway, what's the actual value for for 1 air miles if you were to use cash to "buy" it? Last edited by sAxman_Returns : 09-10-2008 at 12:27 PM. |
|
|
|
|
|
#8 |
|
|
aiya, never read clearly? This is going to be my 3rd card lar....after HSBC, after ONEcard (if I need to pump petrol or until I max out the $800 spending per month) cuz from what i know the max value a ezlink card can hold is a hundred bucks rite? so let's say my hsbc bill this month is 800+ i have to do eight times payment with my ezlink card? assuming auto topup rite? where do u do this payment of bill using ezlink? |
|
|
|
|
|
#9 |
|
|
4.7~5% rebate for hi, will you be kind enough to point me to a link on where and how ezlink can be used to pay hsbc cc bill? i searched high and low only to find this thread , ![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
#10 |
|
|
7-eleven lar.....my home downstairs got 1, walk a bit got another 1 at the MRT, then at my work place, the MRT there also just opened a new one
If you do drive, most shell station cashier are outsourced to 7-eleven too.....yup, the troublesome part is to pay $40+ max per visit.....and need to fill up a form lor. Coz stupid auto-top up can only top up $50 each time.....minus off the 0.5% admin fee, you can still get back 1.5%. Not bad if you also cost in the HSBC useless point ![]() What I do is just get a stack of forms ready, as and when I want to take MRT, I just clear off the leftover balance in the card to pay HSBC bill, so I can top up my card when I enter the MRT gate. Last edited by sAxman_Returns : 09-10-2008 at 12:28 PM. |
|
|
|
|
|
#11 |
|
|
7-eleven lar.....my home downstairs got 1, walk a bit got another 1 at the MRT, then at my work place, the MRT there also just opened a new one and i take it that the auto top up can only kick in when you take mrt or bus, not at 7 eleven when you have insufficient value in card? meaning my 800 dollar cc bill i have to minus $40 at 7 eleven, spend the next $10.10 to let it auto topup (using transport) then repeat till my bill is fully paid? if so haha, ok thanks, maybe you should have mentioned about the admin fee too and this measure to get maximum returns, i salute you, but is too much hassle for me, thanks |
|
|
|
|
|
#12 |
|
|
not $40, it's usually close to $50 as it only auto top up at the entry point (if your card value is $0 or lesser), not exit point.
So you usually will left with $48.xx~$49.xx. And sorry lor....can't top up if it's not at SMRT gate.....![]() it's very troublesome, unless you do take MRT to work and there is a 7-11 just very near you That's why I told you I only use it as 3rd card and it's purely for the auto top up and to clear HSBC CC bill Other than that, it's quite on par with POSB Everyday card or better.....anyway, it's a simple work flow for me. too many 7-eleven near me already lol! Last edited by sAxman_Returns : 09-10-2008 at 12:36 PM. |
|
|
|
|
|
#13 |
|
|
not $40, it's usually close to $50 as it only auto top up at the entry point (if your card value is $0 or lesser), not exit point. didin't know such things could be done |
|
|
|
|
|
#14 |
|
|
K.M.T. if you have $800 bill to clear, why not use it on UOB ONE card? 3.33% cash rebate nia.....
|
|
|
|
|
|
#15 |
|
|
Hahaha... Saxman, you're good. Use SMRT Visa EZ-link function to pay HSBC bill, then earn from point from the $50 top-up.
![]() I have SMRT cards too... but then my HSBC bill usually hit above $1k every month. Top-up $50 each time to pay >$1k HSBC bill sure very sian. |
|
|
|
![]() |
|
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
|
|

If you do drive, most shell station cashier are outsourced to 7-eleven too.....
That's why I told you I only use it as 3rd card and it's purely for the auto top up and to clear HSBC CC bill