Note ah, it will not be an immediate exchange as we will need to send to taiwan and request for that particular number of RAM.
Please be patience..
So why can't Kingston send the replacement ram to you and we go down do 1 to 1? Have to make another trip to collect? Who will compensate? The value of the Ram dropping each day of waiting. Want to sell away also getting difficult each day. Surely your side got stocks of 9905428-010.A00LF to replace. Or Kingston send all non 9905428-010.A00LF version to Singapore? Mine is 9905428-001.B00LF. So need to change right? I got 4 sticks some more!!!
After this blunder, it is Kingston's responsibility to send replacement straight away. And not we send our "incompatible" ram to them and they send the replacement.
This is Kingston's reputation at stake. Anyhow claim the Ram is compatible when not all batch or type are. Still dare to stick KTA-MB1066 model on the Ram. Were they hoping that no problem will arise when not all Ram were tested?
Sorry, after the Dell saga (delay of monitor delivery) I had recently, my patience running thin in mistakes made by these so call reputed companies.
Please check your KTA module, for this number on a smaller sticker on the ram
One side is KTA-MB1066 the other sticker should be 9905428-010.A00LF.
if it is not than we will need you to bring down the ram for RMA for this particular number as this is tested to be working with macbook or macbook pro.
Sorry for the inconvienence caused.
peAce
BTW, they better make sure can work in the new Mac mini as well which they or Convergent claim!!! The Core 2 Duo version ones.
Sorry for posting so many posts at one time. But really feeling "hot" right now. Almost break the 4 sticks of ram into 8 pieces!
Please ask customer to update Machine with SMC - Version 1.33F8 and this should solve the issue.
peAce
Quote:
Originally Posted by Convergent_Tech
Chill guys,
Please check your KTA module, for this number on a smaller sticker on the ram
One side is KTA-MB1066 the other sticker should be 9905428-010.A00LF.
if it is not than we will need you to bring down the ram for RMA for this particular number as this is tested to be working with macbook or macbook pro.
Sorry for the inconvienence caused.
peAce
Questions questions and more questions
1) Kingston Helpdesk replied a solution, asking Macbook users to install an non-existing patch. Why?
2) So, now on second thought, Kingston and Convergent claim RAM with "9905428-010.A00LF" are the workable ones.
- Is Kingston trying to clear these some Lemon RAMs (9905428-010.B00LF) and never tell Convergent on the problematic issues and Convergent innocently go sell these "Premium Component", "100% Product Testing", "This MEMORY is specially designed and Guaranteed to work on your MAC SYSTEMS 100% Compatability" RAMs to consumers at IT Show 2009?
OR
- Convergent already know these RAMs have issues but purposely market it as "This MEMORY is specially designed and Guaranteed to work on your MAC SYSTEMS 100% Compatability" to clear the stock?
3) So which party is really doing the testing all along and who is making those 100% compatibility claims?
This episode really leave a bad taste, doubting the realibilty and creditibiliy of both Kingston and Convergent. You may lose just a small pie of Mac users' trust, but credibility don't look at brands.
Hope Convergent can really handle this matter fast and proper
It seems to me that everyone bought the 9905428-001.B00LF sticks at the PC show. I did. 2 of them, in fact. Any brothers out there actually bought the 9905428-010.A00LF from Convergent? If so, are you having any problems with hanging, stress test etc.
If not, it seems to me that Convergent was selling only 9905428-001.B00LF at the PC show and promoting it as compatible/made for the MAC. Innocently or deliberately? Someone from Convergent has to prove innocence. The sales person at the show as going on and on about how it was tested and tested with the unibody mac until they don't want t to test anymore.
Let's be fair to Convergent - I'm sure they'd rather not have these problems. But again, being fair to the consumer, I've heard from friends who bought the KTA RAM at the IT fair that the ales staff were pushing it quite extremely, similar to alpha123's experience above:
Quote:
Originally Posted by alpha123
The sales person at the show as going on and on about how it was tested and tested with the unibody mac until they don't want t to test anymore.
Let's be fair to Convergent - I'm sure they'd rather not have these problems.
/Dan
Hi Dan,
I never pinpoint a particular party for fault if you notice in my post. I am fielding my questions to both parties, except for Qn 1 as Convergent claimed its an answer from Kingston.
Why ask the RAM owner to install a non-existance update and then filp-flop saying another batch of RAM should work and 2 mths is all it takes to get an exchange? Isnt it obvious everyone is trying to push the blame to another party?
What really haps between Kingston and Convergent is really unknown to us. The solutions from Kingston really show their lack of professionalism and knowledge. What is promised by Convergent at IT Show doesn't hap to us. Convergent represent Kingston and selling their product at IT Show. That's why i feel its fair to field my questions addressing both parties, not just one.
Both parties' reputations are at stake. Its up to them to resolve this issue properly. If Convergent feels that Kingston is putting them in hot soup or vice versa, then they should really consider if the partnership should continue or not.
Don't penalized consumers due to your business decisions please.
Just sent in 2 sticks (each 2GB) of the KTA-MB1066 (9905428-010.B00LF) rams to Convergent.
The guy at the counter said it'll take about 2 ~ 4 weeks *sigh*
Hear liao also sian. Buy liao got problem, need to wait close to a month for replacement. By then, dunno how much the ram prices have dropped
Hope Convergent can get in a huge supply of 9905428-010.A00LF version so that we affected bros can start using our rams ASAP.
Hi
RAM pricing drop or not, i think its beyond our control.
The main concern should be getting workable RAM and get our work and life style going. I believe that's the main reason why most of us purchase the RAM - to make our machine run smoother.
If seriously talking abt loss, they cant compensate this one impt thing - time.
If kingston got ready stocks 1-2weeks, if dun have than no promises, but will not take more than 2months.
peAce
So Convergent, are the 9905428-010.A00LF rams using Elpida chips too? Or are they using Micron or Hynix chips?
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluefields
Just sent in 2 sticks (each 2GB) of the KTA-MB1066 (9905428-001.B00LF) rams to Convergent.
The guy at the counter said it'll take about 2 ~ 4 weeks *sigh*
And 2 to 4 weeks is a damn long wait. Meaning, everyone who go Convergent exchange also need to wait for 2 to 4 weeks?
So much for claiming "This MEMORY is specially designed and Guaranteed to work on your MAC SYSTEMS 100% Compatability", yet requiring customers to wait for so long to get the replacements.