News and Media - IT Media
Computer & Internet - Net Communities & Chat

Go Back   www.hardwarezone.com.sg > Lifestyle > Cars & Cars
Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Old 02-10-2009, 10:02 AM   #1
ngsoonle

Fuelling in JB

Hi, would like to know if anyone goes over to JB to refuel regularly?
I drove to JB for the first time last Sat and realized many Singapore cars topping up at the Shell station just after the Malaysian checkpoint.
I thought there are rules saying Singapore cars can only top up around 55km after the checkpoint?
Or are they disregarding the rules? Or are the 'rules' scrapped already?
One more question is what is a good time to go over during Sat and Sun just for refuelling? Maybe can add in some supper or whatever?
I stay in Woodlands so no excuse not to go right? Heehee..
Thanks for any help given!
ngsoonle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 10:13 AM   #2
cueball1981

I thto the 55km was remove?? The only rule is 3/4 tank full..
Old 02-10-2009, 10:14 AM   #3
ceecookie

In reality Customs dont mind 1/2 tank

ceecookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 10:49 AM   #4
chaotamianbao

Quote:
Originally Posted by ceecookie
In reality Customs dont mind 1/2 tank
erms when u say they dont mind, u mean they checked and see 1/2 its ok ?
chaotamianbao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 11:03 AM   #5
ceecookie

Quote:
Originally Posted by chaotamianbao
erms when u say they dont mind, u mean they checked and see 1/2 its ok ?
I mean they dont check some time

ceecookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 11:06 AM   #6
ngsoonle

My friend told me as long as between half to three quarter tank they generally ok one
Old 02-10-2009, 11:25 AM   #7
TheDarkKnight

55km rule is the stupid m'sia fickle minded

change here change there, juz like their white card shiit

in the end they simply raised the price, non-m'sian vehicles will pay unsubsidised petrol, no more distance rule

BUT, even at unsubsidised rate, still cheaper than SG.. so u can imagine how much the gov is taxing the petrol
Old 02-10-2009, 11:36 AM   #8
ngsoonle

One more thing I like about going there is the car wash. I get a crappy slipshod car wash at Caltex for around S$7.
Over there, it's RM$8 car wash including vacuuming. Pretty sweet...
Old 02-10-2009, 11:56 AM   #9
ramlee

if u go at 3 to 4 am on weekdays when Customs are not so alert, near empty tank also no problem.

Don't go during weekends, causeway jam.

Dun forget to shake your car to get more petrol in.

Last edited by ramlee : 02-10-2009 at 11:59 AM.
ramlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 11:58 AM   #10
Inix

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDarkKnight
55km rule is the stupid m'sia fickle minded

change here change there, juz like their white card shiit

in the end they simply raised the price, non-m'sian vehicles will pay unsubsidised petrol, no more distance rule

BUT, even at unsubsidised rate, still cheaper than SG.. so u can imagine how much the gov is taxing the petrol
Huh? Got unsubsidised meh? If you're talking about the more expensive fuel due to the recent raise in prices, thats because of the introduction of RON95 petrol.

Flown with me?

An impassionate plea to help a little girl. A poor little girl fighting for her life. She needs your support. Please click on her ads. this isn't a scam. Her Docs' letter is here. Have you click already?
Inix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 01:43 PM   #11
Cyberbaby

Guys, if you want to be hero and violate the rules of not having 3/4 tank rule, pls keep low profile and dun post it openly hor.

To Buy Or Not To Buy, This Is A Temptation
Cyberbaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 03:41 PM   #12
CNGpicnic

All petrol prices in JB are for anyone and everyone, no discrimination of who is Malaysian and who is not.

If anyone thinks its generally OK to have your fuel gauge between half and 3/4 tank markings, please pray for a lenient officer if checked, otherwise, its $500 fine and turn you back to top-up.

The distance rule exists but not enforced. Will you be surprised if you know the Shell petrol kiosk is owned by a prominent public figure in JB?

Check onemotoring website for updated images for Causeway and Tuas CP road jam conditions.
For weekdays:
Best time to go in JB between 10am to 3pm, and after midnight.
Best time to get out from JB is between 10am to 4.30pm, and after 1am.
Weekends: Try your luck, heng suay situation.
CNGpicnic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 04:09 PM   #13
kebinu

Quote:
Originally Posted by CNGpicnic
All petrol prices in JB are for anyone and everyone, no discrimination of who is Malaysian and who is not.

If anyone thinks its generally OK to have your fuel gauge between half and 3/4 tank markings, please pray for a lenient officer if checked, otherwise, its $500 fine and turn you back to top-up.

The distance rule exists but not enforced. Will you be surprised if you know the Shell petrol kiosk is owned by a prominent public figure in JB?

Check onemotoring website for updated images for Causeway and Tuas CP road jam conditions.
For weekdays:
Best time to go in JB between 10am to 3pm, and after midnight.
Best time to get out from JB is between 10am to 4.30pm, and after 1am.
Weekends: Try your luck, heng suay situation.
Isn't $500 fine for cheating and $50 not enough or U turn?
kebinu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 04:14 PM   #14
ccssgm

Last week my friend went in
kanna check no 3/4 tank
Warning for 1st time
ccssgm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 04:30 PM   #15
fishfishfish81

to TS, i stay sembawang. going in tonight..if u want,can join me.

pump there is diff style..got no [pampering like in singapore where uncle do everything for you

you go to deposit and go back and pump then take back ur deposit if didnt use all..

by the way,i also go the shell near to kastam,buy the dunkin donuts..

and yes, i go in between half and 3/4
fishfishfish81 is offline   Reply With Quote