Computers and Internet - Hardware
News and Media - IT Media
Computer & Internet - Net Communities & Chat

Go Back   www.hardwarezone.com.sg > Lifestyle > Eat-Drink-Man-Woman
Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Old 05-11-2009, 03:01 PM   #1
LiewMunLeong

Exclamation That time Stardusz said that Teen.............

beoing is not advisable, bad for health..........

loan shark runner who was sentenced to 4 yrs jail was too heavy a sentence given her age

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/sh....php?t=2542044

i think lawyer Subhas Anandan read her thread and decided to appeal for Teen..

Quote:
A LAWYER has stepped in to help a 16-year-old girl appeal against a four-year jail sentence for loan-shark-related crimes. Mr Shriniwas Rai has taken on the case of Nur Azilah Ithnin for free.

In August, the teenager had pleaded guilty before a Community Court to seven of 13 charges of harassing debtors, mischief by fire and attempted mischief.

Two unlicensed moneylenders paid her between $40 and $200 to harass alleged debtors by setting fire to their belongings in June.

The court had postponed sentencing then, pending probation and reformative training reports. The girl was then unrepresented.

On Oct 22, it handed down the four-year term, after noting the number of charges against Nur Azilah. The prosecution had pressed for a deterrent sentence.

Senior lawyers Mohamed Noor Marican and Subhas Anandan are supporting Mr Rai, as they believe the sentence was 'manifestly excessive'.

Nur Azilah's case is one of several in recent weeks involving loan-shark runners. The sentences meted out ranged from 16 months in prison to six years' jail plus caning.

However, in an unrelated case on Monday, Suhaila Azman and Nur Ibtisam Mohamed Hassan, both 20, bucked the trend when they were sent for reformative training. They had admitted to five and three charges respectively of mischief by fire and harassment.

The court had called for probation and reformative training reports, but they were found suitable for the Reformative Training Centre (RTC), not probation.

Deputy Public Prosecutor Benjamin Yim had sought a deterrent sentence, calling for the longest term possible, saying there had been an upsurge of such cases in recent months.

But Community Court Judge Soh Tze Bian said that as the RTC sentence would, in this case, be longer than any prison term he could impose, he was taking that option so the duo could be reformed, and to prevent them from committing further crimes.

No length is set by the court when imposing an RTC sentence, but the minimum period is 18 months depending on the individual's progress towards reform, up to a maximum of three years.
u think subhas is an edmwer?
LiewMunLeong is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 03:05 PM   #2
Moonnite_Firefly

maybe he is yowe55, with his command of english??~~
Moonnite_Firefly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 03:08 PM   #3
Giroman

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moonnite_Firefly
maybe he is yowe55, with his command of english??~~
not yowe..
Yowe is a chinese..

Giroman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 03:12 PM   #4
Moonnite_Firefly

Quote:
Originally Posted by Giroman
not yowe..
Yowe is a chinese..
how you know
Moonnite_Firefly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 03:13 PM   #5
Giroman

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moonnite_Firefly
how you know
dun tell you..
and by the way..
He is really 32..

Giroman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 03:13 PM   #6
AristDing

Kudos to them
AristDing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 03:14 PM   #7
felixwong

yowe is from shining force from Sega MEGA DRIVE lah....
felixwong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 03:17 PM   #8
crayon_shinchan

tot Teen go back KL liao
Old 05-11-2009, 03:21 PM   #9
popdod

Good for her.
and
the ah neh lawyer.

Given the rest of lawyers....
busy thinking how to milk out rich clients.

Old 05-11-2009, 03:24 PM   #10
AprilRyan

u know when i read this thread... i.e preview.. i tot u said...

That time Stardusz said that Teen beoing is not advisable, bad for health..

then i was pondering wtf are u typing
Old 05-11-2009, 03:25 PM   #11
LiewMunLeong

Quote:
Originally Posted by AprilRyan
u know when i read this thread... i.e preview.. i tot u said...

That time Stardusz said that Teen beoing is not advisable, bad for health..

then i was pondering wtf are u typing
it was intended to be that way, so that u can come in and comment and explain why u are called Teen.
Old 05-11-2009, 03:27 PM   #12
AprilRyan

who call me teen? frankly i dunno... normally i just ignore those comments not meant for me one
Old 05-11-2009, 03:32 PM   #13
LiewMunLeong

Quote:
Originally Posted by AprilRyan
who call me teen? frankly i dunno... normally i just ignore those comments not meant for me one
i also dunno why.. that time dunno kiwi8 or vulpix created a thread to ask why u're called teen.

then nobody nobody but chiu know the reason...
Old 05-11-2009, 03:44 PM   #14
YouYongku

i suspect is aristding

Apologizing doesnt mean that you are wrong.
It simply means that you value the relationship more than your ego.

Final Fantasy Thread
YouYongku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 03:54 PM   #15
LiewMunLeong

Quote:
Originally Posted by YouYongku
i suspect is aristding
he is subhas? or teen?