Computer & Internet - Net Communities & Chat

Go Back   www.hardwarezone.com.sg > Lifestyle > Eat-Drink-Man-Woman
Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Old 25-11-2009, 07:32 AM   #1
DanielsaN8

Jeyaretnam joins PSC

Quote:
SENIOR Counsel Philip Jeyaretnam, son of the late opposition leader Joshua Benjamin Jeyaretnam, was sworn in on Tuesday as the 11th member of the Public Service Commission (PSC).

The commission can have between five and 14 members at any one time.

The 45-year-old Cambridge-educated lawyer is a partner in law firm Rodyk & Davidson.

As a member of the PSC, Mr Jeyaretnam will be involved in its task of appointing and promoting top civil servants.

The PSC is also the final appeals body for civil servants who disagree with decisions of lower level personnel boards.

But the PSC's most well-known role is in picking students for its scholarships. These include the President's Scholarship, the Overseas Merit Scholarship and the Singapore Armed Forces Overseas Scholarship.
Old 25-11-2009, 07:38 AM   #2
Nitrile

he is extremely elite

fulbright fellow and president of sg law society
Old 25-11-2009, 07:53 AM   #3
LesPaulSG

Earning tonnes of money ~

[url=http://www.samaritans.org.sg/index1.html]24/7 support when life overwhelms you[/url][/SIZE]
LesPaulSG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 08:01 AM   #4
Illusionist_85

so he gonna deflect to the ruling party?
Old 25-11-2009, 08:10 AM   #5
PoYePoLuoMi

who wun believe he take a pay cut 2 sworn in

PAP muz haf paid heavily on him... no wonder our bills all increased KNN

rooks rike PAP ish gonna corrupt him rike they did wif our monk

yee laopeh will get up from 3 feet under if he learns it
PoYePoLuoMi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 08:14 AM   #6
CSNation

Alamak how come the descendant defected liao ?
Old 25-11-2009, 08:21 AM   #7
DanielsaN8

I thought i saw somewhere previously as in he was denied of job in the garment sector or stuff due to being the Ex Jeyaretnam son (remember seeing somewhere on the news previously)

Hmm why all of a sudden he was given authority and task of PSC? Is not that i doubt his abilities and competence, just curious
Old 25-11-2009, 08:25 AM   #8
LiewMunLeong

spoken to him before, appear extremely articulate, sharp and bright.

LiewMunLeong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 08:27 AM   #9
smallbearbear

smelly blackie
smallbearbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 08:29 AM   #10
fireal

hes gone over to the dark side ?
Old 25-11-2009, 08:29 AM   #11
CSNation

Quote:
Originally Posted by LiewMunLeong
spoken to him before, appear extremely articulate, sharp and bright.
That can be said for a certain guy before he became Minister for Community Development, Youth and Sports.
Old 25-11-2009, 08:34 AM   #12
LiewMunLeong

Quote:
Originally Posted by CSNation
That can be said for a certain guy before he became Minister for Community Development, Youth and Sports.
i still have high regards for vivian.. i tink he did was he could do best.. but being PAP minister is abt 50% being ur own man, and 50% being a smart yes man.

LiewMunLeong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2009, 08:35 AM   #13
asymmetric

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielsaN8
I thought i saw somewhere previously as in he was denied of job in the garment sector or stuff due to being the Ex Jeyaretnam son (remember seeing somewhere on the news previously)

Hmm why all of a sudden he was given authority and task of PSC? Is not that i doubt his abilities and competence, just curious
he complained to LKY about being censored, then LKY spoke, and his deed was undone.....

LKY also recognized Philip's talent.
Old 25-11-2009, 08:40 AM   #14
DanielsaN8

Quote:
Originally Posted by asymmetric
he complained to LKY about being censored, then LKY spoke, and his deed was undone.....

LKY also recognized Philip's talent.
Serious or kidding?? But i wun be surprised if he was being invited to join the darkside, given his calibre. And the garment would less a likely opposition successor
Old 25-11-2009, 08:48 AM   #15
bigbadber

LOL

son joined the other team.

shows how smart he is to learn from his fathers mistakes who kept banging his head against a brick wall.

if u cant win them, join them lor! why not? since they're the winning team and they pay u well.

ahboh follow his dads footsteps and end up a bankrupt selling books at mrt station?
bigbadber is offline   Reply With Quote