HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Official Xperia Z Thread

Like Tree1057Likes
Share This Page
HardwareZone.com on Facebook
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-10-2013, 02:35 PM   #6601
Senior Member
 
DoraemonBoi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,177
Ya, I didn't notice any significant improvements since I flashed the new firmware last week.
I guess this is just another firmware number update
dreamz13 likes this.
__________________
Phone: Sony Xperia Z2
Camera: Canon 5D Mark III/ Sony A55
Photography Blog: http://goo.gl/JBsMJQ
DoraemonBoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 04:04 PM   #6602
Senior Member
 
Blusttoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,648
Lol, around 2 hours after I updated my Xperia Z, I got drenched in the rain with my Xperia. Got home, see red light blinking every 5 seconds, thought my battery was flat, open the flap and noticed the rubber lining was loose.

There's wetness in the slot, affected the SD unit side also. Indicator turned red for both sides. After a few hours, managed to turn it on, but it was in Safe Mode. Volume down button didn't work. Factory reset to restart and also remove my porn. Still in safe mode, can't use apps or anything.

Without a choice, had to go Bishan service center. The guy wasn't amused by my Titanic reference. Now, waiting sadly for 3 days [or more] for the update. I hope to hell they're able to fix it, I love my Xperia Z...

But I wonder how the cost is gonna be.
Blusttoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 04:13 PM   #6603
Senior Member
 
DoraemonBoi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,177
Lol, around 2 hours after I updated my Xperia Z, I got drenched in the rain with my Xperia. Got home, see red light blinking every 5 seconds, thought my battery was flat, open the flap and noticed the rubber lining was loose.

There's wetness in the slot, affected the SD unit side also. Indicator turned red for both sides. After a few hours, managed to turn it on, but it was in Safe Mode. Volume down button didn't work. Factory reset to restart and also remove my porn. Still in safe mode, can't use apps or anything.

Without a choice, had to go Bishan service center. The guy wasn't amused by my Titanic reference. Now, waiting sadly for 3 days [or more] for the update. I hope to hell they're able to fix it, I love my Xperia Z...

But I wonder how the cost is gonna be.
wow, that's bad... good luck
__________________
Phone: Sony Xperia Z2
Camera: Canon 5D Mark III/ Sony A55
Photography Blog: http://goo.gl/JBsMJQ
DoraemonBoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 07:03 PM   #6604
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
_debra_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 10,851
Hey guys.

My contract is up this Friday.
Thinking of getting a purple xperia z from ST.

The only thing i worried about is the battery life. I am only a heavy user in web browsing/ig and whatsapp.

Don't do games at all.haha.

Im using s3 lte as a work phone and it has really decent batt life. Acro s is my personal phone but the batt is pretty bad imo.
_debra_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 07:04 PM   #6605
Senior Member
 
starch1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,655
Hey guys.

My contract is up this Friday.
Thinking of getting a purple xperia z from ST.

The only thing i worried about is the battery life. I am only a heavy user in web browsing/ig and whatsapp.

Don't do games at all.haha.

Im using s3 lte as a work phone and it has really decent batt life. Acro s is my personal phone but the batt is pretty bad imo.
I rather you wait for z1..
DoraemonBoi likes this.
starch1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 07:13 PM   #6606
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
_debra_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 10,851
I rather you wait for z1..
U have the phone already?
Z1 is too big for my hands and too ex too hahahaha
_debra_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 07:18 PM   #6607
Senior Member
 
starch1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,655
U have the phone already?
Z1 is too big for my hands and too ex too hahahaha
Was using z before i changed to z ultra..and subsequently lg g2 now. Lols

If im not wrong..z1 and z is same size leh!
starch1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 07:30 PM   #6608
Supremacy Member
 
Dixon.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5,438
Was using z before i changed to z ultra..and subsequently lg g2 now. Lols

If im not wrong..z1 and z is same size leh!
z1 a bit bigger
__________________
WTS: Nothing...
Dixon. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 10:53 PM   #6609
Supremacy Member
 
hush66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,946
U have the phone already?
Z1 is too big for my hands and too ex too hahahaha
If you're ok with the size of the Xperia Z, then the size of the Xperia Z1 shouldn't matter.

Xperia Z: 139 x 71 x 7.9 mm
Xperia Z1: 144 x 74 x 8.5 mm

The noticeable difference is only the length of the phones (Z1 is longer). You won't really feel the differences in width and thickness.

And if you're just doing web-browsing and Whatsapp, the Xperia Z can definitely last you a day.
hush66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 11:51 PM   #6610
Master Member
 
leonaheidern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,942
xda-developers - View Single Post - DIY quick charge system

this is darn cool except my phone is under warranty but scratched like mad now and I don't have soldering skills.
__________________
leonaheidern is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 12:44 AM   #6611
Supremacy Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 8,623
Not sure if it's just me, but I notice my Z can't seem to tether long. I do use my Z to tether for tablet to surf some internet and quick game. I notice after some time, the tether on my Z will off and I need to turn it on again. Normal? How can I stop it from turning off???
kazuki666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 06:48 AM   #6612
Supremacy Member
 
carlover76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 5,627
Not sure if it's just me, but I notice my Z can't seem to tether long. I do use my Z to tether for tablet to surf some internet and quick game. I notice after some time, the tether on my Z will off and I need to turn it on again. Normal? How can I stop it from turning off???
You have to go into the Tethering & portable hotspot and Portable Wi-Fi hotspot settings, you will find a Power save setting there, change it to "Never" instead of "After 10 minutes of inactivity".
__________________
Currently Using :

Phone : Xperia Z2 (Purple)
Tablet : Xperia Z2 Tablet (Black)
carlover76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 07:01 AM   #6613
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 132
Hey guys.

My contract is up this Friday.
Thinking of getting a purple xperia z from ST.

The only thing i worried about is the battery life. I am only a heavy user in web browsing/ig and whatsapp.

Don't do games at all.haha.

Im using s3 lte as a work phone and it has really decent batt life. Acro s is my personal phone but the batt is pretty bad imo.
Hey bro, I'm a heavy user of this phone too and I do use a lot of browsing under LTE/Wifi. My battery usually only lasts half a day though. For light usage users, it'll definitely last them for a day.
id0n0van is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 10:30 AM   #6614
Master Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 2,981
dun think there's a way to check online, gotta call the service center to check. and do check if u got the extra warranty period when u registered the phone online.

im going down tomorrow after work to collect the phone, ask them about it as well
bro, ok I called them and gave them the IMEI number to check, and yes, the warranty is still intact because for mine, there was no corrosion.

and the e-warranty is also in the system, although on the job report form, they didn't include the 3-month extension.

so.. all's good!
maumu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 10:56 AM   #6615
Master Member
 
IceShelterX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4,254
Hey bro, I'm a heavy user of this phone too and I do use a lot of browsing under LTE/Wifi. My battery usually only lasts half a day though. For light usage users, it'll definitely last them for a day.
One of the very reason i wanted to change to Z1 is bigger batt capacity...
__________________
I don't really care... I just wanna dance...
IceShelterX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On