China's stock market plunge: how did it happen?

OngHuatHuat

what company is it? really so high yield ah.... better to double check the fundamentals to see if the payout is sustainable or not

There is a risk that I have to take lor. It is a China property developer focus in secondary cities in China. Recently China policy has been in the favor of property developers with some property prices rising.

3333.hk
Very volatile counter. Trade at own risk lor. Somehow it rises today due to some unknown reason.

ValueInvestor

There is a risk that I have to take lor. It is a China property developer focus in secondary cities in China. Recently China policy has been in the favor of property developers with some property prices rising.

3333.hk
Very volatile counter. Trade at own risk lor. Somehow it rises today due to some unknown reason.

I see ok thanks

OngHuatHuat

Just a gentle advice, if anyone here is those everyday count profit and loss kind, really need think twice before you enter hong kong market. Hong Kong market h shares daily movement is like sgx stock monthly movement. Really not for faint hearted.

Shion

Senior Mentor
Best is just don't touch China/HK stocks if you can't take the volatility and uncertainty.

NewInvestor

Hope tomorrow drop somemore and makes it into 15 % yield....
Like that shiok. Only need 5 years to get back the capital. :)

The rule of 72 : 72 / 15 = 4.8 years

Now everyone is selling like China market going to collapse like that..... Haha.....

Hard to say whether collapsing. I was laughing loudly in 1997 at Thai stock market. But ended up crying quietly when AFC whack Spore stock market. A big China collapse may have far ranging effects on the rest of Asia.

walkofwinners

sounds kinda like political war though with opposition parties whacking the stock market to counter.

simply wiped off all the gains for the past year and going back to where it started. now that its heading back to its starting point, will it go even lower or rebound? looks like down is the way to go unless China finds a way to prop up their market. They can halt as long as they want but at the end of the day, its not gonna fix their shaky fundamentals.

Sai777

Hard to say whether collapsing. I was laughing loudly in 1997 at Thai stock market. But ended up crying quietly when AFC whack Spore stock market. A big China collapse may have far ranging effects on the rest of Asia.

As much as I hate to admit.....I have to agreed that AFC was the worse than GFC. Those who being thru' AFC are likely to survive if this ends up with crisis including China.

Still deep down in many people mind, China is too big to fail.

Who dare to challenge the market?

walkofwinners

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/mobile/business/temasek-portfolio-value/1966262.html

Found it. It is in today news.
Their holding hit record high coz the reporting period ends 31.3.15.

Gg.com

yup spotted that too. just a while before the china market imploded!

OngHuatHuat

男女離奇倒斃ṃ房
2015-07-08旺角揭發雙屍命案。一對男女昨午離奇倒斃ṃ房,身旁有炭爐,女死者為失蹤人士,家人一星期前報失,警方正調查兩人死因。  現場為荔枝角道一五九號一單位,間成三個ṃ房,其中一房住有兩名年約三十至四十歲男女。昨午四時許,單位業主到來拍門,發覺無人回應但傳出惡臭,遂報警求助。  警員及消防員到場破門入屋,發現男女住客倒斃脇上,已死去多時,身旁有炭爐但未發現遺書。

winorlose

Ironically they are showing this on Starhub TV now.

And the scene of the epic shorting of the HSI by Ding Xie occurred last week.

Ding Xie effect anyone? ;)

i watching everyday on starfug.. sibeh entertaining.. watch 10times and still find it amusing

NewInvestor

As much as I hate to admit.....I have to agreed that AFC was the worse than GFC. Those who being thru' AFC are likely to survive if this ends up with crisis including China.

Still deep down in many people mind, China is too big to fail.

Who dare to challenge the market?

AFC was much worse than GFC to people in Spore. Stocks n property lao sai every day for months.

If this China collapse spread, uncle168 may actually be correct. Gosh! I really hate saying that.

winorlose

good tht their mkt crash.. now everyone can stop dreaming of getting rich fast and get their ass back to their jobs. alot of them quit their work and go speculate stock mkt.. fire their boss.

now they have to crawl back and beg for work to do.

This is a big lesson for them.

OngHuatHuat

Hong Kong futures on the rise now.

But think not much use....... Still depending on China A shares.

havetheveryfun

AFC was much worse than GFC to people in Spore. Stocks n property lao sai every day for months.

If this China collapse spread, uncle168 may actually be correct. Gosh! I really hate saying that.

uncle168 will be correct eventually, its only a matter of when and how

Sai777

I am not an economist but we can do this rationally.

The news we know today is already known 2 weeks ago....The outcome from Greece is predictable and in the worse case with Gexit, they are <2% of EU GDP.

Sure there are some companies affected; banks, FI and related industry, so what if Greece is zero value and ppl are begging for food; they are not going to affect the global economy, not even the Euro exchange rate.

Next SSE, the freaking SSE is a like a casino. When Xi discourage and capital control for rich Chinese to go Macau and SG, where the $$ go to? They cannot go to property, so they turn to SSE....in 6 mths time, SSE increases 150%; for **** sake, if anyone tell me a biz can grow 150% profit in 6 mths, he is better than selling drugs.

So the SSE plunge is only a man-made issue; perhaps, in conspiracy theory, govt wants to take back the excess $$ which they printed $4b in 2009. If this is case, at least this is controlled; which it would not over-done.

So, if Uncle168 is correct, then we are back to an extreme end of the market. But that we can track the M2 and M3, to see if this is true.

Either way, there is no answer to this. I hope we dun have another AFC, now started by China fuel by Malaysia.....then all the good fundamental good reasons got dragged into the shLT hole.

NewInvestor

I am not an economist but we can do this rationally.

The news we know today is already known 2 weeks ago....The outcome from Greece is predictable and in the worse case with Gexit, they are <2% of EU GDP.

Sure there are some companies affected; banks, FI and related industry, so what if Greece is zero value and ppl are begging for food; they are not going to affect the global economy, not even the Euro exchange rate.

Next SSE, the freaking SSE is a like a casino. When Xi discourage and capital control for rich Chinese to go Macau and SG, where the $$ go to? They cannot go to property, so they turn to SSE....in 6 mths time, SSE increases 150%; for **** sake, if anyone tell me a biz can grow 150% profit in 6 mths, he is better than selling drugs.

So the SSE plunge is only a man-made issue; perhaps, in conspiracy theory, govt wants to take back the excess $$ which they printed $4b in 2009. If this is case, at least this is controlled; which it would not over-done.

So, if Uncle168 is correct, then we are back to an extreme end of the market. But that we can track the M2 and M3, to see if this is true.

Either way, there is no answer to this. I hope we dun have another AFC, now started by China fuel by Malaysia.....then all the good fundamental good reasons got dragged into the shLT hole.

Forget Greece. I doubt they will impact us much.

China is another matter. Its economy has been rising for more than 20 years without a serious collapse. They are overdue for a collapse. That means both property and stocks. It is only a matter of time. Will it be this time? I don't know.

I congratulate your being rational. But human behaviour during crisis like AFC is not rational. People are selling due to massive fear.

I hope that the China crisis is contained n does not spread further than HK. Sorry, HK. Too bad for u.

Aneosx

China to force Substantial shareholder not to sell for 6 months??? Tml gonna see all red?

Sai777

According Sina news, the exchange does not allow substantial shareholders to sell their shares in the secondary market within the next 6 months with immediate effect.

If, a big if, China market collapse for whatever reasons, then the immediate impact to SG is business trading followed by property.

Imaging China man need to raise cash and they dump their Singapore asset......bye bye liao. HK and Taiwan are well known to be fast and furious; China is 10 x better.

So China market does not affect SG is just a wishful thinking.:s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.