HDB rental vs Reits Div

homer123

HDB rental market is really bad.. My mom 5 room only rent for 1.5K (because of poor location in Yew Tee). Her flat was without tenant for almost 3 months. The flat was also badly messed up by previous tenant that she has to spent almost 8K fixing the whole flat.

Perisher

HDB rental market is really bad.. My mom 5 room only rent for 1.5K (because of poor location in Yew Tee). Her flat was without tenant for almost 3 months. The flat was also badly messed up by previous tenant that she has to spent almost 8K fixing the whole flat.

Property is most importantly about location. Especially for renting.
Think it will be more huat when MRT to malaysia is build up.

Mr.Canberra

This is the most common problem faced by landlords. The rental earned after offsetting repairs sometimes really not worth it.

Furnishings and household appliances all cui. Aircon repair is the most headache and costly. Might as well trade in for new one.

iamveryguailan

Lol projected 3k at ea?

U can try to list for 2.5k, and I doubt u will receive any offers also.

Sengkang EA rent for about 2.2k

Bukit Timah 5 room renting for 2.6k-2.8k, beside mrt

Hdb rental really quite soft now.

soneat

Also take note of the ever changing rules. For my case, the non-citizen quota essentially killed my ability to sublet out the unit. Also, there are almost infinite supply of new units coming online (after fulfilling the MOP) for resale and rental, so I decided to exit this.

Prior to this while it was rented, after the various expenses (10% property tax, SCC, Income Tax, depreciation, agent commission) plus time plus lay-chay stuffs (check/verify pass, passport, etc), I already find it not very worthwhile.

...Personal opinion/experience.

revhappy

Lol projected 3k at ea?

I agree, with oil and gas workers being layed off en masse, Jurong is really like a ghost town. I would be surprised if a HDB can fetch that much rent.

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 4 using GAGT

Perisher

Lol projected 3k at ea?

Good to know.

soneat

Just to share, tenants, being non-owners, will exhibit strange behavior, some of which are:
1. Dunno how to change light bulb - so they rather live in the dark.
2. Love deep fried food - wall tiles become super greasy
3. Dirty/Lack of hygiene - the freezer was super smelly and blackish/dirty.
4. Floor tiles becomes stained/super dirty.
Sometimes dunno how they can tahan living like this.

Perisher

Just to share, tenants, being non-owners, will exhibit strange behavior, some of which are:
1. Dunno how to change light bulb - so they rather live in the dark.
2. Love deep fried food - wall tiles become super greasy
3. Dirty/Lack of hygiene - the freezer was super smelly and blackish/dirty.
4. Floor tiles becomes stained/super dirty.
Sometimes dunno how they can tahan living like this.

If you don't mind, is there a specific group or generally all kind of tenants? :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.