Noob buying NAS

Micki78

Banned
Reaction score
Hi pros, am thinking of getting a NAS and it will be my first time getting. I am a noob regarding this, I don't even know which one should I get . I am not a technical guy but I do some reading on it but still blur.
In the past, I buy many external hard disc for storage and when they get full, then I buy new one again. This led to many hardisk all over the place and direct connection to pc is mafan. Need unplug and plug etc.. So I am look at NAS cos I can centralized and via networking.
Main use for me is to backup my family video, photos etc.

Can I ask which brand should I get.. I really no idea. What should I look up for? And where should I go to get a better price ? Challenger, funan etc?

nanoprobe

Reaction score
How much TB of storage are u looking at? NAS when full also hv to upgrade and transfer data.

I think u need to read up more a bit coz u do need to get involved a bit else one day when centralized storage has issue it might be very painful.

Good brands are QNAP, Synology, if u hv the budget can start looking there. Prices are quite controlled so probably quite the same in retail shops.
Funan has some.

Last edited:

congster2

Supremacy Member
Reaction score
sorry to hijack your thread but i thought this question might also be relevant to you.

folks - wanted to check with you how long you actually expect the NAS to be supported for? i bought the dns 343 in 2008. The device is still working but reached EOL since 2011. what this means for me now is that although it has not failed yet, i can't find hard disks to put in it. the compatible list has not been updated since 2011. to give an example, since the seagate 7200.11 series, I can't find another seagate hard disk that will work with it. This is really frustrating and now i feel like buying a new NAS and throwing this damned thing away. I was wondering if i bought a synology one, whether i would face the same issue in 5 years' time.