UMPC: OQO model 01+

Old 29-03-2008, 05:54 AM   #46

bottomline,

can you give more info on vpost?
which one got great bundle?
ok as you know most or all of the model 02 units at expansys are refurbished or returned units that is why they command lower costs for bulk sales...

but say you are firm about getting a brand brand virgin new unit model 2...so you go over to OQO website..they have free bundle US$327 until 31Mar08 on any purchase..

http://www.gottabemobile.com/

there are also deals without bundles but brand new units
at tigerdirect US$1699 onwards
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...085&CatId=2814

or at compusa starting at US$1799 onwards
http://www.compusa.com/applications/...C-PRICEGRABBER

the next thing you want to do is to follow the VPost method.... Step by Step Guide to Ordering Iphone using Vpost
there is an example on how to order iPhone via VPost.. the same concept applies to any online purchase via Vpost

What you need :
1. Vpost Account (register online) https://www.vpost.com.sg/
2. OQO Model 2 Online Store details
3. Valid Credit Card or Debit Card

Make a trip to the Paya Lebar Singapore Post Center...
1. see their rep

2. tell them the US online shop needs a US address to deliver

3. you can either pay the US retailer online then arrange for VPost to pickup from US location (which VPost provides) and deliver item thru customs and singapore

4. or if your credit card is not recognized by US Retailer or the US Retailer only wants by say American Express card payment but you only have a POSB/DBS Visa debit card, then pay VPost..VPost will pay US Retailer, then arrange for item into Singapore OR

5. If you want them to do eveything, track etc..use their conceirge service..they treat you like VIP but there is 5% surcharge..

6. Relax..guaranteed yr item will be here...

hope it helps

Last edited by bottomline; 30-03-2008 at 08:19 AM..
bottomline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2008, 06:09 AM   #47

This place: http://www.dynamism.com/oqo2/pricing.shtml
selling (1.6GHz, 120GB HD, 1.0GB RAM, Windows XP Professional)
S$2346 with FREE double capacity battery and FREE stronghold metal case!
dynamism is an authorized reseller for OQO..dun worry they sell virgin new sets but the cheapest 120gb model is US$1849...the bank exchange rate as of today is 1.406 so it is=S$2599+...also dynamism if you read the fine print charges state tax+fees (7%+US$30) on top of what you have to pay..

http://www.dynamism.com/oqo2/pricing.shtml
[OQO-BEST/120/XPP] OQO (1.6GHz, 120GB HD, 1.0GB RAM, Windows XP Professional)
In stock!
Order now and save $150 ($1699) with instant rebate. Also receive a FREE double capacity battery and FREE stronghold metal case (SMC/EB)!
Rebate valid from March 6th through March 31st.
$1849.00
I would assume their free bundle is the same is the official OQO one...the rebate is rubbish..they just jack up MSRP to their RP..

But seriously any bundle without their georgous ext DVDRW Docking station sucks big time..

pls understand you are paying S$2k for a lousy VIA C7 chip..its not the Isiah chip...which will be on model 02 by June08..their native resolution is still 800x480 same as the Asus Eee and if you want higher you got to pan alot...hehe
Old 29-03-2008, 09:02 AM   #48

This place: http://www.dynamism.com/oqo2/pricing.shtml
selling (1.6GHz, 120GB HD, 1.0GB RAM, Windows XP Professional)
S$2346 with FREE double capacity battery and FREE stronghold metal case!
Bro... its in USD... and its not the HSDPA version that can be used in sg... plus they don't accept credit card issued outside USA other than American Express.... and to wire the $$ over need extra work and +5% due bank...

Was thinking about getting the 80gb with HSDPA from dynamism (see the UK site) called them but cos of the credit card i didn't proceed.
Duh_Bing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2008, 09:05 AM   #49

well... basically paying the $$$ for the true mobiility..
Old 29-03-2008, 09:12 AM   #50

ok as you know most or all of the model 02 units at expansys are refurbished or returned units that is why they command lower costs for bulk sales...
<truncated>
Hey Bottomline... where did you find out that expansys is selling refub/returned units....
Old 29-03-2008, 10:51 AM   #51

Hey Bottomline... where did you find out that expansys is selling refub/returned units....

refurbished units are usually disclosed in the expansys us /uk sites as required by law...but the spore expansys site does not seem to disclose..usually in yr item description you see a reference to B-stock or clearance stock not only for laptops but other umpcs,pdas etc too..
y
https://www.expansys.com/d.aspx?i=164705
https://www.expansys.com/c.aspx?f=1284&se=735

Grade B-Stock:
Please note that this product is not new and is sold on a strict "first-come, first served" basis. Normal distance selling regulations do not apply to second hand products such as this. You may return it if it is not as described, or if it simply does not work but you cannot return it if you just don’t like it, so please be sure you want one of these before you order it.

Condition:
Factory refurbished goods in full working order. Packaging is slightly damaged and has been opened.
I worked in HK before and I've dealt with expansys there..terrible outfit..I understand the
singapore arm is an extension of the HK office...I ordered a raon everun fm them and the notice was in my box and not at the website..it took me four f***king mths to get my refund...now I only order spare parts from them like 16gb sdhc ...bo pian..

you shld read up on the us forums how they bitch abt expansys in general..

aiya you seem experienced to know that yr item is brand new or refurbished..the minute you see scuff or teeny stratches or fading paint..you will know..if not, if yr invoice number starts with B(means Bstock) or C(clearance stock)..but anyway excited ppl like u dun care as long as u get 1yr wty..right?

fyi my fren ordered the OQO model01 S$900+ just 2wks ago and found the bloody ac adapter stopped working and battery wear to be 67% ...his runtime in 2 wks of use was down to 30mins..boy was he pissed..they offered to exchg but he needs to pay shipping..tat's another S$40+ down the toilet...

all these online is buyer beware lor...

Last edited by bottomline; 29-03-2008 at 11:00 AM..
Old 29-03-2008, 11:49 AM   #52

refurbished units are usually disclosed in the expansys us /uk sites as required by law...but the spore expansys site does not seem to disclose..

aiya you seem experienced to know that yr item is brand new or refurbished..the minute you see scuff or teeny stratches or fading paint..you will know..if not, if yr invoice number starts with B(means Bstock) or C(clearance stock)..but anyway excited ppl like u dun care as long as u get 1yr wty..right?
wah... personal attack ... i care ok... its a freaking one months pay!!! anyways... i understand that OQO sell refurb units separately one... items just arrived and initial inspection looks totally new and don't have the B/C and also HSDPA version of OQO e2 just came out in Dec and there haven't been enough stock until recently... and aye there are many complains abt service at expansys...

fyi my fren ordered the OQO model01 S$900+ just 2wks ago and found the bloody ac adapter stopped working and battery wear to be 67% ...his runtime in 2 wks of use was down to 30mins..boy was he pissed..they offered to exchg but he needs to pay shipping..tat's another S$40+ down the toilet...
This one is not expansys problem... more on OQO side...

WANNA DECLARE... THE ITEM IS IN!!!!
wait up for pics on unpacking and review
Old 29-03-2008, 01:14 PM   #53

i think there are plenty of unboxing pics and yuotubevideos of the model02...i think we are more concerned whether the hsdpa actually works on singnet,M1 & Starhub 3g sim cards..after all it should right? but note yr hsdpa has not been approved by TAS unlike the Fujitsu U1010 HSDPA with other Fujitsu models and Levono X61 HSDPA, so you could be in violation of TAS regulations here...hmm..but you heck care right?

For ultimate connectivity on-the-go, you can purchase an OQO Model 2 with integrated HSDPA WWAN. (It is unlocked, so
you can enjoy 3G data on any compatible 2100mhz network.)....
A thorough review on that would be great... inclusive of actual surfing speeds..ie can that module reach 1.8mbps?..3.6mbps?..even 7.2mbps( i doubt it)...with speednet test results posted...

also the usual cpu & graphic intensive testing like joost,babelgum,and gaming like WOW would be nice too.

with that in mind I hope to see you at www.oqotalk.com forums..there they are talking about model03 already..

"Only the very rich can keep up with cutting edge technology ... and for
UMPCs I doubt they bother"

Last edited by bottomline; 29-03-2008 at 01:37 PM..
Old 30-03-2008, 06:16 AM   #54

can someone tell me how come AMAZON selling so cheap for a new Sony VAIO VGN-UX490N/C 4.5-Inch Portable Computer (Intel Core 2 Solo U2200 Processor, 1GB RAM, 48 GB Flash Drive, Vista Business) = US$1999.
http://www.amazon.com/Sony-VGN-UX490...2795336&sr=8-1

For Sony VAIO VGN-UX280P 4.5" Laptop (Intel Core Solo Processor U1400, 1 GB RAM, 40 GB Hard Drive) = US$1099.
http://www.amazon.com/Sony-VGN-UX280...829182&sr=1-71

[/SIZE]

Last edited by FireWood; 30-03-2008 at 06:23 AM..
FireWood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2008, 08:15 AM   #55

can someone tell me how come AMAZON selling so cheap for a new Sony VAIO VGN-UX490N/C 4.5-Inch Portable Computer (Intel Core 2 Solo U2200 Processor, 1GB RAM, 48 GB Flash Drive, Vista Business) = US$1999.
http://www.amazon.com/Sony-VGN-UX490...2795336&sr=8-1

For Sony VAIO VGN-UX280P 4.5" Laptop (Intel Core Solo Processor U1400, 1 GB RAM, 40 GB Hard Drive) = US$1099.
http://www.amazon.com/Sony-VGN-UX280...829182&sr=1-71
yo.. try not to get too excited when you see good deals..like they say there's no such thing as a free lunch..

Most of the items on Amazon are sold by third party merchants like in your 2nd vaio link It is better to buy anything sold directly by Amazon like in your 1st Vaio link.

The prices on Amazon are no longer the lowest. I can often find cheaper prices on tech products on buy.com, newegg.com or overstock.com. You can often find better deals at other sites and sometimes even the vendor directly.

Till couple of years ago, Amazon.com had a "Found it cheaper elsewhere" link where you could enter a link to any merchant where a product was available cheaper than Amazon and they would match the price, Now that link has gone missing. Amazon's return policies at one time used to be good. Now they do not take anything back easily unless it is defective.

Read their return policy carefully. "You may return new, unopened items sold and fulfilled by Amazon.com within 30 days of delivery for a full refund." They accept only unopened items. Till 2005, Amazon was good. Now I do not even look on Amazon.com for anything.
Old 30-03-2008, 11:55 AM   #56

Anybody know where & what price for gigabit U60? That looks good!
JRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2008, 12:26 PM   #57

so, is it a good buy for this? http://www.amazon.com/Sony-VGN-UX490...2795336&sr=8-1

is this a refurbished item? http://www.overstock.com/Electronics...2/product.html

how come there is another price? http://www.overstock.com/Electronics...2/product.html

most overstock.com seem to be refurbished???

[/SIZE]

Last edited by FireWood; 30-03-2008 at 12:35 PM..
Old 30-03-2008, 02:19 PM   #58

so, is it a good buy for this? http://www.amazon.com/Sony-VGN-UX490...2795336&sr=8-1

is this a refurbished item? http://www.overstock.com/Electronics...2/product.html

how come there is another price? http://www.overstock.com/Electronics...2/product.html

most overstock.com seem to be refurbished???
yo..up to you leh..your $$$ right?

(1) if for me .NO...even though amazon price is attractive,,based on my personal experience their return policy is too damn strict but you may want to clarify with them first...

(2) & (3) never never order anything online unless you have yr questions answered in writing via email from them..so go ask them if used or not,,try not to assume..the americans are very straight forward about this...

you seem damn keen to get umpc huh? enjoy that feeling while it lasts...
Old 30-03-2008, 02:57 PM   #59

you seem damn keen to get umpc huh? enjoy that feeling while it lasts...
otherwise why wasting so much time...

[/SIZE]
Old 30-03-2008, 05:39 PM   #60

Woot... one pic to share y i got a UMPC... OQO e2 vs Nokia E61
Just hooted Maxmobile Unlimited, ran out of battery when i got the settings done right.

But heres a preview of what it can do on my dell at the tanglin Starbucks... will put up the comparison with my oqo when i get home...