HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Awareness Thread on Windows 8 Memory Leak with NDU.sys

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Cryogenist
Share This Page
HardwareZone.com on Facebook
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 22-07-2013, 11:23 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Cryogenist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,549
Exclamation Awareness Thread on Windows 8 Memory Leak with NDU.sys

Hi guys.

Just wanna share with you guys on this Memory Leak ONLY in Windows 8.
Not sure any of you heard of it or got it before.

I gotten it a few times and finally managed to resolve it.

Apparently this guy below
"Windows Network Data Usage Monitoring Driver" or NDU.sys was introduced in Windows 8.

Info:
Windows Network Data Usage Monitoring Driver - Windows 8 Service - batcmd.com

This guy is pretty naughty and causes memory leak.

It is being reported in a few places below:

Discussion Threads
Non-Paged Pool Leak in Network layer
Windows 8 high memory usage - Windows Discussion & Support - Neowin Forums
Damjan's playground: Windows 8 RTM Memory leak - NDU.SYS?

This screenshot is gotten from Damjan's website


Causes
The exact criteria to trigger is not confirmed 100% though.
Some were pointing at the Network Drivers.
Like what some say, is probably a VERY BADLY written network code by dear Microsoft.

This guy will cause the "Non-paged pool" to grow massively, SQUEEZING almost every last bit of your RAM and also causes your pagefile to be VERY active. Which in turn affects your HDD/SDD IO performance.

The result = causing your system to be slowed down to a crawl, irresponsive

Temporary Solution
Restart the computer.

Alternative (Permanent) Solution

Open up "regedit" and go this key.
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Services\Ndu

Change the "Start" value to 4 (to disable it).


Thanks for reading.
E_T likes this.
Cryogenist is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2013, 11:55 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 636
thanks for informing! =)

looks like Im gonna skip windows 8. Dont see any advantage for my typical usage at all.
2fast2drive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2013, 06:55 AM   #3
Supremacy Member
 
Kyo_kusanagi86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,727
Could U enlighten us why the value is changed to 4 instead of 2 or other numbers in the regedit?

Does 4 represent the amount of ram available?
Kyo_kusanagi86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2013, 09:22 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Cryogenist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,549
Could U enlighten us why the value is changed to 4 instead of 2 or other numbers in the regedit?

Does 4 represent the amount of ram available?
According to what they say on the forums, the value "4" is to disable it.

I cannot find the official reference on what does the values 0-4 represents, but
so far, the value "4" seems to disable the NDU.sys

No more memory leak so far. Try the same routine that triggers the memory leak, and nothing happens. Good to go I guess.
Cryogenist is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2013, 10:06 AM   #5
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
FatalityV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 23,151
I think I will use your fix.

For my pc recently, after turning on for > 48 hours, slows to a crawl.
__________________
Veritas Vos Liberabit
FatalityV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2013, 10:09 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Cryogenist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,549
I think I will use your fix.

For my pc recently, after turning on for > 48 hours, slows to a crawl.
Check if you have the same symptoms.

Your com's Non-Paged Pool's size is very massive.
Your com's RAM usage is hovering around 90% for no reason
Your HDD's activity is almost at 100% due to pagefile swapping.
Cryogenist is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2013, 01:04 PM   #7
Greater Supremacy Member
 
Kiwi8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 92,678
I did not know there's such an issue.

But I wonder whether another symptom I encountered could be related to NDU.sys.

That is, sometimes, after a reboot, I will encounter problems with the network connection, which will either slow down, or block transmission in one direction. I didn't really notice the pool size, ram usage and hdd activitity increasing though.

Anyway, disabled NDU too, to see if it will improve.
__________________
Please forgive me if I do not reply to your post which replied to mine, cos there are simply too many posts. If you need me to reply, please drop me a PM. Thank you.

No mercy for the despicable IBs. We must take the offensive against them.

Kiwi8 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2013, 03:32 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Cryogenist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,549
I did not know there's such an issue.

But I wonder whether another symptom I encountered could be related to NDU.sys.

That is, sometimes, after a reboot, I will encounter problems with the network connection, which will either slow down, or block transmission in one direction. I didn't really notice the pool size, ram usage and hdd activitity increasing though.

Anyway, disabled NDU too, to see if it will improve.
Haha.. When I first met up with this problem, I was quite dumbfounded.

I was like "What?", how can a new Haswell system slow down to a crawl for no apparent reason especially with the workload I given to it.

Then I start noticing the RAM usage especially high.

From there, managed to dig out a few threads online that seemingly point to the same issue.
Cryogenist is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2013, 05:33 PM   #9
Moderator
 
speedknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 20,750
Will keep track of this
Currently system up for 10:17:25 and counting...
16GB ram,6.9GB in use 8.7GB available.
Page tool 572MB,Non page tool 357MB
__________________
Prolly HWZ's most otaku mod XD |Speedknight.com:-Capturing the Photographic Memories of Singapore's Japanese Sub(pop)culture Events & More.|Speed is a wonderful servant but a deadly master| A moment of Stupidity,A lifetime of regrets

speedknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2013, 05:54 PM   #10
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Shutterbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 22,488
bookmark this thread.
__________________
上梁不正, 下梁歪
狗官一群, CCB
Shutterbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2013, 10:49 PM   #11
E_T
Master Member
 
E_T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,074
Not sure about this but starting last month, my Desktop + All software will suddenly become unresponsive to input. Had to do a hard reset to recover. Will KIV this solution.

But shouldn't the registry patch be at CurrentControlSet instead of the backup ControlSet001?
__________________
Read my blog at http://erictayet.wordpress.com or Follow me on Twitter @erictayet
E_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2013, 03:00 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
Hi there,
I had the same problem (at least i think so) and proceeded with the solution you provided. With this, i managed to lower my non-paged pool back to normal. However, my memory problem is still present. What should be my next course of action?
Thanks in advance
Shruokan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2013, 06:45 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Rogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 4,736
All those having problems are using Realtek NIC?
Rogue is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On