The Spectacles Thread. - Part 2

metamofia89

Change specs a month ago to Oakley Airdrop Asian Fit. I've been getting these tiring strain-pain around my eyebrows. Its my first time using those asian fit nosepad and my current lens is a downgrade from Crizal. Degree left is +25. Anyone can share which part of these is causing my pains? I really really dont want to drop another $300 for a new pair.

Joelleyuan

Change specs a month ago to Oakley Airdrop Asian Fit. I've been getting these tiring strain-pain around my eyebrows. Its my first time using those asian fit nosepad and my current lens is a downgrade from Crizal. Degree left is +25. Anyone can share which part of these is causing my pains? I really really dont want to drop another $300 for a new pair.

im also experiencing this kind of discomfort
on my left eye for my last few pair of specs
including my current pair.
i really dunno what/where’s the problem.
Initially i thought it was because i changed to those plastic frame which is nearer to my face compared to those metal frame with extra nose support that stretch the specs further out,
but i drop the plastic frame and went back to metal frame & another frame w extra nose support, yet the discomfort is still there,
just sometimes mild, sometimes more serious.
i really dunno why....
sigh.

super365

Why not go back and ask the optician the problem and see if what they say? Maybe they can adjust the frame and the strain/pain will go away.

Joelleyuan

Why not go back and ask the optician the problem and see if what they say? Maybe they can adjust the frame and the strain/pain will go away.

the thing is i did went back n i went different shops to make other pairs as well, keep having this problem. haizzz. :(

metamofia89

im also experiencing this kind of discomfort
on my left eye for my last few pair of specs
including my current pair.
i really dunno what/where’s the problem.
Initially i thought it was because i changed to those plastic frame which is nearer to my face compared to those metal frame with extra nose support that stretch the specs further out,
but i drop the plastic frame and went back to metal frame & another frame w extra nose support, yet the discomfort is still there,
just sometimes mild, sometimes more serious.
i really dunno why....
sigh.

Went to the optical shop today and sought for opinions. The optician heat treated the nose bridge and adjusted the frame inwards to slightly curve the lens. She said my previous specs was very curvy so maybe that's the cause. But i forgot to tell her i wore those flat lenses in between before and no such problem.

After curving the frame i felt comfy for awhile but over the hours the frame went back to the original shape. So i'm thinking maybe it's fitting problem.

My opinion is, i think those extra supports you have might contribute to the hotspots ah. Try talking to your optician to see if they are willing to reshape your frames slightly.

super365

If spectacles keep slipping downwards when wearing after sometime, what to adjust?

Wearing thin metal frame that has plastic nosepads

Timbre70

Probably the frame does not fit your face.

If you're Asian, probably better off sticking to Asian brands which specialise in optical rather than fashion brands.

invisible.hippo

i broke my oakley specs

hi i broke my wingspan into two accidentally and is currently looking for a frame that is more durable than okaley frame.
please give me some recommendation if you do know of any. Thank you :)

metamofia89

Crizal advance $480 is carroting or not? 1.6 index and dunno cut by diamond edge dunno what.

My astig is 2.50 cannot go with the normal $180 crizal basic ah?

super365

Crizal basic is enough. no need what crizal advance. Below 300 degrees cheapest version of any brand is enough.

Choose Hoya I find it better because not so easily scratched.

Presto80

hi all

Can i check where can i find Markus T specs?
Want to try it out.

any bros has it and any feedback.

thank you

rayban

Crizal advance $480 is carroting or not? 1.6 index and dunno cut by diamond edge dunno what.

My astig is 2.50 cannot go with the normal $180 crizal basic ah?

1.67 index my degree 425 at jb do crizal blue control 600rm.... i think jb do cheaper....

OR you can always go oppa owndays do the lens , dont know what brand they use 98 dollar with bluecontrol

metamofia89

Oakley owners, say after 1 month if I find my frame not suited (causing discomfort) after changing to regular fit nosepad, can I request for the service center staffs to change my model of the same RP?

metamofia89

I got a problem here,

Shop A gave me this prescription: Right - SP: -3.25, CY: -200, AX: 160deg / Left - all same except AX: 54deg

Shop B gave Right - SP: -3.25, CY: -2.50, AX: 170deg / Left - all same except AX: 180deg

What dafark is this? My current spec is given by Shop A and been having issues even after changing the nosepad to regular fit. How sia?

metamofia89

Need to clarify, my prev specs has a base curve of 6 and my current one has a base curve of 4. I was told by an optician that for base 6 curve lenses, the astig is "not the same"? Is it possible? It's a crizal lense btw.

Problem is i just changed new specs with more/less the same prescription but with different frame. When i wear the new one i keep getting forehead/eyebrow strain. Now switch to my old ones also abit uncomfy maybe because the frame is slightly distorted.

What can be the potential issue here?

knn, today tio play by ah beng shop, tell me this frame HOYA no lens wor. 61 cm lens width, smlj, boycott that shop already
10puc8j.jpg

LaksaTitan

$120 for 1.56 325 degree both side Tokai Blue Control at my neighbourhood shop for spare frame found lying around, did I get scammed or not ah? :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.