Digital TV (DVB T2) Consolidated thread III

Status
Not open for further replies.

gregory_choo

Supremacy Member
Reaction score
Hi guys I own a Philips tv 46PFL6606H/12 and in the specs sheet it's stated to have DVB-C. Currently planning to terminate my Starhub cable subscription as it's not worth the monthly $.

Q:Can I still connect coaxial cable from the SCV wall box directly to my TV to receive FTA channels or do I need a stb/antenna for this?

Quite confused as this this model doesn't have Singapore listed in the region settings, mostly EU countries etc. So I'm not sure if I can even scan local frequencies?

Paiseh if I'm using terms wrongly, am a TV signal noob here :s11: I just need FTA channels for the family to watch some local programmes.

you can connect to the cable point and receive FTA channels, but starhub is not going to help you in future if you encounter any problems since you are not the subscriber anymore. Starhub will take care of the cable maintenance if you pay a small sum per year, but I don't think it is necessary now since we have DVB-t2 in the air.

since you have the tv, you can test your tv receiver by connecting TV's RF in to the cable point and do the tuning.

If you can't get it work with scv, just need to buy a $20 DVB-t2 box and problem solved. It is less than one month's subscription.

chester121

Reaction score
you can connect to the cable point and receive FTA channels, but starhub is not going to help you in future if you encounter any problems since you are not the subscriber anymore. Starhub will take care of the cable maintenance if you pay a small sum per year, but I don't think it is necessary now since we have DVB-t2 in the air.

since you have the tv, you can test your tv receiver by connecting TV's RF in to the cable point and do the tuning.

If you can't get it work with scv, just need to buy a $20 DVB-t2 box and problem solved. It is less than one month's subscription.