The Contact Lenses Thread

warhunter

I went down a shop to check out getting contact lenses. Ive astig in one eye so seems that dailies are out of the question. It was about $200+ to get a long term one. Is that a good price?

http://i.imgur.com/FWTqK76.jpg
Youre probably talking about conventional annual replacement lenses. 200 for 1 year. 200÷365 days. Tell me is that dirt cheap or what.

I wouldn't be surprised that its not silicone hydrogel. There are silicone hydrogen conventional lenses which are more breathable. Its not about price in contact lenses. Its about how healthy you can keep your eyes while enduring the side effects of contact lens wear.

200+ you still have to factor in solution costs, protein treatment costs.

Its your eyes. Price or health? You decide.

warhunter

I went down a shop to check out getting contact lenses. Ive astig in one eye so seems that dailies are out of the question. It was about $200+ to get a long term one. Is that a good price?

http://i.imgur.com/FWTqK76.jpg
You probably have monthly and biweekly disposable options. Talk to your optometrist. If he says no other option, you should find another guy

otacon

Doctors dont waste time fitting contact lenses (rose k) and if you do find one. Maybe they do it once every 3 months. Compared to optometrists who do it once every month? Its far off.
Once again opticians font fit contact lenses.
There's a doctor who does speialised lenses but only to people with cornea problems.

Maybe I should start to see doctor instead of optician
mind sharing your doctor?

i left the card at home, will share tonite or tmr once i get it

shop is at tpy, i chanced upon this shop who partners with a doctor n they recommended rose K. they r quite knowledgeable cos when i walked to other shops in tpy, they mostly dun carry this rose K or dun know abt rose K. They do not even have a doctor to look at my eyes.

this shop even gave me free checks before purchase n after purchase.

they did said not every doc r qualified to handle this lens but their doc is

warhunter

i left the card at home, will share tonite or tmr once i get it

shop is at tpy, i chanced upon this shop who partners with a doctor n they recommended rose K. they r quite knowledgeable cos when i walked to other shops in tpy, they mostly dun carry this rose K or dun know abt rose K. They do not even have a doctor to look at my eyes.

this shop even gave me free checks before purchase n after purchase.

they did said not every doc r qualified to handle this lens but their doc is

Rose K is just a specialised type of contact lenses. Every optometrist can fit rose K its just that that lens is for more complicated corneas and not every store has an optometrist who has done it before. You're probably talking about an optometrist not a doctor. You're probably referring to the point optical. Because they do special contact lenses. They're optometrists. Not doctors.

otacon

Rose K is just a specialised type of contact lenses. Every optometrist can fit rose K its just that that lens is for more complicated corneas and not every store has an optometrist who has done it before. You're probably talking about an optometrist not a doctor. You're probably referring to the point optical. Because they do special contact lenses. They're optometrists. Not doctors.

i dun optometrists or doc but she works in the clinic located upstairs of a optical shop. to me is either doc or optician

she would check my cornea n check the fitting of my lens. the 1 lens could not fit, so she sent it back n asked for another

anyway i have visited raffles clinic n asked to see an eye specialist for my cornea. they gave me prescription for my eyes n i showed it to the shop

warhunter

i dun optometrists or doc but she works in the clinic located upstairs of a optical shop. to me is either doc or optician

she would check my cornea n check the fitting of my lens. the 1 lens could not fit, so she sent it back n asked for another

anyway i have visited raffles clinic n asked to see an eye specialist for my cornea. they gave me prescription for my eyes n i showed it to the shop
You're talking about the point optical then. They have a contact lens clinic upstairs. Opticians are not allowed to do contact lenses. They are optometrists.

If you visit an eye doctor and they give u a prescription, your optometrist have to verify it again as eye doctors only sign their name on the prescription checked by the optometrist/optician they hired. They dont do the actual prescription check.

ftpofmpo

How safe are soft conventional lenses replaced yearly? After a month, I disposed my worn monthly lenses in a contact lens case (without a platinum disc) filled with fresh peroxide solution. After 2-3 weeks, the lens had turned cloudy :eek:

Peroxide solutions don't decompose so quickly

warhunter

How safe are soft conventional lenses replaced yearly? After a month, I disposed my worn monthly lenses in a contact lens case (without a platinum disc) filled with fresh peroxide solution. After 2-3 weeks, the lens had turned cloudy :eek:

Peroxide solutions don't decompose so quickly

No one can tell you how safe unless you go for regular aftercare.
Thats what the peroxide is there for mate. Its to kill bacteria. Soaking it without the disc exposes your lenses to the peroxide for a prolonged period. Of course it turns yellow. The physical property of the lens material will disintegrate.

You should get dailies if you dont wear it often. Even if you dont wear it for 30 days you still got to replace your monthly lenses every month.

ftpofmpo

Can rgp lens still be recommended in this day and age if soft lens can be worn? 3 and 9 o'clock staining are very common with rgp lenses. There doesn't seem to be much justification to continue with them, unless soft lenses are not suitable.

warhunter

Can rgp lens still be recommended in this day and age if soft lens can be worn? 3 and 9 o'clock staining are very common with rgp lenses. There doesn't seem to be much justification to continue with them, unless soft lenses are not suitable.

Of course. RGP still offers best corneal health and optics.
3-9 stain is not a contraindication. Its a consequence of a tight fitting lens. Mild 3-9 stain is OK. Japanese market still has large population of rgp wearers.

thean8el

No one can tell you how safe unless you go for regular aftercare.
Thats what the peroxide is there for mate. Its to kill bacteria. Soaking it without the disc exposes your lenses to the peroxide for a prolonged period. Of course it turns yellow. The physical property of the lens material will disintegrate.

You should get dailies if you dont wear it often. Even if you dont wear it for 30 days you still got to replace your monthly lenses every month.

mine soak few weeks with the lens solution still ok,btw for disposable lens monthly is there need get the special solution to clean (e.g.. after one week )

warhunter

mine soak few weeks with the lens solution still ok,btw for disposable lens monthly is there need get the special solution to clean (e.g.. after one week )
Depends on the material. The hydrogel ones probably does not degrade. Those silicon hhydergels ones probably will. Nowadays solutions have protein removal already. Very rarely needed in disposable type lenses

ftpofmpo

Depends on the material. The hydrogel ones probably does not degrade. Those silicon hhydergels ones probably will. Nowadays solutions have protein removal already. Very rarely needed in disposable type lenses

Turns out that cloudy layer can be wiped off, suspect it's protein layer denatured by the peroxide, either that or the growth of some biofilm resistant to peroxide... hopefully not

ftpofmpo

Are second and third generation silicone hydrogel more prone to creating non hypoxia related complications compared to traditional hydrogels?

First generation silicone hydrogels have been proven to, but the data on subsequent generations have not been so consistent, some small studies suggest they may, I think, but no large studies so far.

warhunter

Are second and third generation silicone hydrogel more prone to creating non hypoxia related complications compared to traditional hydrogels?

First generation silicone hydrogels have been proven to, but the data on subsequent generations have not been so consistent, some small studies suggest they may, I think, but no large studies so far.

What do you mean by non hypoxia related? Non-hypoxia is everything not related to lack of oxygen leh. Which means everything leh.

warhunter

Turns out that cloudy layer can be wiped off, suspect it's protein layer denatured by the peroxide, either that or the growth of some biofilm resistant to peroxide... hopefully not
but hor. Do yourself a favour. Dont use the lens anymore. Its old already.

boopit

hi!
I need to get some daily contact lenses from local shops. are the prices generally the same across the different shops? thinking of getting acuvue define

joph123

hi!
I need to get some daily contact lenses from local shops. are the prices generally the same across the different shops? thinking of getting acuvue define

Yes the prices are the same throughout all the stores. It's $64 per box for acuvue define if I'm not wrong.

If you happen to visit johor bahru, you should get contacts from the optometry shops in the shopping malls there. It's so much cheaper! I uses acuvue oasys, it cost $56 per box in SG, but in JB it's only RM100 which is like $32!

ftpofmpo

but hor. Do yourself a favour. Dont use the lens anymore. Its old already.

Yea, contact lens should not be over worn. Thus I'm highly doubtful that custom made lathe-cut contact lens should be worn for up to a year...

On the other hand, monthly lenses that are worn for only once a week and are properly cared for, are certainly very different at the end of the month from those that are worn daily. I believe there is room for a little leeway if cared for very carefully under the best conditions, but it will be better to just use disposable lenses. Not all disposable lenses might fit however

ftpofmpo

What do you mean by non hypoxia related? Non-hypoxia is everything not related to lack of oxygen leh. Which means everything leh.

Oh i mean things not related to oxygen and infections, such as giant papillary conjunctivitis, sterile corneal infiltrates etc.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.