Air conditioning - Any recommendations please??

goh6570

Anyone air con is midea? Care to share how isit pls

yeah looking at midea aircon
anyone has installed recently? what is the review?
or alternatively i am looking at panasonic

anyone has tried to engage JK aircon specialist for the service?
care to share the experience?

thank you

cheongking888

Hi

I noticed that usually the insulations at the condenser are rotten after many years of exposure to sunlight. Some cu pipes are practically exposed which I believe affected the performance of FCU.

What can be done to rectify those rotten insulations and also how to protect those newly insulations?

juswyq

Does anyone have experience with LG air con? The salesman at Gain City recommended but I am not sure how reliable it is. Looking at the 5 tick one.

axeter

Does anyone have experience with LG air con? The salesman at Gain City recommended but I am not sure how reliable it is. Looking at the 5 tick one.

stayed 20 years in this home. initially gain city service is gd. has installed 2 sets of aircon, first is fujitsu (if not wrong), second is toshiba(compressor electric board spoilt after 7-8years.)

3rd time with Gain city, reinstalled all the trunking and cabling.

have bad experience with LG air con and gain city. bought the 5star LG inverter from gain city cost $3888 with 5 year warranty.

installed in around aug 16. within 3-4 months, rollers in the 2 units get noisy. roller replaced, everything is fine.

within 5 months later, units not cooling, gain city technicians seems inexperience, came down quite a few times to check, do wrong things like release gas, and pump incorrect amount of gas. still says it's not their problem, says they earn comm by installing aircon. called their CS, ask me do an aircon servicing, i was like what, it's still so new.

nvm, i liaise with LG. LG came and check multiple times say no problem. in the end i have to request for monitoring system to connect overnight so they can see the reading themselves.
Till now Apr 17, still troubleshooting.
i can say the LG aircon is very inconsistent and not recommended.

type-r

Planning to install ftks25dvm system 4 x 9000btu
4mks80esg or 4mks80fsg would be a better choice ?

juswyq

5 ticks, i suggest Daikin or Mitsubishi Electric.

stayed 20 years in this home. initially gain city service is gd. has installed 2 sets of aircon, first is fujitsu (if not wrong), second is toshiba(compressor electric board spoilt after 7-8years.)

3rd time with Gain city, reinstalled all the trunking and cabling.

have bad experience with LG air con and gain city. bought the 5star LG inverter from gain city cost $3888 with 5 year warranty.

installed in around aug 16. within 3-4 months, rollers in the 2 units get noisy. roller replaced, everything is fine.

within 5 months later, units not cooling, gain city technicians seems inexperience, came down quite a few times to check, do wrong things like release gas, and pump incorrect amount of gas. still says it's not their problem, says they earn comm by installing aircon. called their CS, ask me do an aircon servicing, i was like what, it's still so new.

nvm, i liaise with LG. LG came and check multiple times say no problem. in the end i have to request for monitoring system to connect overnight so they can see the reading themselves.

Thank you for sharing your experience!!! this is invaluable advise for me. Thank you so much once again.

The gain city salesman said that daikin is not recommended because the indoor unit is flimsy... He showed me the LG unit which he said is "made in Korea" with higher quality plastic used in the indoor unit.

I guess I just got a salesman who gave me the wrong advise :D

But one common thing I hear from all salesmen is that the mitsubishi 5 tick model has humming problem. So I will go with Daikin.

For people considering to buy from Gain City, note that they currently have a promotion for free upgrading of piping and insulation for all brands except daikin. This makes daikin's pricing slightly less attractive than normal. but I will still go for it.

i-Movies

Looking for replacing 10 years old Daikin and repiping the entire home.

1. Gain City sales said 5 ticks is worse than 3 ticks because 5 ticks system is not powerful? It won't save much money and it may take very long time to get ppl feel cool, is that true?

2. Daikin has higher repair rate than Mitsubishi?

3. Is there any difference if I purchase from Harvey Norman vs Gain City? Gain City quoted me 9K for 1 sys2 + 1 sys2 + 1 sys1 + installation + pipping. Will I get higher or lower quotation from HN?

Thanks

Munchies

Looking for replacing 10 years old Daikin and repiping the entire home.

1. Gain City sales said 5 ticks is worse than 3 ticks because 5 ticks system is not powerful? It won't save much money and it may take very long time to get ppl feel cool, is that true?

2. Daikin has higher repair rate than Mitsubishi?

3. Is there any difference if I purchase from Harvey Norman vs Gain City? Gain City quoted me 9K for 1 sys2 + 1 sys2 + 1 sys1 + installation + pipping. Will I get higher or lower quotation from HN?

Thanks

Don't know about 2 and 3. I just got my daikin smile 5 ticks installed last week, cools really quick ~15 mins and its bit too cold for my liking if I set it at 23-24, so need to set at 25 :o. The fans are really powerful, so I set it at the lowest.

empirestrike

From Redcon Air... advise to go for Mitsubishi Electric or Daikin ( 3 tick )... Easy maintenance...:s13::s13:

Hang_Terra

Great thread. Looking for some advice on air-con for my new place. It's a resale 4room and planning aircon for just the bedrooms. Bedroom's aren't too big (largest is 3100 x 4100) so I suppose a 9k is enough based on what I read here?

Seems a lot recommending Daikin or Mitsubishi so i'm looking at those 2.

Usage is predominantly 1 room during bedtime (my kid sleeps with us in MBR and at most 2 aircons simultaneously if a guest sleeps over, with some ad-hoc use during the day (third bedroom is an office so some light use in the day only during warm weather). Looks like my usage is on the lower end (?) though I'm thinking of future-proofing for when my kid sleeps in her own room.

I suppose 5 ticks would be overkill correct? With such a low usage it might take too long to "recover" the initial premium.

No aircon installed previously at the place so no external bracket present (guess more costs zzz). Any advice on the configuration I should get and what to look out for in the installation/piping types?

I emailed coldengine since they were mentioned here and waiting for their advice/quote. Any other recommended vendors would be appreciated.

kaysee

Wah sian. I'm considering LG also. Anybody else have experience with LG? I think maybe you Kena the bad units ba?

axeter

Wah sian. I'm considering LG also. Anybody else have experience with LG? I think maybe you Kena the bad units ba?

ya, bro, possibility i sway sway kena the bad one.
but problem is taking more than 6 months to troubleshoot and counting.

Sunisout

Hi, in need of advice from experts here. I am look for cost effective way to aircon my resale 3rm hdb flat. The dimensions are as indicated:
Living room - 5380x3230
Dining area - 2545x3230
(Living and dining are connected but with a storeroom in between. Not allowed to hack it away :()
MBR - 4955x2970
Common room - 4180x2970
A few questions in mind:
1) better to get system 4?
2) planning to get Daikin Smile series. If my usage is about twice a week, 6-8 hours, with living+dining and a room concurrently, how many ticks should i get?
3) the recommended btu for the individual rooms?

Thank you in advance for the help 😊

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.