Overseas shopping vs local

ZarZar05

Reaction score
Hello!

I'd like to first apologise if my questions seems stupid, or if it is in the wrong thread. It's my first time on discussion forums and I'm pretty lost as to the general rules governing HWZ. Please let me know if this does not belong here, and I'll promptly delete it and move it to the Sony TV thread! Also, please excuse me if I accidentally offend anyone as a result of this post.

I've read through the thread multiple times to try to find an answer to my questions but haven't been able to. I'm terribly sorry if the answer to my questions can be found in the thread - please be assured that I'm not trying to be lazy, and not read before asking. Okay here goes:

I'm actually interested in buying a Sony 49X900E (US version) from Amazon because its so much cheaper than the 49X9000E (European/SG version). The product is sold by Amazon with a 1 year Limited warranty i'm guessing is only valid in the US. Nevertheless i'm considering asking Sony if they would sell an international warranty for that (but this is not the purpose of the post).

My questions stem from two differences I found between the X900E and X9000E specifications, namely the voltage output, and the ATSC/DVB-T2 receiver.

1. Both the X900E and the X9000E has "AC 110-240v 50/60hz 19.5DC" specified in their power/voltage output. Does this mean that this TV can be plugged into a power source with output between 110-240v, and hence I would not have to purchase a step-up transformer to convert from 110v to 220-240v as in the older US TV models?