Malaysia prepaid card

sendtolee

hey...

i was in jb last sunday. didnt really wanted to get a card as just going there for a 1/2 day..

but got curious at city square... and walked into a digi shop.. i asked... how much for the pre paid card.. got quoted RM39 for some 'digi live'?? that is the only thing i saw on their wall..

i walked to the other shop.. but no one seem to want to entertain me...

RM39 seems quite a bit to me... from what i see in this thread.. its maybe like RM10-15??? so how can a Singaporean buy a prepiad card for the right price? ?? hahah

maybe people will say i am cheapskate.. but the fact remain.. its suppose to be cheaper?

Kena chopped carrot...

zhaohan

hey...

i was in jb last sunday. didnt really wanted to get a card as just going there for a 1/2 day..

but got curious at city square... and walked into a digi shop.. i asked... how much for the pre paid card.. got quoted RM39 for some 'digi live'?? that is the only thing i saw on their wall..

RM39 seems quite a bit to me... from what i see in this thread.. its maybe like RM10-15??? so how can a Singaporean buy a prepiad card for the right price? ?? hahah

maybe people will say i am cheapskate.. but the fact remain.. its suppose to be cheaper?

just go up to the shop and say u want the 8rm digi card

youhsueh

hey...

Normally most telco shop in malls wants to chop Sporean carrot by upselling the Sim Card with Data Plan.

Can consider buying your Sim Card in those kiosk/booths or maybe further away from CIQ where they would usually retail the Sim Card itself at RM8-10.

hellhole

just go up to the shop and say u want the 8rm digi card
heh... i did ask if there is another kind.. but they say dun have.. haha

Kena chopped carrot...

end up i never buy as i only going like 2-3 hours..

Normally most telco shop in malls wants to chop Sporean carrot by upselling the Sim Card with Data Plan.
Can consider buying your Sim Card in those kiosk/booths or maybe further away from CIQ where they would usually retail the Sim Card itself at RM8-10.

i actually do not mind if the card they sell has already top up some extra data. but at least i know what i can getting..

so if the 8rm sim card.. has no data at all? or just maybe 500MB? then usually rm 10 dollar get you how much data?

like i said... this thread is super long!!! haha.. cant read everything...

LobsterX

RM10 - get hotlink. activation 3 days fo 300mb free.
card valid for 5days. if manage to overlap into saturday and sunday,
you get to enjoy 1gb data on saturday and 1gb data on sunday.
if you extended stay in jb, sunday night download the hotlink red app.
upon activation of the app to your mobile number,
another 2-3days free data[i think 1gb?]

you need to scroll back the pages to see the details we posted....
bo bian.... diffcult to spoon feed sometimes....:s22::s22::s22::s22:

i actually do not mind if the card they sell has already top up some extra data. but at least i know what i can getting..

so if the 8rm sim card.. has no data at all? or just maybe 500MB? then usually rm 10 dollar get you how much data?

youhsueh

Those people upselling the SIM Cards with Bundles are just trying to earn more commission. They usually subscribe you to those Weekly/Monthly Data bundles that you won't even need for a short trip one to two days to JB.

Usually, the RM8 starter pack should suffice since it comes preloaded with about 300MB data depending on Telco. Some telcos even offer free data (1GB from Hotlink) when you first download their App.

matrix05

Those people upselling the SIM Cards with Bundles are just trying to earn more commission. They usually subscribe you to those Weekly/Monthly Data bundles that you won't even need for a short trip one to two days to JB.

Usually, the RM8 starter pack should suffice since it comes preloaded with about 300MB data depending on Telco. Some telcos even offer free data (1GB from Hotlink) when you first download their App.

This seems to be the best for the 3 - 7 days tourist. RM8 (~S$2.50) Digi Prepaid gives you RM5 talktime & 300MB internet valid for 7 days.

sFerragamo

Just sharing! I went to city square a few times non of the shops want to entertain me for prepaid card. Always tell me system down cant register. So i went to enquire a few kiosks outside cs and all quote me rm20. I have never managed to find the rm10 cards that this forum keep mentioning. Either information is wrong or i go incorrect kisoks.

lotusnotes

NEVER, NEVER!!! use $7 / 1GB / 7 Days.

Use $5 / 1GB / 3 Days + $1 / 10MB / 7 Days.
You get $6 / 1.01GB / 10 Days

I browsed the URL, can't see the $5 / 1GB / 3 Days plan, I only see $7 / 1GB / 7 Days.

Can you share from where you see from? thanks :)

zzxxzzxx

I browsed the URL, can't see the $5 / 1GB / 3 Days plan, I only see $7 / 1GB / 7 Days.

Can you share from where you see from? thanks :)

Starhub Happy Prepaid - Data Plan

Starhub_Happy_Prepaid_Data_Plan.png

andy1982

Just sharing! I went to city square a few times non of the shops want to entertain me for prepaid card. Always tell me system down cant register. So i went to enquire a few kiosks outside cs and all quote me rm20. I have never managed to find the rm10 cards that this forum keep mentioning. Either information is wrong or i go incorrect kisoks.

Welcome to Malaysia.... Truely Asia.

Anyway the starter pack is $15 for hotlink. I got it directly from the maxis store. Don't think they will cheat.... Right? LoL.

City square shops always sell stuff more experensive, especially SIM cards cause they know only tourist will buy it there.

So far no regrets getting my hotlink card. Just makes everything more convenient

youhsueh

System Down? Must be the Hotlink (Maxis) Store. Their registration system down for almost 2 years liao..

JJughead

No idea about Sentosa.

I was in Genting.

Outdoor, indoor, hotel lobby, hotel room (First World and Resort Hotel) = 4G 95% of the time with damn good LTE speed.

Inside the casinos = Switching between 4G and H+ all the time depending on which spots you are inside the casinos.

During my journey along NS Highway between Singapore and Genting, 4G all the time, all the way!

In summary, CELCOM based XOX card is simply awesome!

Buying from that TS is convenience! He got my xox card registered and mailed it out to me in just 1.5 hours after confirming the deal. I received my xox card on that 3rd business day.

You can pick it up personally from him at Woodland area too!

Hi! I am interested in getting the SIM card for use in Genting. Who do I contact, please?

Habrosus

p_eppermint

hi guys, some qns for hotlink prepaid:

1) if i'm gg for a weekend trip (sat to mon), & top up an additional RM5 on top of whatever amt comes with the normal prepaid sim, the card will be valid for 1 mth, am i right? i understand it becomes inactive after 5 days, but the card wont expire yet right?

2) if i visit m'sia again one mth later, do i still have to top up before using the card? (assuming the card inside still got $ leftover from prev trip)

3) for those RM3/day bundle, is it everytime i enter i'll have to purchase the bundle? if not they'll deduct the $ inside the card on a pay per use basis? <-- understand that this would suck all the $ inside dry if you dont purchase the bundle, as this was my prev experience with m'sia prepaid lol

thanks in advance for all help & advice!! :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.