Need advise on IT Security role

vampool

Master Member
Reaction score
Hi,
Just a bit of background. I worked as a primarily desktop support in the past but also helped in patching server (windows),basic troubleshooting of server (windows),AD administration, managing SEPM Manager, Surfcontrol and Lumension Sanctuary. Right now I am doing proactive monitoring and as a 1.5 support for windows servers/linux/unix. Total work exp is 9yrs close to 10yrs exp.

I was thinking of directly going for CISSP but I not sure whether my 7yrs of AD administration, managing SEPM Manager, Surfcontrol and Lumension Sanctuary are considered as 2 domains in the CISSP. I want to move toward security role, it is a decision that I have been considering for close to a year and right now I do not want to hesitate anymore; I am not that young anymore :o 35.

The problem is IT Security job requires alot of exp and Certification and I highly doubt I can get in with my current credential. One friend recommend me to take CEH to enter into the market, the other friend said take CISSP when you still young; better memory to handle theory.

Now 3 question:
1. Should I go CEH or CISSP?

2. If I take CEH, any recommendation of place to take the course where the practical are much better? I do not just want a cert, I want the knowledge and the skills.

3. If I take CISSP direct, do I qualified for the minimum 2 domain?

P.S: Sorry for wall of text (damage 999 dealt)

seesiang

Reaction score
security is a wide spectrum.

You already had one related experience, SEPM, and symantec is one of the corporate that is actively hiring based on my understanding.

A quick summary: Security is part of IT domain. IT domain is wide too.

Somethings that you may understand, IT domain may include networking, IT support, development, system support etc.