[OFFICIAL] Taiwan Guide and Taiwan related matters - Part 8

seianko

Guys, this will be the first time for my wife and I to go xinbeitou. (though we have been to Taipei couple of times). Can we have recommendations of pte hotspring experience and what are the attractions we should check it out when we are there? Going in mid Nov. Thank you so much :)

Sent from Xiaomi MI PAD 4 using GAGT
i went grand view. cos they allow reservations in advance.

u can ask for lu4tian1 pte room. not much there, u can collect booklets at the MRT, 1 day can finish everything. be aware there nth much to makan =(

whywhy80

ur itinerary very pack.......feels like each location see look 30-45 mins and need to move on

u have to be sure that the people in ur group have good physicality and stamina
personal take, 黃金瀑布 can skip. its really not consider as waterfall IMHO, the taiwanese very good in twisting. if u really wan, u can replace that w 7-du manmade water fall(someone correct me if i am wrong)

hotsprings.... this trip i really do many homework! not many offer 4 ppl pte bath use. mostly is 2 pax per room. diff soup hv diff speciality. if u r staying at yilan, just check into a hotel in jiaosi w that facility. take out 1 -2 items in ur yilan trip. yes bath towards end of trip is very worthwhile

another personal take - NM is same everywhere. perhaps only 2 specialty food on each area(province). whatever food i see in fengjia, is same as what i see in zhongxiao, yizhong, shilin, taoyuan. only keelung slight different cos it is by the sea more "sea" items. which also means what i see in keelung will be thereabouts in yilan and luodong. this time huadong, again my missed out areas, partly i cannot get any tickets + lack of time ==> which also heng cos if i do have tickets, i will be in that fated langga train

earthquake was interesting....the building really SWAY n SWAY
Thanks for the fast reply...

I haven been there for 10 years, totally no idea...
From where to where, how long we will be at each destination, how long is the journey and all. We will be booking car for these 6 days though, i dunno if it will be easier..
Can u recommend which are the items that can be taken out from each day?

So u will suggest we stay in a hotspring hotel at jiaosi?
Can skip Luodong NM?
Got any good hotels or minsu to recommend in Jiaosi?
we have 3 pax, sharing a room :)

seianko

Thanks for the fast reply...

I haven been there for 10 years, totally no idea...
From where to where, how long we will be at each destination, how long is the journey and all. We will be booking car for these 6 days though, i dunno if it will be easier..
Can u recommend which are the items that can be taken out from each day?

So u will suggest we stay in a hotspring hotel at jiaosi?
Can skip Luodong NM?
Got any good hotels or minsu to recommend in Jiaosi?
we have 3 pax, sharing a room :)
go book for triple family room

i would advise to siam agoda if u can. very dodgy

if u hv driver, then book the one closer to the final destination of the day. cos u will be dead tired
OR, book one that is nearer to first destination in the morning, where u siam morning traffic (dependent what is ur set off time)
my group all early birds

ur trip can have 2 hotspring .... but this one have to ask ur driver plan, personally the smell of hotspring in taichung is more fragrant LOL sun-moon that side also hv a few good ones. this one u must ask calk to gaisiu u
i use to go lu-shan until 921 wreck the whole place. i prefer annie castle over paper box king.

cannot say which one "shud " take out. best is u google for image that shud tell u if thats ur place to go. the image will be lesser than what u see in real

NM, dun need to be fixed. if u are tired, then that day dun go, if u are not is can go.

whywhy80

if u hv driver, then book the one closer to the final destination of the day. cos u will be dead tired
OR, book one that is nearer to first destination in the morning, where u siam morning traffic (dependent what is ur set off time)
my group all early birds

ur trip can have 2 hotspring .... but this one have to ask ur driver plan, personally the smell of hotspring in taichung is more fragrant LOL sun-moon that side also hv a few good ones. this one u must ask calk to gaisiu u
i use to go lu-shan until 921 wreck the whole place. i prefer annie castle over paper box king.
I hear u say packed, i a bit worried...
3 of us, the other 2 are old ladies - my mum and aunty... 60+
They can walk lah.. just maybe not alot...

Normally i try to use booking.com
But reviews sometimes cannot be trusted lor :s22:
I will need go look at the schedule again and decide what needs to be taken out to "unpack" it :o

Oh... so if i forgo 黃金瀑布 means oso forgo 陰陽海?
Taichung and SML got hotspring too?
Cal! pls assist! :s13:

Annie castle, need go google more...
Wah.... super messy :s13:

seianko

I will need go look at the schedule again and decide what needs to be taken out to "unpack" it :o

fj MUST avoid weekend. if weekend, i shud say go yizhong.

my group have pensioners but my old ppl very hardy type, can walk 10km a day w heavy bag. cos my trip everything is F&E.

i use tripadvisors as backup review.

if it helps, i stay in diary hotel at taipei, kaifeng. i basically wash n dry my clothes there before leaving for airport LOL! so that go back sg dun need to do anything liao
they have other freebies too :crazy:

陰陽海....i no comment...since i hv been spoilt by pink lake -- a natural phenomenal of high mineral in water
so 陰陽海 i only see "muddy" water again my personal take.

calkel20

i went grand view. cos they allow reservations in advance.

u can ask for lu4tian1 pte room. not much there, u can collect booklets at the MRT, 1 day can finish everything. be aware there nth much to makan =(

Can always stand by some handy snacks or fruits.
We always do that when overseas.

calkel20

my group all early birds

cannot say which one "shud " take out. best is u google for image that shud tell u if thats ur place to go. the image will be lesser than what u see in real

NM, dun need to be fixed. if u are tired, then that day dun go, if u are not is can go.

Lushan so long ago.
Tells so much about one’s age.
LoL!

calkel20

Also need to knw when u are going
Diff month diff activities.

calkel20

my group all early birds

Hot spring wise, twn ppl will say beitou all piped back to residential.
Wulai still okay.
Luodong, can go su-ao for cold spring.
Jiaoxi too.
But then jiaoxi one not shiok.
Latest i went was beipu cold spring.
Good.
But a good 6km one way.
Two siao kia walked about 1hr plus.
Fun indeed.

calkel20

Calkel!
Pls give me some info on hotspring in taichung and SML :o
And oso your opinion on the itinerary :o

Hotspring i dun do there one.
Taichung only those typical ones.
Now got flora expo, search 花博2018.
SML, typical ones, tour ard lake and enjoy at 向山遊客中心。
All google and check.
SML quite boring unless u intend to cycle or etc.
Cruise and also 9族文化村.
Take cable car 9 times also can.
LoL!

calkel20

Next year.... early march...
10D9N - will spend 3 nights in taipei

F&E 2 days in taipei.. - any suggestions?

Month end is 海域。
FnE is easily solved.
Now plan full trip and see how. Buy tickets.
For older folks take better airlines ba.
A bit more for their comfort.

seianko

Lushan so long ago.
Tells so much about one’s age.
LoL!
i asho never say i am young...just that i tell ppl i am old no one believes (in edmw)

Hot spring wise, twn ppl will say beitou all piped back to residential.
Wulai still okay.
Luodong, can go su-ao for cold spring.
Jiaoxi too.
But then jiaoxi one not shiok.
Latest i went was beipu cold spring.
Good.
But a good 6km one way.
Two siao kia walked about 1hr plus.
Fun indeed.

beitou is really convenience sake. esp i am doing F&E with a group of pensioners. i got consider goldhill before but they dun fancy trip to goldhill in general so i axed it

seianko

Next year.... early march...
10D9N - will spend 3 nights in taipei

F&E 2 days in taipei.. - any suggestions?
taipei, can go hangzhou xlb
worth value. better than DTF.

or spend 1 day, take guoguang bus to keelung-yeliu. actually ur paid trip that goes to shifen....shud consider shifen + yeliu.
if u are at jiufen, see see rook rook is ok, dun eat anything there. among my clique of friends including taiwanese who travel over last 3 years, none was spare of foodpoisoning in jiufen. but 9fen too much steps so i skip it in my itinerary for oldies

my whole trip, best food review was the foodcourt at taroko mall.... am quite surprise TBH

calkel20

i asho never say i am young...just that i tell ppl i am old no one believes (in edmw)

beitou is really convenience sake. esp i am doing F&E with a group of pensioners. i got consider goldhill before but they dun fancy trip to goldhill in general so i axed it
金山 convenient if u go to yehliu.
Can have lunch and hotspring there.
金山鴨, heard very nice.
Think got sea-facing views too!

calkel20

my whole trip, best food review was the foodcourt at taroko mall.... am quite surprise TBH

No leh.
I go 點水樓。
Less touristy, but higher SES!
The tea also damn good!

whywhy80

Month end is 海域。
FnE is easily solved.
Now plan full trip and see how. Buy tickets.
For older folks take better airlines ba.
A bit more for their comfort.
What is 海域? :s11:
I had booked the air tickets liao..
got it on SQ during promo in Sep, got at a good price $499.70/pax (no seat selection) - SQ876 and SQ879

Thanks for info, will note down for reference :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.