Manchester United - Theatre of Dreams - Part 33

Asakura

its not about x amount of dollars spent. we have been overpaying for players. Fred 50m for example

is this even a squad to challenge for title against what others have?

a squad with Valencia Young Smalling and den best cover is Darmian Jones Rojo
Mata at right wing with the best alternative Lingard.

i wanna see the next manager come and use the same squad and win something.
spurs spend less than us yet is above us.

Hypernova

frankly speaking, i think it's not the tactics, but the man management lah.

during SAF's era many of us already saying so and so not good enough for the squad, but SAF keeps winning titles.

we still think that given the current squad we have, SAF would be able to mount a decent challenge, something i believe is possible. our players are not that mediocre.

JM's problem seems to be more towards keeping the squad play winning football week in week out. after all, he really did win several titles with other teams, so you can't say he can't win with a park-the-bus mentality.

it's just that the players can't seem to sustain their good form long enough. how long has it that we hear our gk went on a clean sheet for over 5 games in a row? how many games can our forwards score consecutively? last count, 3 games for martial. in the past, we have players that can score for 8 or 9 consecutive games.

i believe what JM needs to do now is to recall how he managed to make almost every chelsea player play well consistently.

read:
Chelsea's 04-05 title winning squad
1 Czech Republic GK Petr Čech
2 England DF Glen Johnson
4 France MF Claude Makélélé[1]
5 Russia MF Alexey Smertin
6 Portugal DF Ricardo Carvalho
8 England MF Frank Lampard
9 Serbia and Montenegro FW Mateja Kežman
10 England MF Joe Cole
11 Republic of Ireland MF Damien Duff
13 France DF William Gallas
14 England DF Wayne Bridge
15 Ivory Coast FW Didier Drogba
16 Netherlands MF Arjen Robben
18 Cameroon MF Geremi
19 England MF Scott Parker
20 Portugal DF Paulo Ferreira
22 Iceland FW Eiður Guðjohnsen
23 Italy GK Carlo Cudicini
24 Finland FW Mikael Forssell[2]
26 England DF John Terry (captain)
27 Czech Republic MF Jiří Jarošík
29 Germany DF Robert Huth
30 Portugal MF Tiago
31 Portugal MF Filipe Oliveira
32 Scotland DF Steven Watt
33 Portugal MF Nuno Morais
40 England GK Lenny Pidgeley
42 England MF Anthony Grant

united 04-05 squad
1 GK United States Tim Howard
2 DF England Gary Neville
3 DF England Phil Neville
4 DF Argentina Gabriel Heinze
5 DF England Rio Ferdinand
6 DF England Wes Brown
7 FW Portugal Cristiano Ronaldo
8 FW England Wayne Rooney
9 FW France Louis Saha
10 FW Netherlands Ruud van Nistelrooy
11 MF Wales Ryan Giggs
12 FW France David Bellion
13 GK Northern Ireland Roy Carroll
14 FW England Alan Smith
15 MF Brazil Kléberson
16 MF Republic of Ireland Roy Keane (c)
17 MF Republic of Ireland Liam Miller
18 MF England Paul Scholes
19 MF Cameroon Eric Djemba-Djemba
20 FW Norway Ole Gunnar Solskjær
21 FW Uruguay Diego Forlán
22 DF Republic of Ireland John O'Shea
23 MF England Kieran Richardson
24 MF Scotland Darren Fletcher
25 MF South Africa Quinton Fortune
27 DF France Mikaël Silvestre
28 DF Spain Gerard Piqué
29 DF United States Jonathan Spector
31 MF England David Jones
33 MF England Chris Eagles
35 GK Spain Ricardo
40 FW England Sylvan Ebanks-Blake
42 FW Italy Giuseppe Rossi

how on earth would chelsea be able to match us that season? only through consistency. right now, we need JM to be able to motivate his players to play consistently.

guile

frankly speaking, i think it's not the tactics, but the man management lah.

during SAF's era many of us already saying so and so not good enough for the squad, but SAF keeps winning titles.

we still think that given the current squad we have, SAF would be able to mount a decent challenge, something i believe is possible. our players are not that mediocre.

JM's problem seems to be more towards keeping the squad play winning football week in week out. after all, he really did win several titles with other teams, so you can't say he can't win with a park-the-bus mentality.

it's just that the players can't seem to sustain their good form long enough. how long has it that we hear our gk went on a clean sheet for over 5 games in a row? how many games can our forwards score consecutively? last count, 3 games for martial. in the past, we have players that can score for 8 or 9 consecutive games.

i believe what JM needs to do now is to recall how he managed to make almost every chelsea player play well consistently.

read:
Chelsea's 04-05 title winning squad
1 Czech Republic GK Petr Čech
2 England DF Glen Johnson
4 France MF Claude Makélélé[1]
5 Russia MF Alexey Smertin
6 Portugal DF Ricardo Carvalho
8 England MF Frank Lampard
9 Serbia and Montenegro FW Mateja Kežman
10 England MF Joe Cole
11 Republic of Ireland MF Damien Duff
13 France DF William Gallas
14 England DF Wayne Bridge
15 Ivory Coast FW Didier Drogba
16 Netherlands MF Arjen Robben
18 Cameroon MF Geremi
19 England MF Scott Parker
20 Portugal DF Paulo Ferreira
22 Iceland FW Eiður Guðjohnsen
23 Italy GK Carlo Cudicini
24 Finland FW Mikael Forssell[2]
26 England DF John Terry (captain)
27 Czech Republic MF Jiří Jarošík
29 Germany DF Robert Huth
30 Portugal MF Tiago
31 Portugal MF Filipe Oliveira
32 Scotland DF Steven Watt
33 Portugal MF Nuno Morais
40 England GK Lenny Pidgeley
42 England MF Anthony Grant

united 04-05 squad
1 GK United States Tim Howard
2 DF England Gary Neville
3 DF England Phil Neville
4 DF Argentina Gabriel Heinze
5 DF England Rio Ferdinand
6 DF England Wes Brown
7 FW Portugal Cristiano Ronaldo
8 FW England Wayne Rooney
9 FW France Louis Saha
10 FW Netherlands Ruud van Nistelrooy
11 MF Wales Ryan Giggs
12 FW France David Bellion
13 GK Northern Ireland Roy Carroll
14 FW England Alan Smith
15 MF Brazil Kléberson
16 MF Republic of Ireland Roy Keane (c)
17 MF Republic of Ireland Liam Miller
18 MF England Paul Scholes
19 MF Cameroon Eric Djemba-Djemba
20 FW Norway Ole Gunnar Solskjær
21 FW Uruguay Diego Forlán
22 DF Republic of Ireland John O'Shea
23 MF England Kieran Richardson
24 MF Scotland Darren Fletcher
25 MF South Africa Quinton Fortune
27 DF France Mikaël Silvestre
28 DF Spain Gerard Piqué
29 DF United States Jonathan Spector
31 MF England David Jones
33 MF England Chris Eagles
35 GK Spain Ricardo
40 FW England Sylvan Ebanks-Blake
42 FW Italy Giuseppe Rossi

how on earth would chelsea be able to match us that season? only through consistency. right now, we need JM to be able to motivate his players to play consistently.

SAF trains average players to become world class, JM trains world class players to become average. Ever noticed how our past players become average after we sold them to lower teams? Only a handful became better or maintained their level of play.

Heck even LVG can make the pairing of Blind and Smalling look World Class..
It all boils down to tactics, training and motivation from the managers.

That's how Derby beat us...their players are no way better than ours, but with the right tactics and motivation, they can still outperform and beat us.

Asakura

only remember reading fans say van Gaal's tactics was dinosaur age, passing all over the pitch, crazy training making everyone injured and dont know how to motivate his players alwis sit at coach bench. :s13:

Asakura

lL1Yb93.jpg

apeape

all i want is an attacking mindset manager like SAF not a defensive one...since when we became like that...losing our attacking mojo

Sent from Somewhere Out There using GAGT

Apparently JM can flip prata and cook rendang in a team that specializes in fish and chips when Woody wants Escargot.

YorYor

Wrong, EdW doesn't care what food JoseM cooks because it doesn't affect his appetite.

apeape

honestly, you all like meh JM tactics? you like how the team is playing? I read someone below say LVG tactics is pass, pass, pass, Moyes was this and that.... you all seriously ok with JM Tactics after all the frustrations with Moyes and LVG? lets not put woody in this pic for now.

apeape

Wrong, EdW doesn't care what food JoseM cooks because it doesn't affect his appetite.

i think its already quite obvious Woody knows nothing about football... let me rephrase that; he's not responsible for the football.

apeape

and my last point. just read a report, do you know the EPL is planning to reduce the foreign players in each squad to 12? and the rest have to be british players. do you know how many foreign players we have now.

something to ponder about if you think buying in players will solve our problems

I thought this was implemented redi?

I actually like this rule, but that only means Smalling is here to stay :s13::s13::s13:

apeape

British Man utd formation;

Lee Grant

Axel Tuanzebe
Jones
Smalling
Shaw

McTominay
Hamilton
no other british mf

Rashford
Lingard
no other british striker.

:s13::s13::s13:

the 12 foreign player rule ok liao. but if they change the ruling to half of the first 11 to be British most teams, including us, die liao

Swordsman

Apparently JM can flip prata and cook rendang in a team that specializes in fish and chips when Woody wants Escargot.

woody want restaurant fullhouse everyday regardless what they cooking.

123kidy

I thought this was implemented redi?

I actually like this rule, but that only means Smalling is here to stay :s13::s13::s13:

no. currently is 17 per squad. thats why all the rich clubs can go crazy with signings

then they come out with FFP rules to prevent overspending

now they going to reduce to 12.

but if im not wrong, a youth player who is from another country can play 5yrs in England and wont be considered a foreign player

why would mancity with all their oil money buy up land in manchester and build a massive youth academy and recruit all the young FT and english talents and then send them out on loan to get experience.

too eng, too much money? or rather they have plan for the future?

look at their lineup against us over the weekend. they can probably play together at least for the next 7-8yrs

i have nothing against buying older experienced player if he's truly a exceptional player like RVP. i dont even care if we spend 150m if a 30yr scores 40 goals a season for us
but he needs to be the right type and not buying as stop gap measure.
my point is that older player need to be alot better than the current ones to improve the team.

saw this clip online today

talk about the signings and also the board not buying a defender for JM
JM wanting older players and the board want young players
naysayers will say they are talking cock but they pretty much echo i was thinking

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.