*Official* Shiny Things club - Part 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

tankahkee

Reaction score
Hi All,

Does anyone know if there are any recommended ETFs for s&p 500 shariah index? And whether it's possible to purchase them via IB?

ularlah

Reaction score
1) Stanchart's FX cost is about 0.5% on the way in and 0.5% on the way out, so call it $10-ish a month. Basically you'd save $20 or so a month on brokerage and FX costs.
2) Change to IB. Yes, it allows joint accounts.

Hi so if i am just starting out and buying about 5/6k of iwda every 3/4 months is it better to use stanchart even if the FX cost is worse due to the min fee every month for ibkr?

BBCWatcher

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score
Does anyone know if there are any recommended ETFs for s&p 500 shariah index? And whether it's possible to purchase them via IB?
As a direct answer, and assuming you are a non-U.S. person, take a look at the iShares MSCI USA Islamic ETF (ticker symbol ISUS on the London Stock Exchange). ISUS tracks a different index (of 144 U.S. large capitalization stocks rather than the S&P 500 Shariah Index's 240), and I have serious concerns about the fund size and its limited trading volume, but it's probably the best all around, closest match to what you specifically request.

But I don't think you should overweight U.S. listed stocks unless you're quite sure that's what you want to do, and with some good reason(s). Another fund, ISWD, is a global stock index fund with a shariah filter applied. I have the same basic concerns, but at least it's a more diversified fund holding 509 stocks listed/traded around the investable world.

To repeat, I am assuming you are solely tax resident in Singapore and not a U.S. person.

rararara

Suspended
Reaction score
Hi! I am signing up for an FSMone personal account, and was wondering if anyone has a referral code?

feralslash

Reaction score