Recommendation: Reliable workshops in JB

myviowner

Noted. Thanks

Alternatively, i have been using this workshop in Permas Jaya. Go by woodlands.

LTEN PRO
23, Jalan Permas 9/9, Bandar Permas Jaya, 81750 Masai, Johor

Contact Ah Chen @ +60127942588.

There is a Aeon which is 5mins walk away. Plenty of food there. Couple of tune shops around there too....

Usually, i will leave my ride and contact number with the workshop. Then jalan at Aeon. When there is some other area of the car need to be replaced/ repaired, workshop will whatsapp me with photo and ask want to do or not else just wait for the workshop to PM when is done.

myviowner

one popular stockist quoted me original part which is way too ex...

the issue is Denso parts in MY really Denso ?

Will offer my notes when i get the quotes...

Denso has a sales office and manufacturing plant in Malaysia. Supply to Proton and Perodua.
Even part shop claim is legit Denso, can't really tell from exterior though. Had a few years working experience in Denso found difficult to even myself. :s13:

luv_boa

Depends on the price difference. But why not go original if you can if price isn’t unaffordable. You gonna keep the car right? You want decent reliability. Going in and out of workshop is no fun.

True. Ok I will just get original from stockist and go to ah yuan for fixing haha.

xVrooMx

Since you guys are talking about reliability of the brand. Can I ask if Mitsubishi parts & KYB parts original from Malaysia? I got quoted by Ah Yuan and when I compare with sg workshop, Ah Yuan is approximately 40% cheaper. Not doubting Ah Yuan but just the parts source. In fact, getting from sg stockist is still more expensive than Ah Yuan.

chirpydragon

Denso has a sales office and manufacturing plant in Malaysia. Supply to Proton and Perodua.
Even part shop claim is legit Denso, can't really tell from exterior though. Had a few years working experience in Denso found difficult to even myself. :s13:

No prejudice but Proton/Perodua and Toyota can be a world of difference...

Denso MY likely to manufacture auto parts for other car make ??

Otherwise, it's likely to be imported...

these days a lot of local stockist take Toyota originals manufactured in Thailand...which has a price differential..

Little_orc

This a well known problem with Audi and BMW, there is no permanent cure cos it's the gasket material that is unable to withstand our weather.

Change already a few years down the road, the problem will reappear.

Sent from Xiaomi MI MAX 2 using GAGT

In this case, can we ignore and and just keep topping up the oil?

Little_orc

i think you can try edgeworks euro at mount austin. personally i been there before. Price i feel still ok but i think not all is cheap. The workshop can be abit busy so make an appoinment and go there early. Workshop is mend by friendly boss.

Actually JB there is a few VAG car so call specialist. You can fb and compare price.

Yes, i msged them in the fb and explained them the situation. They just said this required overhaul and quoted me RM8.8k. Not sure this overhaul is meant to replace pistons, rings or any other parts.

xiaozhi86

Yes, i msged them in the fb and explained them the situation. They just said this required overhaul and quoted me RM8.8k. Not sure this overhaul is meant to replace pistons, rings or any other parts.

8.8k? that not really cheap eh. i think sg also 2-3k max. what is your car?

Mind to share AhYuan workshop? He might able to fix my drinking oil problem too.

Not sure he can do vag car anot but if ask him change part like control arm bushing, engine mount all these no issue as i go before too. ah yuan carclick workshop you can search in here.

HellHunter

that what i think so also. if sg charge around 3k, make no sense to go jb do it. maybe ah yuan can really do vag car piston ring crack replacement.

Yeh, it's the typical chop carrot shop modus operandi..they see SG plate or number etc and they mark down what it costs to do it in SG by 10-20% and quote. So many people in SG first time doing work there and some even repeat will think the 10-20% is a good enough deal/savings. If ah yuan can do will be really good. Can see what the job really costs there. :s13:

My own car previous owner got quote of rm300 labour to do some work, I got ah yuan to do was rm150. SG was $150 or so.

xiaozhi86

Yeh, it's the typical chop carrot shop modus operandi..they see SG plate or number etc and they mark down what it costs to do it in SG by 10-20% and quote. So many people in SG first time doing work there and some even repeat will think the 10-20% is a good enough deal/savings. If ah yuan can do will be really good. Can see what the job really costs there. :s13:

My own car previous owner got quote of rm300 labour to do some work, I got ah yuan to do was rm150. SG was $150 or so.

that why i say edgework might not be cheap but if you need to program your vag car and they do charge cheaper, can go lah. but i doubt ah yuan got the proper diagnostic tool for conti car

oh ya, please bring cash to pay although they accept credit card. some item i think pay in cash they can waive gst charges.

seanboi

Who are the main/primary importers/dealers ?

My experience is if they don't have , they will start calling one another...

I do not know who are the main/primary importers/dealers. I will just call up the more reputable ones to ask about the part availability and price.

If they don't have they will normally tell you so. Yes there are cases where they source parts from one another but you can always call and compare. There's no obligation.

sentsggirls

that why i say edgework might not be cheap but if you need to program your vag car and they do charge cheaper, can go lah. but i doubt ah yuan got the proper diagnostic tool for conti car

oh ya, please bring cash to pay although they accept credit card. some item i think pay in cash they can waive gst charges.

Now CarClick can accept card Liao?
Few weeks back still cash only leh.

Confirm ah bro

Little_orc

rm8.8k sounds like carrot price..unless it's some high end model.

8.8k? that not really cheap eh. i think sg also 2-3k max. what is your car?

Not sure he can do vag car anot but if ask him change part like control arm bushing, engine mount all these no issue as i go before too. ah yuan carclick workshop you can search in here.

that what i think so also. if sg charge around 3k, make no sense to go jb do it. maybe ah yuan can really do vag car piston ring crack replacement.

Audi A4 1.8, 2010 model. Asked one of the workshop here quoted SGD 4k.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.