Compact tripod for travelling

Beefsteak

Master Member
Reaction score
Hi all.

I'm a totally newbie to photography.
And considering getting a tripod and bringing it along for my travels especially when I travel solo.
Currently looking around for a tripod which is compact and light enough to be carried in a backpack. Don't need a high end one because I will only use it when I'm travelling.
Budget probably about the range of $100 to $150 or less

Currently using a compact m4/3 camera. Pan GX85

Need some advice and recommendations from experts here.
Thanks.

Last edited:

xonix

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score
What camera are you using ?
Without this info, how to recommend ?

hacktic

High Supremacy Member
Reaction score
how about a Joby gorrilapod...quick setup just need to find a firm standing structure to attach to.

setting up/taking down a tripod is quite cumbersome. 3 legs quick release or turns....by the time u set up, maybe that photo opportunity is over
a monopod with legs is faster but usually not stable

lightweight = carbon fiber and they will cost you.

hacktic

High Supremacy Member
Reaction score
i've previously used a yunteng 288...very versatile fast to set up but gets flimsy as height increases...so weight it down or support the legs with your bag if you do get it. u dont want your camera crashing down
value for money ballhead...very fluid for video panning

xonix

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score
You must also take into account the lens you will be using.

fongwk8

Reaction score
Otherwise you can look at another brand: Sirui. I've been using this brand for quite a while. I think its value for money though.

chiaRH

Reaction score