Executive Condo (EC) bubble?

henrylbh

I understand that the person selling EC needs 30 months before applying BTO.

Does this apply for resale flat as well?

OTP (sell) my EC in Sep and OTP (buy) my resale flat Oct. You can even buy resale flat before selling. I was on the look out months before the sale.

wongdawson

Yup is 110sqm. 122sqm is not 5 room leh is Executive flat. Unless those more than 20 years old 5 room flats in Sengkang then hv 120+ sqm. Good buy for u.. congrats! :)

So u see resale flats in Sengkang has no value liao. How 2nd timers ugrade to EC? Hope govt could review the policy n waive the resale levy.

I got my 5 room 110sqm at Anchorvale opps the swimming pool in 2016 at 400K left 84 years lease. All the while I stay in central area but since I moved to Sengkang I actually quite like the area more vibrant mostly young couple and younger resident not like my old place all the old resident atmosphere very depressing

birmingham123

I remember 2-3years ago, treasure chest EC at sengkang only around 700psf.. think after mop, sure can easily sell for 1000psf. Quite a decent profit...

Btw, can single buy ec ?

Clazav

1000psf will be hard now. Treasure crest location wasn't any special. Single can't buy ec ba

I remember 2-3years ago, treasure chest EC at sengkang only around 700psf.. think after mop, sure can easily sell for 1000psf. Quite a decent profit...

Btw, can single buy ec ?

birmingham123

1000psf will be hard now. Treasure crest location wasn't any special. Single can't buy ec ba

Hmm..buangkok EC has transacted above 1000psf if I am not wrong.. maybe treasure crest will be at least 900k ba..

Single above 35 cannot buy new EC launch ah ?

But resale EC can be sold to single without age limit right? Since should be sold like resales private condo.

d5dude

Developer sold some new units recently at 1k psf, I wonder who are the suckers buying these new units at 1k psf... they must be dreaming if they think they can offload it at more than 1k psf 5 years later, market is full of fairly new resale properties that will undercut them any time.

Clazav

Esparina can sell 1kpsf because if its location and the potential of buangkok mrt Station surrounding. Treasure crest has nothing special, perhaps near the hospital.

Hmm..buangkok EC has transacted above 1000psf if I am not wrong.. maybe treasure crest will be at least 900k ba..

Single above 35 cannot buy new EC launch ah ?

But resale EC can be sold to single without age limit right? Since should be sold like resales private condo.

Clazav

Slowly it will go up, but short term, there is some resistance. Anyway buying an EC is not a short term thing so there should be room to grow.

Developer sold some new units recently at 1k psf, I wonder who are the suckers buying these new units at 1k psf... they must be dreaming if they think they can offload it at more than 1k psf 5 years later, market is full of fairly new resale properties that will undercut them any time.

d5dude

Slowly it will go up, but short term, there is some resistance. Anyway buying an EC is not a short term thing so there should be room to grow.

Why overpay even if its for long term? These people are suckers...

PingJun

Btw, can single buy ec ?

Single can buy EC, but cannot buy as a person.

Must have at least another Single to join name to buy an unit.

This is called multiple single scheme (Something like that).

Do note that for this, there's no grant.

Oh, all applicants must be at least 35 years old.

infernolord

profit is only when you sell your hdb lei, ie 3 years later
5% + 15% pay upon booking and exercising wor, ie now

plus buy 350k sell 550k is not 200k profit
you forget reno, incurred interest stamp duty legal fee and other misc cost?
i think max 120k, ie 60k each happy liao

550k is the avg price i saw. In fact, this is true cos my friend bought one 5rm unit at that area for 650k. :s22:

So it is definitely more than 60k each as the owners somehow upgraded to 2 smaller condo unit. Each one own one.

Clazav

There are actually many people in the sandwiched class. Bto is too cheap and private is too expensive. Property is a valuable asset and people wouldn't mind putting their saving in as long as they think it is worth it.

Why overpay even if its for long term? These people are suckers...

annetyu

There are actually many people in the sandwiched class. Bto is too cheap and private is too expensive. Property is a valuable asset and people wouldn't mind putting their saving in as long as they think it is worth it.

There are a ton of relatively new private resales in punggol and sengkang going for $1,000psf on avg. Why pay $1,100psf for EC? Why let the developers dictate the prices?

PingJun

Hello ppl. Quick check. How much does one need to be earning in order to afford an EC?

EC is different from PC

There's a limit of earning (forget whether it's $12,000 or $14,000) per month for a household.

If more than this amount, approval for buying EC is to be subjected by HDB.

redefine_style

EC is different from PC

There's a limit of earning (forget whether it's $12,000 or $14,000) per month for a household.

If more than this amount, approval for buying EC is to be subjected by HDB.

Thanks for your reply. What is the earning for PC?

PingJun

Thanks for your reply. What is the earning for PC?

For this, I don't know.

You need to factor in how much cash to be paid and how much you can get from bank loan.

Not forgetting the amount to be paid back to bank monthly plus monthly condo maintenance cost.

Lanteh

Anyway thanks for the comments and feedback everyone. For Sumang, I believe at $11xx, they are more targeted at HDB upgraders now. Time shall see whether they are fully sold out.

Furthermore, for EC, monthly installments are capped at 30% of the applicants’ gross monthly income, similar to BTOs.

However, for PC, you can loan up to 60% of your monthly income.

This is a huge factor for why people still can afford PC, but not EC... Loan buay sai (cannot) pass.

Lanteh

Hello ppl. Quick check. How much does one need to be earning in order to afford an EC?

PC: No limit, as long as your combined income can service the loan.
EC: Ceiling 14k
HDB/BTO: Ceiling 12k

For how much you can loan with your current combined income, look for loan eligibility calculators online, they work wonders. However, not 100% accurate, but about variances of 5-10% of actual value.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.