Lastest S$ Deposit updates - Part 3

maumu

How about compare Endowment vs. Bonds (like the upcoming SIA retail bond) in terms of risk, time frame, and interest/ dividend?

i'm no expert... but i feel it's all down to each person's risk appetite.

if it's just spare cash which you can afford to lose, retail bonds definitely will fare better.

but if one is risk adverse, afraid of incidents like what happened to hyflux, or near retirement, won't recommend retail bonds..

things can shift based on political situations too.

vsvs24

i'm no expert... but i feel it's all down to each person's risk appetite.

if it's just spare cash which you can afford to lose, retail bonds definitely will fare better.

but if one is risk adverse, afraid of incidents like what happened to hyflux, or near retirement, won't recommend retail bonds..

things can shift based on political situations too.

Agree. I would have chiong without hesitation previously. But seeing what happen to Hyflux a bit scared.

K202020K

If its the mat bank along Orchard Road
Then yes.
Withdrawal on full maturity is subjected to a $30 surcharge if instructions was set to "auto renewal"

You withdrew on the date of FD maturity?
But $30 fee is damn bloody greedy of the bank. Almost mercenary..

erikospeed

You withdrew on the date of FD maturity?
But $30 fee is damn bloody greedy of the bank. Almost mercenary..

Yes withdraw on exact day of FD maturity
Yet was slap with a $30 charge though I manage to get it waive after much efforts with the duty manager but this was totally uncalled for

No other banks or even financial institutions that I have encounter enforced such charges

For this its in my blacklist for good

K202020K

Yes withdraw on exact day of FD maturity
Yet was slap with a $30 charge though I manage to get it waive after much efforts with the duty manager but this was totally uncalled for

No other banks or even financial institutions that I have encounter enforced such charges

For this its in my blacklist for good

I see. On FD maturity date, the auto-renewal transaction has already been executed by their computer system at midnight.
If you changed your mind, you should have informed the bank at least one day in advance to avoid this transaction from being executed.
Can go down to any nearby bank branch or by phone call to their service hotline
But it's good to know that they had waived the said charges in your case.
Good day.

erikospeed

I see. On FD maturity date, the auto-renewal transaction has already been executed by their computer system at midnight.
If you changed your mind, you should have informed the bank at least one day in advance to avoid this transaction from being executed.
Can go down to any nearby bank branch or by phone call to their service hotline
But it's good to know that they had waived the said charges in your case.
Good day.

Yet to experience a single financial institution that enforce such charges. The first and last for me.

Sg_Stone

I have a fd with cimb, back then I set auto renewal.. If I am to cancel the auto renewal, change it to credit the money back my account, will I be slapped with a $30 fee? Or otherwise, can I cancel the renewed fd, and have my first fd sum with interest credited back without charges?

erikospeed

I have a fd with cimb, back then I set auto renewal.. If I am to cancel the auto renewal, change it to credit the money back my account, will I be slapped with a $30 fee? Or otherwise, can I cancel the renewed fd, and have my first fd sum with interest credited back without charges?

Advise to call up and clarify
Later tio slap with unnecessary surcharges like my case

audiovideo

but that day at ICBC branch noticed 1 thing

some old fart thought they ownself got sentimental link with tiong
like to go to tiong bank to "express" their "feelings"
poor tiong lady cashier/teller having a hard time ....

demoforce1

but that day at ICBC branch noticed 1 thing

some old fart thought they ownself got sentimental link with tiong
like to go to tiong bank to "express" their "feelings"
poor tiong lady cashier/teller having a hard time ....

what is "tiong"?

Zaalaa

what is "tiong"?

It’s a very rude way of sinkies calling the Chinese.

Just like how they call their Malay friends “mud” “mat”. Or Indians “abunene”. Usually these people have no proper education/culture and are of the lower SES. They call until it became natural & they don’t even realised it.

audiovideo

no more $$ have to reduce boc FD to less than $80k during renewal
so FD rate is 1.90%
cashier lady keep asking what is the purpose I take out $$$
at first I thought she wana sell Goh-Yok again.
then realise she just need to put the reason :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.