[Review] Asus RT-AX88U

JayceOoiCom

Author's Note: The original review can be found at my blog - Asus RT-AX88U Review @ JayceOoi.com.

Welcome to the future! Check out Asus RT-AX88U Wireless Router with Wi-Fi 6. Enjoy ultrafast Wi-Fi speed up to 6000Mbps. Powered by 1.8 GHz quad-core processor. Having 256MB Flash and 1GB of RAM. 4 X 4 wireless connection. 8 LAN ports and 2 USB 3.1 Gen 1 ports. Loaded with OFDMA and MU-MIMO technology for faster and lower latency. How does it perform? Let’s find out…

That’s it for now. Thanks for watching. Peace…

Ah Ken

Renew and got this new router from M1 @ $379.

rSBHzNj.jpg

l4S9sRn.jpg

Am new to using such powerful router and looking into making the best out of it. Any users can share their experiences and best settings? :s12: Thanks!!

purpleberry

With wifi 6, is there a need for devices like Linksys Velop for 5-room flat?

AC2

Disable HE frame support if you don't have AX client yet.

Yes disable this if you are using aimesh with ac5300.

I got this last weekend and was trying out the setting. with HE enable, my wifi speed suffered by 50%. disable and speed back to normal.

vaxvms

Yes disable this if you are using aimesh with ac5300.

I got this last weekend and was trying out the setting. with HE enable, my wifi speed suffered by 50%. disable and speed back to normal.

May I know ur ac5300 is primary or secondary router?

forkie

Initially I was wondering why they promised Wifi6 have better speed.
I only managed to get 200mpbs download/upload on my mobile phone on 1gb fiber plan which is same as previous AC routers.

Recently a new update and speed improved tremendously where is comparable to wired connection. I like it lol

40503067713_f93aa07bc4_b.jpg

AC2

May I know ur ac5300 is primary or secondary router?

Ax88u as router, 2 x 5300 as nodes. With HE disable, my iphone wifi speed can hit 600Mbps up 600 Mbps down on 1 Gbps plan.
If i enable HE, straight drop to less than 200Mbps.

xonix

I only managed to get 200mpbs download/upload on my mobile phone on 1gb fiber plan which is same as previous AC routers.

Recently a new update and speed improved tremendously where is comparable to wired connection. I like it lol

[ IMG]https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7878/40503067713_f93aa07bc4_b.jpg[/IMG]

Wow !!! That's some speed on mobile phone. Judging by the right cut-out, Samsung S10 right ?

athenodorus

Wa lao. Wifi speed on s10?

Can consistently achieve this speed?

renfred89

can show the link rate?

forkie

Yup using Samsung S10.
Router in living room, when in master bedroom the speed range from 500-700mbps.
When in living room speed will be faster like 700-800mbps.

Eh where to find the link rate to show?

havealaughclown

Just changed last month at the office for me bros - As one of the first Wi-Fi 6 routers, the Asus RT-AX88U is fast with tons of features but suffers from the lack of clients and high cost.

athenodorus

Yup using Samsung S10.

Other than s10, those non wifi6 devices..what's the avg wifi speed?

xonix

Yup using Samsung S10.

Under your " Wi-Fi name " connection, advanced or info

AC2

I never did much optimization so the usual devices speed range about 100-200mbps for upload/download.

so you enable HE after installing the latest firmware or disable to get the high wifi speed on your s10?

forkie

Under your " Wi-Fi name " connection, advanced or info

Is it this one ?

46748276504_a06c0bf5f1_k.jpg

so you enable HE after installing the latest firmware or disable to get the high wifi speed on your s10?

I had enable HE before firmware update and the speed is as normal around 200mbps which kinda make me disappointed coz I hyping for blazing speed.

Then when there was a new firmware update and when I installed it woah lah ! The speed is damn shiok ahahaha !

forkie

ZZZzz KNN the WIFI6 still not ideal.
Now I yaya papaya go Router settings play play toggle HE frame.....
My 1200mpbs rate GONE !!!!!

Initially after firmware update so shiok in room 648mpbs link rate, Living room 1200mpbs link rate.

Then itchy hand go toggle the HE frame.... poof !!!!! WIFI6 gone and link rate back to 286...… Now enable back HE frame but my speed still stuck at 286 !!!!!! :mad: duno why my wow oooo wee speed gone liao ! 气死人 !!!!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.