pc restart itself

justiceknight

Context: recently Mboard spoilt, went for replacement, repairguy also changed PSU at the last minute (I just trust him cos I'm a noob) . So now the pc restarts sometimes whenever I am playing a game

problem: I only opened 1 firefox and 1 (Overwatch/League of legends) and the restart occurs

heres my old comp specs
https://I.imgur.com/CrYxpup.jpg

some new comp specs
https://I.imgur.com/Mk9UNZf.jpg
GPU also changed to Nvidia Geforce 960

old PSU
https://I.imgur.com/mFn1hpk.jpg

New PSU the repair guy changed to
https://I.imgur.com/i10pchM.jpg

my pc setup inside
https://I.imgur.com/3Lg36Xi.jpg

some test stats (speedfan etc)
https://I.imgur.com/DwUB4mf.jpg
https://I.imgur.com/cERQ6uh.jpg

I read a bit on PSU troubleshoot and most likely its PSU problem but still not sure cos I'm a noob. let me know what I should do.

singupingu

Dude, share where did you repair this. Look like a sham.

PSU is a major downgrade! Wtf!

And ya, likely psu issue. This "new" psu is very very well known to be problematic by most of us here.

Sent from OnePlus ONEPLUS A3003 using GAGT

shadow84

icute sia... Cheap china brand. How much u got it for? Wah u kena cheated badly. Seasonic X850 is quite high end, u went all the way to low end. Then repairman can sell your psu for high cover, earning profit more than the icute psu u bought for. Best to take it back.

Anyway, if during gaming only and it shuts down, means psu not supplying enough power to gpu. Most likely psu is dying liao?

GTX 960 is a 3 yrs old model. How much did they charge u?

Also, ur cpu+mobo+ram is quite overkill for ur game.

What you should do is to go back to shop and get back your x850w. It is a reliable psu and should last long for your gaming needs. Dun let the shop sell off your psu for more profits.

justiceknight

Dude, share where did you repair this. Look like a sham.

if u wan know, pm me, i dont wan post here make a drama 1st before i solve this problem

GTX 960 is a 3 yrs old model. How much did they charge u?

my GPU spoilt few years ago, i posted this to reflect my specs correctly, nothing to do with the repair this time.

cpu+mobo+ram is quite overkill for ur game.

repairman said mobo spoilt which i also think so. since its already 8 yrs old, i change lo

shadow84

Still, for ur usage, a cheap ryzen cpu + mobo will do. Ram can get frm newegg for cheaper price.

Take all these as lesson fee paid. What u can do is to throw away that icute psu. Go buy superflower eco silver 500w/600w psu from lazada or reputable shops in sls like pc themes, cybermind, fuwell, vii, dynacore, mediamart. Best is if u can take back that x850 psu from them.

tsteo77

Do not use a trail sockets, it sucks, replace with 2/3 ways wall sockets and ensure everything does not exceed 13amps.

SkyShroud

X-series is a very good psu, can easily last more than 10 years.

If last time faulty is because of your mb or gpu.
Then this time faulty is because of your psu, your icube psu is what some would called trash brand. If never explode, you should thank the god(s).

Edit:
Also, I would suggest you to check the S.M.A.R.T of your SSD to ensure it is 100% new. If is new, it should show very low "total host write" or something along that line.

justiceknight

Also, I would suggest you to check the S.M.A.R.T of your SSD to ensure it is 100% new. If is new, it should show very low "total host write" or something along that line.

how to check this

shadow84

https://i.imgur.com/Agpk5Xl.jpg

Oh great just about to swap back the psu and realize its all sealed up like this. Now have the re buy the wire and do again

Why on earth did u dismantle ur psu? By right u shld be just removing the entire psu with its cables and then replace with new one.

I suggest u go buy a new psu and then bring whole PC to SLS #02-32, PC Care & Solution. Ask nigel to help you install. You can also ask him to help u buy and install the new psu.

Koenig168

Why on earth did u dismantle ur psu? By right u shld be just removing the entire psu with its cables and then replace with new one.

The repair guy could be testing the internal components. In any case, rather strange since he should reassemble after testing.

shadow84

The repair guy could be testing the internal components. In any case, rather strange since he should reassemble after testing.

Have a feeling they took an old psu, swap some internal components, reseal it and then sell to TS as 'upgrade' since he is unsuspecting.

But in any case, since TS is new to this, best to leave to Nigel to help him take care of the necessary.

justiceknight

I suggest u go buy a new psu and then bring whole PC to SLS #02-32, PC Care & Solution. Ask nigel to help you install. You can also ask him to help u buy and install the new psu.

Well its not that i wanted to dismantle. All the wires that attached from the psu to other parts are all sewn to the psu inside itself. Theres no way to just detatch the psu itself unless i use soldering to remove the wires.

shadow84

Well its not that i wanted to dismantle. All the wires that attached from the psu to other parts are all sewn to the psu inside itself. Theres no way to just detatch the psu itself unless i use soldering to remove the wires.

If wanna remove psu, u should be removing the cables connected to the motherboard (24pins + top 4+4 pin), gpu (6+2 pin) and hdd/ssd (sata cable) only. The psu and cable are as a whole and as of such design.

Suggest u google PC Care & solution, whatsapp Nigel on this and see if he can help u today if u r free. Swapping of psu + reconnecting to components is a 5-10 mins job.

What you have is called non-modular psu means all cables are pre-connected to psu body and cant be removed w/o tampering on psu body itself. The superflower eco silver is a fully modular psu which means u can just connect the necessary cables and keep the rest for future upgrades if needed. Its a good way to do cable management as well.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.