Treasure at Tampines

ThinkCarefully

Thanks. I dun quite follow garden’s sales. Jin ko Lian, 20 plus % nia.
Anneytu also pointed out daintree and Kent ridge hill.
Hmm, Mayfair garden And Mayfair modern I also don’t quite follow cos seldom discuss.

We are comparing and discussing development at least 500 units as we are comparing with treasure (treasure at Tampines thread).

Daintree too few units, Mayfair too central (Bukit Timah) and Kent, I also don’t follow.
Maybe when there is a Normanton thread, Kent will increase in importance for comparison.

Wimsey

G has only themselves to blame.
They bid land too high, tried to launch 1700 psf (jaw dropping) with no mrt nearby ( the ccl not yet announced). Most neutral observers were shell shocked.
A sensed a need to grab buyers, launched about the same time, 100 to 150 psf lower as their land price was bought lower.

No matter what G does, A can always go 100 to 150 psf lower until they break even and G goes under water.

Classic case of stepping all over those who bought at high price and making a suxxxr out of them.

WLR and colonial is another classic example.

Totally agree with your comments. In fact, at $1,7xx PSF, comparing Gardens with Tre Ver, Tre Ver is more worth it. Considering that Tre Ver is city fringe, and selling at like $100 to $1,50 PSF less than Gardens, Tre Ver seems the more worthwhile one. Maybe that's why over 70% sold. Buyers are not stupid.

Gardens should cut price if they want to move sales. Unless they are waiting for Affinity to sell out, and then hope that those who want to buy around there will look at them. But it was crazy to bid that kind of pricing for the land there in the first place. Not realistic.

Woodleigh and Park Colonial land cost actually the same (in fact Park Colonial is slightly higher), but Woodleigh has to build the interchange too, so guess that brought their costs up. So now we have another case of really unrealistic pricing. At that level, can go and buy Stirling and got change left over.

For Gazania and Lilium, the pricing is also too high for District 19. Don't think buyers can accept over $2K PSF yet, even for freehold for this location. Perhaps in 5 years time. Maybe they looked at Woodleigh pricing, and thought that was the norm!! Hope that when SingHaiyi launches Parc Clematis, they will learn from this experience and cut their margin to set a more acceptable price range. Their land cost wasn't very cheap, but it wasn't terribly high either, so do-able. There are a lot more units to sell at Parc Clematis too, and seems they have already delayed the launch a bit. But they got one advantage at the moment. Now that Normanton Park is not allowed to sell yet, at least they have less competition, and those looking at Normanton Park might come over to Parc Clematis instead.

ThinkCarefully

Totally agree with your comments. In fact, at $1,7xx PSF, comparing Gardens with Tre Ver, Tre Ver is more worth it. Considering that Tre Ver is city fringe, and selling at like $100 to $1,50 PSF less than Gardens, Tre Ver seems the more worthwhile one. Maybe that's why over 70% sold. Buyers are not stupid.

Gardens should cut price if they want to move sales. Unless they are waiting for Affinity to sell out, and then hope that those who want to buy around there will look at them. But it was crazy to bid that kind of pricing for the land there in the first place. Not realistic.

Woodleigh and Park Colonial land cost actually the same (in fact Park Colonial is slightly higher), but Woodleigh has to build the interchange too, so guess that brought their costs up. So now we have another case of really unrealistic pricing. At that level, can go and buy Stirling and got change left over.

For Gazania and Lilium, the pricing is also too high for District 19. Don't think buyers can accept over $2K PSF yet, even for freehold for this location. Perhaps in 5 years time. Maybe they looked at Woodleigh pricing, and thought that was the norm!! Hope that when SingHaiyi launches Parc Clematis, they will learn from this experience and cut their margin to set a more acceptable price range. Their land cost wasn't very cheap, but it wasn't terribly high either, so do-able. There are a lot more units to sell at Parc Clematis too, and seems they have already delayed the launch a bit. But they got one advantage at the moment. Now that Normanton Park is not allowed to sell yet, at least they have less competition, and those looking at Normanton Park might come over to Parc Clematis instead.

I think G is playing ‘dumb and dumber’ game with F. A has emerged already as the clear winner out of the 3. F sold even less than woodleigh during launch weekend ,3% of total if I am not wrong.

Also, just saying because of interchange etc is not entirely fair. These are established Developers, knowing they incur additional costs in building other structures would mean they need to bid even lower to compensate for these additional expenses. I can only say some Developers were euphoric and think they can price anyway they want and people will buy.

Someone updated that even at discount of 17xx to 1,8xx for their launch today,, not all these ‘star buys’ were sold. The star buys not so starry as there are still left overs..maybe people still thinking if there are brighter and bigger stars coming up.

As for Clementis, if they start with the wrong pricing/ footing, they may help their nearby whistler (cdl at 13xx psf) or people may wait as there are quite a number of upcoming launches in the West.

Clazav

So detailed, nice read.

lotr2000

Stock market fell quite some way last week, is this a sign as to what to expect with property market?

Is oversupply hitting the market? See below:

https://www.propertysoul.com/

Trade war between US and China. How does it lead to oversupply of singapore properties?

Broadwalk

Trade war between US and China. How does it lead to oversupply of singapore properties?

Singapore has no domestic economy and Singapore is vulnerable to these external factor.:o you overestimate Singapore capability.:o

lotr2000

Singapore has no domestic economy and Singapore is vulnerable to these external factor.:o you overestimate Singapore capability.:o

I am actually questioning how it leads to oversupply coz i dont see the link. Perhaps an economist can share some light in this discussion? Note that I dont doubt SG economy is affected by external factors.

ThinkCarefully

https://www.propertysoul.com/

Just sharing. Ku’s Video on property in today’s ‘weak market’ as well as how to buy value by shunning sky-highly priced new launch. He sounded very fair, balanced and down to earth.

For those who have fundamental questions, may consider signing up for ku’s course and asking him to explain to you.

ThinkCarefully

If you compare what ku said above with this:

https://www.edgeprop.sg/property-news/sixty-nine-units-sold-woodleigh-residences
Quote”
three four-bedroom apartments that achieved $2,331 psf.
Unquote””

You may draw your own conclusion as to how intelligent these buyers are....

Can purchase two similar size units at Tampines for about half the psf...Amazing...Bidadari near graveyard NOT Orchard area leh.

Eraval

https://www.edgeprop.sg/property-news/sixty-nine-units-sold-woodleigh-residences
Quote”
Unquote””

Can purchase two similar size units at Tampines for about half the psf...Amazing...Bidadari near graveyard NOT Orchard area leh.

I dont want to sound like ntu but i feel is kumgong leh wtf

or fake news?

NiShiZhu

Quote”
Unquote””

Park colonial 4 bedder of similar size is about 2.1-2.2 mil, so if WLR 4 bedder at near 3 mil, means park colonial 4 bedder buyer instant 800k paper gain? Lol.

Probably pay 800k more for a private lift. :D
Would this help park colonial to clear more 4 bedders? Hehe

weng

May be some english ambiguity?

“Many units sold were two- and three-bedroom units along with three four-bedroom apartments that achieved $2,331 psf.”

$2,331 looks like belongs to the 3 x 4br. But could it also be collectively belongs to “two- and three-bedroom units along with three four-bedroom apartments”?

If belongs to 4br, then wouldn’t the 2br and 3br be even higher? 😱

NiShiZhu

May be some english ambiguity?

“Many units sold were two- and three-bedroom units along with three four-bedroom apartments that achieved $2,331 psf.”

$2,331 looks like belongs to the 3 x 4br. But could it also be collectively belongs to “two- and three-bedroom units along with three four-bedroom apartments”?

If belongs to 4br, then wouldn’t the 2br and 3br be even higher? 😱

If u refer to some pricing post by some bros here, surprisingly some of the 2 small bedder priced at 17xxpsf whereas some 3 bedder starts from 2xxxpsf. So now it’s not about bigger size lower psf for this project. I was amazed too when I read the 4 bedder priced at 23xxpsf

And also when they reported 69 units sold, does it include the 27 units sold last year November or exclude?

hungryfella

If u refer to some pricing post by some bros here, surprisingly some of the 2 small bedder priced at 17xxpsf whereas some 3 bedder starts from 2xxxpsf. So now it’s not about bigger size lower psf for this project. I was amazed too when I read the 4 bedder priced at 23xxpsf

And also when they reported 69 units sold, does it include the 27 units sold last year November or exclude?

They are reluctant to reduce the price of the 4 bedders as these are the pool facing and lake facing units, which they believe will command a premium..
The 2 bedders with $17++ psf however, were the main road n west facing units.

The 69 units sold shld be total including last yr.

annetyu

70 units at The Woodleigh Residences sold to date
https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/real-estate/70-units-at-the-woodleigh-residences-sold-to-date

Indeed it is the total units sold to date.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.