A1-EAE3-DB-F7-FF-4529-8-F09-93-AB6124-DA84.jpg

The small river leading to Mekong River is quite a distance
Used to have crocodiles here. :eek:
But now all gone.

3582-CCF8-9-C7-C-43-EC-8-AA8-CEB7421-D5-A4-E.jpg

Local guide say the depth is about 2m. Still quite deep
Night time come here confirm scare. :[

A044189-D-4367-4925-B328-3-BA13-FB5752-C.jpg

Looks like some kind of ritual. See the water.
Gonna flood in the house if high tide.

09-D43-F25-816-E-4424-80-AB-628-AA1-B2-E6-C6.jpg

Ah ma so old still rowing. Still strong
Sinkies go down hdb buy food also find it Jin lazy. Jin tiring
Jitao grab food. :[

A20-D0-EAE-F31-A-4-ACB-8-A85-30-C4-E64-E8-BAB.jpg

We reached our 2nd destination. Local sell all kinds of things
Mini cobra + scorpion wine. :-O

BA8-CA61-A-F079-46-A9-9-CAC-7938327-E1018.jpg

Coconut husk never go to waste. Jitao crave into some decorations

popdod

77-D92-C99-66-EC-450-A-BD4-B-C46-BE9-E3-E4-F0.jpg

Next. Yandao guide demonstrate how to make coconut sweets
This is labour work. Gonna remove the hard shell
Takes about 3-5mins to remove one. Sibei siong :(

B5-ABD3-D5-FB10-4-DD6-8-F01-378-E1-FB5-E5-AF.jpg

Next. They will grind and boil the coconut.
And once is soften. They will put into the mould.

68-ED22-BE-1484-49-BD-A5-CF-2221-DED98-DA1.jpg

Once is harden. Local will cut into smaller pieces and wrap with rice paper. Why rice paper? Bcoz it will not stick to the main wrapper
No markings. She cut it to the same size based on her true feelings.
By feel :-0

FC643-FFF-048-D-4672-BA5-A-5-D46-CBD5-A91-D.jpg

Next. Yandao guide took out one big python.
Woah piang. Become local guide not simple job.
Must tear coconut husk. Take honey hive & now handle snake.
Tough job. :[

B23-EEADD-7-EDC-49-D4-B811-80-AC018-CA976.jpg

According to yandao guide. Most houses kept a python
Why? Coz rats smell the python will not come into the house :-o

EB7-CF0-D8-DFF3-48-AA-8726-587-F3630-D991.jpg

Every 2 weeks. They feed the python a chicken. :(

popdod

5-DECCEB6-8-B1-A-4787-BAFE-C75-B791-F31-C3.jpg

See finish touch finish.
Time to go jiak png.

But yandao guide say must take boat.
20mins away.
Jiak lunch also jiak so far away.

Took a boat. And design have some Chinese elements.
Vietnam was under China for a thousand years.
Hence they shared the same heritage.
See the boat eyes

917-A7897-9-A2-C-428-F-9-F21-11-DD5-CDD9-C49.jpg

Boat captain only have job during good weather.
Stormy weather. He can stay at home koonz.
His annual incum depends on the weather.

C51-FC224-C56-C-4-CB9-A638-2767-A040-AEC0.jpg

The Mekong delta river is super long.
Take a few days and u can reach cambodia

wikipedia20commons20us-huey-helicopter-spraying-agent-orange-in-vietnam.jpg

Mekong delta is a historic place.
This is where anericunt GIs launched their assault.
Spreading Agent Orange to this river.
Which resulted deformed Vietnamese generations after generations.
Best don’t eat fish in this river. :-0

C8-A30572-14-ED-4416-9960-33-D4-BEBCCAB3.jpg

Locals setting up net to catch fish.

EB07-DF22-781-E-45-DD-B07-C-24-B8-CEF4-EF4-A.jpg

Our set lunch. Pork chop rice.
Just read the news. Vietnam got pigs swine virus.
This time siao Liao. :(

Orange drink is Pomelo juice.

A5-D68-E04-0-C11-4-A61-ACB0-E0632-B65-AB95.jpg

Ownself grow. Ownself squeeze juice.
Basically locals grow their own stock.

popdod

90-E34-AC5-685-D-4787-A56-F-866876-CDBE0-F.jpg

After lunch. We went for our last destination.
The French influence design Buddhist pagoda

France ruled Vietnam for a hundred years.
During this time. A lot of buildings r influenced by French
This pagoda is built in 1907. By a Vietnamese architect
He went to France and studied and when he returned
He injected some French elements into the pagoda
This is the only Buddhist pagoda with Ang moh Design

C748-D2-ED-EC1-A-4945-A368-E91-C8-A8-C0-C34.jpg

Look at the columns. Like Roman columns.
U will find a lot of French column designs in schools or gahmen buildings

6979-CFE1-7-D94-45-D2-AB51-6-E552486-B181.jpg

The intricate designs

68-F2-E352-CFD5-4-B75-8466-F88-E702-DE5-CE.jpg

025-E89-A7-BB4-D-4-A67-A282-90190-EB71-BE8.jpg

Large Buddha around the pagoda.

After this. Back to hotel.
Overall trip quite interesting.
So far joined Klook tours for 2 times.
Quite good experience

The English guide is good. \o/ \o/

Nakedtoes

Any tips for safety in HCMC?
Like not advisable to keep our wallet in our back pockets.
And our mobile phones.

How do you guys manage all this?

carry a cross body pouch then put everything inside. do not take yr handphone on hand take photo when there are bikes ard.. many ppl one kana snatch

popdod

Any tips for safety in HCMC?
Like not advisable to keep our wallet in our back pockets.
And our mobile phones.

How do you guys manage all this?

try not to take pictures when u near the road pavements or bag in one arm.
According to my english guide, alot of snatch thieves will snatch the phone when u taking photos
and ride away. same as bag.

Just be aware of your surroundings. :(

popdod

Food inside Ben Thanh market is actually not bad.

It's very competitive inside, so just expect 2 to 3 different stalls pulling you to eat haha

Sent from Henabi virus using GAGT

I kanna twice.
Usually smile and Siam.

Like u said. Good food no need drag.
Crowd come automatically. :(

figo16

The main roads are ok haha
The vehicle and motorbikes will stop at the traffic lights

It's the small roads
And especially motorbikes which wanna make the immediate right turn
Those are the ones you need to be wary

the motorbikes don't give way. same like taiwan like that. all got the yolo mentality.

i alight from mai linh taxi and those scooters still chiong past me when i open door. situation is much worse than in taiwan.

Henabi

the motorbikes don't give way. same like taiwan like that. all got the yolo mentality.

i alight from mai linh taxi and those scooters still chiong past me when i open door. situation is much worse than in taiwan.
They just slow down and siam one side.

Popdod... Hope you enjoy Mekong Delta tour!!!!

popdod

They just slow down and siam one side.

Popdod... Hope you enjoy Mekong Delta tour!!!!

Thanks for ur recommendation.
I make plans from ur recommendations.
Tmlo going Vung Tau. \o/ \o/

popdod

From the local guide.
Usually they won’t stop. They just slow down
Their culture. :(

So just be aware of the surroundings.
Don’t too engrossed looking on the phone while walking
Not like Singapore. :(

popdod

C0-EDBE07-5924-4-C5-C-B1-EF-D498-B7294966.jpg

Early morning went for Ben Tanh market break fast.
Tiagong this Stall is famous for desserts

C500-E107-41-C3-4524-A21-B-BA03-E623-D6-AE.jpg

Had summer rolls before the dessert. Near the desert stall.
Sauce is good.

In Vietnam. 2 kinds of rolls.
• Spring roll
• Summer roll.

1-D45-A2-C7-C756-44-D7-AF49-94-EF5657-A3-A7.jpg

Taste like bo bo cha cha
Too sweet for my liking. :[

DCED1-F02-1-F37-418-E-81-AF-539-EA9-A079-BB.jpg

Jiak bah bah.
Go back hotel and pack luggage.
Going to Vung Tau.

Decided to take ferry.
Price vnd$250,000 = Sgd$15 for 1.5-2hrs ride.

The ferry will cut through the river before reaching the open sea.
Stormy weather better don’t take ferry. Seasick.

34401-D4-B-4-CAC-4-FE4-8-BE2-E95-BA449-F849.jpg

U buy tickets at the blue glass shop.
Behind is the Bitexco tower
The staff can speak English well.

1-D3-D3-BAD-E93-F-4-F7-E-ADEC-3086-D4-C49436.jpg

Vietnam is a developing country. U see a lot of high rise skyscrapers
Condos. Not sure about their earning power.
But from the local guide. HCM itself has 8 million population
This is straining the city infrastructure and resources. :[

A0-C8-A73-A-A06-E-412-E-9-EE5-036-E75-A5-B3-C4.jpg

This is the speed ferry I’m taking.

84-B6-C9-D5-CB86-45-D8-AB0-E-9688457511-F4.jpg

Interior of the ship. Vietchong spotted me taking pic
Quickly hide face. Scare tio exposed. :[

fortunehunter

Jiak bah bah.
Go back hotel and pack luggage.
Going to Vung Tau.

Decided to take ferry.
Price vnd$250,000 = Sgd$15 for 1.5-2hrs ride.

The ferry will cut through the river before reaching the open sea.
Stormy weather better don’t take ferry. Seasick.
[

So going to Vung tau for 1 night stay or?

fortunehunter

562-D32-FB-1-E10-4-C75-8-A67-EEB9-A1750930.jpg

The strange thing is. U find layout like this kinda common
All seating arrangement facing the front.
Got road view lor :eek:

Ta-da. My vietchong ice Kopi for such humid day.
Gotch water to drink if u find Kopi too strong. \o/ \o/

You stay near new world?
This coffee shop quite crowded most of the time.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.