Best laptop for work under $1,000

xuaney

Hi all,

I have done some research online about the best value laptop for under $1,000 (or slightly exceed is fine too).

May I know which one of them is the best value for money?

I only have 1 requirement - a laptop in which I can open Microsoft Word, Excel, a few other applications and at least 10 tabs on Google Chrome without being laggy or slow down. The purpose of the laptop is for work and school, I don't game

I shortlisted a few below:
  • Acer Chromebook 514
  • Acer Aspire E 15
  • Acer Swift 1
  • Acer Swift 3
  • Acer Chromebook 14
  • HP Stream 11
  • HP Pavilion x360
  • Asus VivoBook F510UA
  • Asus Transformer Mini
  • Asus VivoBook S15
  • ASUS Chromebook Flip
  • Dell Inspiron 11 3000
  • Dell Inspiron 15
  • Lenovo Flex 11
  • Lenovo Yoga Book
  • Lenovo IdeaPad 120S
  • Lenovo ideapad 320
  • Lenovo IdeaPad 330s

If any of you have other recommendations aside from the aforementioned, please do comment below to let me know!

Thank you so much in advance!

HolyInnocents

Hi all,

I have done some research online about the best value laptop for under $1,000 (or slightly exceed is fine too).

May I know which one of them is the best value for money?

I only have 1 requirement - a laptop in which I can open Microsoft Word, Excel, a few other applications and at least 10 tabs on Google Chrome without being laggy or slow down. The purpose of the laptop is for work and school, I don't game

I shortlisted a few below:
  • Acer Chromebook 514
  • Acer Aspire E 15
  • Acer Swift 1
  • Acer Swift 3
  • Acer Chromebook 14
  • HP Stream 11
  • HP Pavilion x360
  • Asus VivoBook F510UA
  • Asus Transformer Mini
  • Asus VivoBook S15
  • ASUS Chromebook Flip
  • Dell Inspiron 11 3000
  • Dell Inspiron 15
  • Lenovo Flex 11
  • Lenovo Yoga Book
  • Lenovo IdeaPad 120S
  • Lenovo ideapad 320
  • Lenovo IdeaPad 330s

If any of you have other recommendations aside from the aforementioned, please do comment below to let me know!

Thank you so much in advance!

if you dont game u can just get a basic laptop with 8gb ram and 256gb ssd (or more if you need more storage). also try not to go for 11" because they are really too small for work unless you're looking for those 2-in-1 kind for extra portability

i'd personally drop Acer from the list because of their negative reputation last time (they have been ranked last consistently for a number of years; though there's some improvements recently i wouldn't risk it myself)

other than acer i'd just go for the cheapest i can find, though i have a slight preference for dell as my old laptop lasted me 3years+ before i sold it away (it's still working great)

xuaney

if you dont game u can just get a basic laptop with 8gb ram and 256gb ssd (or more if you need more storage). also try not to go for 11" because they are really too small for work unless you're looking for those 2-in-1 kind for extra portability

i'd personally drop Acer from the list because of their negative reputation last time (they have been ranked last consistently for a number of years; though there's some improvements recently i wouldn't risk it myself)

other than acer i'd just go for the cheapest i can find, though i have a slight preference for dell as my old laptop lasted me 3years+ before i sold it away (it's still working great)
Thanks for that, I guess I will look for laptop with 8GB RAM and 256GB SSD. Any recommendation? :)

daveteo88

My Axioo Singapore brand last me 7 years lah! Dun surf porn lah! If surf porn will last 3 years lah!

xuan87

I bought my mum an Asus S14 Vivobook laptop at the CEE recently for $850. Seemed like a good deal to me, i5 processor, discrete GPU (not a good one but still better than integrated), 8gb DDR4 ram, only thing is I can't remember is 128gb or 256gb SSD.

My basic requirements for a laptop nowadays will be:
Under 1K sgd
i5 processor minimum
SSD, 128gb minimum
8gb DDR4 ram is the sweetspot
Under 1.5kg
12-14" screen estate.

HolyInnocents

I bought my mum an Asus S14 Vivobook laptop at the CEE recently for $850. Seemed like a good deal to me, i5 processor, discrete GPU (not a good one but still better than integrated), 8gb DDR4 ram, only thing is I can't remember is 128gb or 256gb SSD.

My basic requirements for a laptop nowadays will be:
Under 1K sgd
i5 processor minimum
SSD, 128gb minimum
8gb DDR4 ram is the sweetspot
Under 1.5kg
12-14" screen estate.

seems like a good deal! should most probably be 256gb ssd because 128gb typically comes with 1tb HDD.

the lowest i5/8gb/256gb ssd laptop i saw was 798 during last year it show - but it was because of the free ram upgrade from 4gb to 8gb

and yes i think that should be the min. specs for a decent laptop nowadays

HolyInnocents

seems like a good deal! should most probably be 256gb ssd because 128gb typically comes with 1tb HDD.

the lowest i5/8gb/256gb ssd laptop i saw was 798 during last year it show - but it was because of the free ram upgrade from 4gb to 8gb

and yes i think that should be the min. specs for a decent laptop nowadays

https://www.hachi.tech/pc-go/notebo...5-8gb-ram-256gb-ssd-mx230-grey--0192876322642

can consider this below 1k

but if u can wait it's better to wait until the next it show

xuaney

Thanks all for the recommendation. Now I have left with a few options for me to choose from (all are 8GB RAM and 256GB SSD), I am not sure what other specs or features I should be looking at other than these 2, so please recommend me the best one. Thanks a lot

- Inspiron 14 5000 (5480): https://www.dell.com/en-sg/shop/lap...80/spd/inspiron-14-5480-laptop/w51695270sgw10
- Inspiron 15 3000 (3580): https://www.dell.com/en-sg/shop/lap.../spd/inspiron-15-3580-laptop/w516015241wsgw10
- HP ProBook 645 G4 Notebook PC: https://store.hp.com/us/en/pdp/hp-probook-645-g4-notebook-pc
- HP ProBook 440 G6 Notebook PC: https://store.hp.com/us/en/pdp/hp-probook-440-g6-notebook-pc
- HP ProBook 450 G6 Notebook PC: https://store.hp.com/us/en/pdp/hp-probook-450-g6-notebook-pc
- HP ProBook 650 G4 Notebook PC: https://store.hp.com/us/en/pdp/hp-probook-650-g4-notebook-pc-p-4tb90ut-aba-1
- HP 250 G7 Notebook PC: https://store.hp.com/us/en/pdp/hp-250-g7-notebook-pc-p-5yn09ut-aba-1
- HP Envy x360 Laptop - 15t: https://store.hp.com/us/en/pdp/hp-envy-x360-laptop-15t-5qn41av-1
- HP ENVY x360 Laptop - 15t touch: https://store.hp.com/us/en/pdp/hp-envy-x360-laptop-15t-touch-5hk14av-1
- HP Laptop - 15z touch optional: https://store.hp.com/us/en/pdp/hp-l...e_top-deals_18_5mw73av-1_hp-laptop---15z-touc

Ps: HP's price are really tempting btw, just not sure which one I should really get. Any bros please help, thank you!

xuaney

https://www.hachi.tech/pc-go/notebo...5-8gb-ram-256gb-ssd-mx230-grey--0192876322642

can consider this below 1k

but if u can wait it's better to wait until the next it show
HP got quite a lot laptops with 8GM RAM and 256GB SSD with price much lower than $1k btw, can you please help me check if any of them are really worth it? Really appreciate it, I am looking to buy today or tomorrow. Thank you!

- HP ProBook 645 G4 Notebook PC: https://store.hp.com/us/en/pdp/hp-pr...g4-notebook-pc
- HP ProBook 440 G6 Notebook PC: https://store.hp.com/us/en/pdp/hp-pr...g6-notebook-pc
- HP ProBook 450 G6 Notebook PC: https://store.hp.com/us/en/pdp/hp-pr...g6-notebook-pc
- HP ProBook 650 G4 Notebook PC: https://store.hp.com/us/en/pdp/hp-pr...-4tb90ut-aba-1
- HP 250 G7 Notebook PC: https://store.hp.com/us/en/pdp/hp-25...-5yn09ut-aba-1
- HP Envy x360 Laptop - 15t: https://store.hp.com/us/en/pdp/hp-en...-15t-5qn41av-1
- HP ENVY x360 Laptop - 15t touch: https://store.hp.com/us/en/pdp/hp-en...ouch-5hk14av-1
- HP Laptop - 15z touch optional: https://store.hp.com/us/en/pdp/hp-la...top---15z-touc

Ark Law

hahahaha but 7years ago most of the laptops still use HDD leh...cannot lah v slow nowadays with SSD

7 years ago still can upgrade nia. My 7 year old X230 till today serve as a loan laptop for many of my friends. Outlive all their consumer-grade laptops.

Imo, business laptops from around the 3rd-4th gen Intel era are the last of very well-built laptops.

HolyInnocents

HP got quite a lot laptops with 8GM RAM and 256GB SSD with price much lower than $1k btw, can you please help me check if any of them are really worth it? Really appreciate it, I am looking to buy today or tomorrow. Thank you!

- HP ProBook 645 G4 Notebook PC: https://store.hp.com/us/en/pdp/hp-pr...g4-notebook-pc
- HP ProBook 440 G6 Notebook PC: https://store.hp.com/us/en/pdp/hp-pr...g6-notebook-pc
- HP ProBook 450 G6 Notebook PC: https://store.hp.com/us/en/pdp/hp-pr...g6-notebook-pc
- HP ProBook 650 G4 Notebook PC: https://store.hp.com/us/en/pdp/hp-pr...-4tb90ut-aba-1
- HP 250 G7 Notebook PC: https://store.hp.com/us/en/pdp/hp-25...-5yn09ut-aba-1
- HP Envy x360 Laptop - 15t: https://store.hp.com/us/en/pdp/hp-en...-15t-5qn41av-1
- HP ENVY x360 Laptop - 15t touch: https://store.hp.com/us/en/pdp/hp-en...ouch-5hk14av-1
- HP Laptop - 15z touch optional: https://store.hp.com/us/en/pdp/hp-la...top---15z-touc

bro u using US website

HolyInnocents

7 years ago still can upgrade nia. My 7 year old X230 till today serve as a loan laptop for many of my friends. Outlive all their consumer-grade laptops.

Imo, business laptops from around the 3rd-4th gen Intel era are the last of very well-built laptops.

that's true, business-products are q lasting

i'm using this god-knows-how-old pc that i bought on Qoo10 for $59. it comes with Intel AMD A4-5300, 4gb and 250gb HDD but it served me very well.

https://www.qoo10.sg/item/HP-REFURB...300-4GB-RAM-250GB/650415773?banner_no=1305330

HolyInnocents

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.