[OFFICIAL] Fish keeping lover lounge

Pank85

water pump buy which brand and power is good for a 1-2ft goldfish tank ? planning to do 2 tier over head filter

jq75

Does these dark green cotton wool clumps known as moss?

Do they trigger green water?

vjE7YSB.jpg
mJbCwiH.jpg
RtKApcP.jpg

tankgunner

Mentor
water pump buy which brand and power is good for a 1-2ft goldfish tank ? planning to do 2 tier over head filter

What type of goldfish will you be keeping?
Not all goldfish can take strong current especially in such a small tank.

kazuki666

Sian, fifth up lorry this morning. The black one. Really don't know what's wrong. I am not sure if I should add more females in liao... :'(

Sent from Xiaomi POCOPHONE F1 using GAGT
Really max sian. 6th one this morning. Last woman standing le..

I was thinking to get two new females to try drip method, but I feel abit cruel if they are to die in my hands again...

tankgunner

Mentor
Really max sian. 6th one this morning. Last woman standing le..

I was thinking to get two new females to try drip method, but I feel abit cruel if they are to die in my hands again...

I will try another source.

iamnagel

I realise these in-water type pump really raise the temperatur of the water in the tank, esp if the tank is small.

Came home to find female guppies swimming at top....
Too hot

edit: sorry for wrong direction of the photo

GSzDfEz.jpg

tankgunner

Mentor
I realise these in-water type pump really raise the temperatur of the water in the tank, esp if the tank is small.

Came home to find female guppies swimming at top....
Too hot

edit: sorry for wrong direction of the photo

GSzDfEz.jpg

Since you tank is small, try to fill up as much water as possible.

kazuki666

Hmm. You are right too, am guessing if the source is not healthy...

My area has 3-4 LFS, this is the only that carry a better looking range of females and at affordable 80cents. Any further I know will be c328 liao...

skytan13

2nd this . The way they gg one by one seems like either source or the water they not used .

Eg for a period of time my tank ph is 6.2 everyone was okay cos it slowly dropped from 7.1 over a period of time so the fishes kinda used .

So if u buy any fishes back probably that 1.0 ph will shock it

skytan13

2 feet goldfish probably 1-2 max else ur WC and filter wool regime
Will make u quit this hobby early .

These pump no need buy too branded one , the usual sun sun , jebao all this can ler .
With local warranty and cheap not painful If spoil .

KnightDroid

cotton will rot in water and soil. So we dun really use cotton when planting both ways. Even soil will rot with roots if constantly expose to water in potted condition. Thats why hydroponics dun use soil.

KnightDroid

2nd this . The way they gg one by one seems like either source or the water they not used .

Eg for a period of time my tank ph is 6.2 everyone was okay cos it slowly dropped from 7.1 over a period of time so the fishes kinda used .

So if u buy any fishes back probably that 1.0 ph will shock it
Yes, ph 1.0 difference can kill the fish, melting outside, melting inside you cannot see but the fish feel jelly.

Pank85

2 feet goldfish probably 1-2 max else ur WC and filter wool regime
Will make u quit this hobby early .

These pump no need buy too branded one , the usual sun sun , jebao all this can ler .
With local warranty and cheap not painful If spoil .

ok then get the water pump of how many litre per minute ? is 2 x 2 over head filter box enough ?

tankgunner

Mentor
only 1 small ranchu, maybe in future add 1 more only. which water pump will be good ?

I believe you will be keeping side view ranchu which don't like strong current.
as you will be using small tank, it will be like living in a washing machine if the return flow is very concentrated.

why not use a sponge filter instead?

Pank85

Gold fish like to bang sai, best to get one that reach bottom, sinking pump type. Biofilter is the best but if you can custom the top to two layers, I dun see why it will not do the job. Rest is more attention on filter media.

i see some water pump the area where it suck in water is at the bottom instead of the front portion. which is better ?

Pank85

I believe you will be keeping side view ranchu which don't like strong current.
as you will be using small tank, it will be like living in a washing machine if the return flow is very concentrated.

why not use a sponge filter instead?

im using a sponge filter now with tidal 35, water not clear enough so thought of removing sponge and filter change to OHF with 2x2 box.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.